We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dodgy managment, quality facilities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Cambo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Cambo Hotel
Ranked #33 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dodgy managment, quality facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had booked different accom. for Siem Reap which fell through when they didn't pick us up from the bus station. Instead a friendly tuktuk driver offered to take us around to hotels for free in the hope of us using his services for the temples. We were driven to four very expensive places, all of which were full. Finally, the driver (Anan) took us to Boutique Cambo Hotel, where it turns out he is the manager. Dodgy, right? None of the staff seemed to have any clue what was happening around them, how to charge people or organise things, they just kept saying, 'Wait for Mr. Anan to arrive.' We were promised a tour of the temples starting at sunrise, but waited downstairs from 5am to 5.30 with no Anan in sight. When we came back down a few hours later Anan was there, apparently very angry and having fired the tuktuk driver (not him anymore?) who never showed. The actual hotel is quite nice, with a/c that stays cold, a decent swimming pool and free (but very basic) brekky. However, the dodgy vibes we got from egotistical Mr Anan has turned us off the place completely; the one person who "knows what they're doing" around Cambo Hotel is a very suss character. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandacat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    131
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
57
151
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are clean, but air con wasn't fantastic (didnt seem to cool the air) and there wasn't always hot water. Team are really helpful and friendly, so had we have reported the air con and water I'm sure they would have tried to sort it for us, but we weren't that bothered as weren't in the room much.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_devon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were met at the airport by Ami, our tuk tuk driver. Our suitcases squeezed in to the tuk tuk and a hair raising journey to the hotel. We were greeted with smiles and very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. We organised trips to the Angkor Temples with the hotel and Ami was our tuk tuk driver for the duration of our stay. We also organised our onward journey with the hotel. No problem was too big to deal with.
The hotel is clean and more than adequate. The swimming pool is very small but ok for paddling in. Breakfast is very basic - you pay for what you get.
Visit the local town for great food and some good shopping. US dollars are the favorable currency. A meal could cost $2-$3. We found some great back street places.

Beware of tourist scams, young girls begging for food whilst carrying babies in their arms. They try to get you in to a shop to buy food then once you've gone they take the food back and pocket the money. The babies look as though they are drugged so they sleep. Just remember - we as tourists cannot help everyone.

I can't thank the staff enough for their helpfulness and friendliness. Making our short stay in Siem Reep an unforgettable one.

I recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked waste land - not a nice sight - keep the curtains closed and you are oblivious t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My family and I was visting Siem Reap Cambodia for a few days and was told about Boutique Cambo Hotel. It wa a last minute telephone booking and they were very accomadating to our needs. While we had a 3 year oldson that traveled with us it is not easy to find family friendly hotels. They picked us up from the hotel and offered ice cold water to my son, wife, and I. They gave us a room with plenty of space and far from all the noise. We enjoyed the pool and breakfast was great. Hotel was close to the city and all the restaurants. They even offered an English speaking tour guide and tuk tuk driver for us to go around the temples. We stayed for only 2 nights and wish we had extra time to stay longer. I want to thank my friend for recommending the hotel to us. This hotel staff went above and beyond to make our family feel welcome and comfortable. We will have to come back to Siem Reap next year and stay at Boutique Cambo....but this time we might even stay a whole week.

Room Tip: ask for the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I and a friend have booked a room with Boutique Cambo Hotel for 1 night and we was so excited since we first got to the airport in Siem Reap. The hotel provide free pick up service from the airport and we were warmly greeting by the driver. We first step into the hotel we are so amazed to see their garden lounge and a very cute swimming pool on the other side. The reception staff are really great to us and very attentive. The free welcome drink and cool towel cooled us down after a long flight. The room was exactly the same of what we have seen on their website, it's really clean, big, comfort and the appliances are beyond of what we pay for. The have arranged us a great tour and cheaper than what we can find in town. The tuk tuk driver was really attentive and understand good English. Breakfast are good and they packed them for us before we left for sunrise at Angkor Wat. Just amazing with a price of $20 a night and we would absolutely stay here once again. Recommend for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_smt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have spent about three nights at the hotel and were very sattisfied. And also surprised in positive. Throught our journey from Thailand and Cambodia it was the best hotel so far we stayed in. The staff was very friendly and keen to help you youth any matter you come up with to them. They offer free tuk tuk service to the centre. Rooms were nice and clean, lot of space, the pool and the hote area was nice. It is just 10 mins walk from the center. On the breakfast you have three options to choose from the menu. Wifi was working good on each floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duso79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vence, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I picked up this hotel after reading reviews on different websites and because they were offering free tuk tuk rides and free airport pick up. The fact that breakfast was including was also a bonus. Unfortunately, the stay in itself didn't really go as planned. On the second day, i asked for my breakfast to be packed as i was leaving at 5 am and they assured me it would be done but unfortunately, it hadn't be done (and we were 3 to have asked) and we ended up having to swallow a cold cup of coffee. Later on, when i get back willing to pay for my tuk tuk, i realized the money i left in my backpack had vanished (all my budget for the last 2 days of my trip). I went to complain to the manager who said they will investigate but nothing happened and all the employees could enjoy their holidays the following day while noone talked to me about that issue anymore (and obviously no commercial gesture like a tuk tuk ride to reach the city and an atm at least). So, here was the end of my stay : me and my 2 dollars stuck in my hotel room. Trying to be positive, i was hoping to use the swimming pool but the water was so manky, i wouldn't have pushed my worst enemy in it. I hope I'm just an isolated case but unfortunately, even with a "friendly" staff, i wouldn't recommend this place at all.. It'll be the worst holiday souvenir of my life.. (spending your holidays in a hotel room cause you're sick is already a pain but because you've been stolen and by the staff, is even worse)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#22 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
9.0 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#6 of 500 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 500 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
#29 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dyna Boutique Hotel
Dyna Boutique Hotel
#45 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Cambo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Cambo Hotel

Property: Boutique Cambo Hotel
Address: Road No.6, Svay Dangkum Com. Central Area, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Cambo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will enjoy with this lovely area a commanding position in the nightlife, shopping, business hub of Siem Reap. The excitement of the city center is only 1.5 Km away , Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions to Lucky mall Super Market and Ly Srey Vina International Hospital. 6Km from Siem Reap Airport & 8km from Angkor Wat complex of UNESCO.Boutique Cambo Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy safety deposit boxes, 24 hr room service, family room, airport transfer, lunch and dinner, Lounge at the pool by day and enjoy traditional Khmer cuisine at the restaurantThe ambiance of Boutique Cambo Hotel is reflected in every guestroom. Hair dryer, satellite/cable TV, desk, non-smoking rooms, in room safe are just some of the facilities at your disposal. The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities, including massage, spa, garden, outdoor pool. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Boutique Cambo Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Cambo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing