We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jenni.flo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Angkor Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shadow Angkor Residence
Ranked #142 of 490 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jenni.flo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We found the staff of lovely guest house courteous and helpful. . Our room was clean and we had a balcony, computers just outside our room. . The air conditioner was a little archaic as it was on or off, not thermastatically controlled. . There were tuk tuks available (at a cost) to ferry us where we wanted to go and the driver was very helpful when we asked to visit Angkor Wat. He took us straight to buy a ticket (they only accept cash at the ticket box by the way) and told us the best Wat's etc to view. He knew the bargain 'eateries' and etc. . . The restaurant attached to the guest house was good too. . I have had much better meals elsewhere, but the meals were tasty and quite adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni195888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    55
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
10
61
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We booked the guesthouse online, they replied quickly and kindly answered all of my questions, We didn't need to pay the reservation quarantee, though I'm a little worried about it, but it proved that they run the business based on trust.
We stayed in the triple room with a balcony, the living room on the 2nd floor is nice, I enjoyed sitting at the table on the balcony. The whole guesthouse is clean, the room's small but tidy. and the location is great.
Regarding the money we paid for it, I think it's worthwhile.
The staff's always smiling and very, very helpful.
This is the guesthouse I will go staying if I shall go to Siem Reap again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

So many reviews here were positive that we gave Shadow of Angkor a chance. It is our second night here and I'm sorry to say it hasn't lived up to tripadvisor's compliments. The room is a decent size and fairly clean, but the shower is absolutely terrible. I think I came out of there dirtier than when I went in. Also, the staff have been nice enough, but their security is so lax! They can't be bothered to put the keys behind the desk, so anyone can approach the desk and grab any key they wish to any of the rooms. They do offer a "safe" which is just a cabinet also open to the public. They are in a good location if you're looking to party. Overall, I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Titania642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were of good size and the pool was great after a long days sightseeing.

The staff were very friendly and arranged a good driver called Sopall and tour guide called Vann to show us rounds the Temples.

Food was good and all this for $20.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkhamsted, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

A very pleasant guesthouse right in the middle of Siem Reap. The staff and their tuktuk drivers were very pleasant and helpful and the restaurant is good too, The arrangement to pick me up at the airport went smoothly and they found me a good English-speaking guide.

Room Tip: My back room was quite dark with only a tiny window. It would be worth paying extra for one with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mature-lady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Really enjoyed staying here while in Siem Reap. Very central, right on the river & 1/2 block from Psar Chaa, the Old Market. Rooms were comfortable & aircon worked well, though watch out for mosquitoes as there were numerous opportunities for them to enter. Owners were friendly & helpful. They arranged tuk-tuks (at fair prices) for us whenever we needed to go somewhere. We had several hours to kill between checkout & our flight, so they let us use the pool at their other location (short walk along the river). I'd check rates at that location next time, as it was newer, even more quiet, only slightly less handy, & the pool was great. Only had one breakfast in the restaurant, which was fine - overpriced, as western breakfast always is.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Small pool with half a dozen loungers but good to have somewhere to cool off - we also paid for a balcony which was good.

Helpful staff with good english and tuk tuks.

Breakfast not included but good when paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Neth Socheata Hotel
Neth Socheata Hotel
#77 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shadow Angkor Villa
Shadow Angkor Villa
#110 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Hotel
Shadow Angkor Hotel
#141 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#73 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Angkor Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Angkor Residence

Property: Shadow Angkor Residence
Address: 353 Por Kambau Street | River Side, Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Shadow of Angkor I)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Angkor Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Shadow Angkor Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Of Angkor Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing