We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great European food in the ancient town of Siem Reap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crocodile River Bistro

The Crocodile River Bistro
Ranked #16 of 847 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Asian, Thai, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant is Belgian owned and serves German ,Belgium and Thai food.We are doing BBQ every Sunday afternoon
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great European food in the ancient town of Siem Reap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Haven't had good German/Austrian food since I came back from Europe two years back and this impromptu visit to Schnitzel Wirtin during my trip to Siem Reap in May 2014 just blew me away. Totally didn't expect there to be such authentic Austrian restaurant in Siem Reap serving excellent food at a very reasonable price. My friends and I ordered the Cordon Bleu (which turned out to be my favorite dish for that night), Vienna Schnitzel and Goulash upon recommendation by the owner and they really turned out to be really delicious! The accompanying sides like baked potatoes, spatzle and sauerkraut (I liked this a lot!!) were great complements to the mains. These dishes really brought back many memories from my Europe trip and were definitely a good break from the local food we have been eating for the past 2 weeks. Btw, the servings were really huge so it may be wise to order a few dishes and share.

I would highly recommend you to visit this restaruant if you are in Siem Reap. The food, price and service are good enough reasons for me to return to this restaruant in the future.

One last thing, you may like to note that the address listed at the Tripadvisor App is wrong (not sure if they have updated it already) but the correct place should be near the crocodile farm (after passing by a lake). If you happen to stay at HI Siem Reap Hostel, this restarurant is just a short walk away!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank expertnoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    147
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and massive Austrian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Probably the best restaurant in town. Famous for the oversized Schnitzels and BBQ rips. Nobody leaves hungry.This place is also very popular among the local expat community and a good place to meet some friendly people for a drink after a long and hot day. Do not miss it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bernd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Schnitzel covers the plate, as it should!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On a rainy evening without internet or GPS I was driven by clueless Tuk Tuk drivers around the city, then walked 30 min in the rain and it was worth it.
Welcomed by the owner, Roman, he served fresh draft beer and then the large plate, covered by a giant perfectly panfried Vienna Schnitzel

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Austrian food with high quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

As a Austrian i had to try this restaurant. We tried the wiener schnitzel and the gordon bleu with roasted potatoes and were more then surprised about the homelike taste. The gordon bleu especial i would say would be hard to find like that in my hometown. Very juicy and delicious. A little outside of town and the walk back to the marked is kinda dark so ask for a dukduk if on the scary side ;)
The owner is from vienna and a funny nice guy who gave us some hints for the town. If you like schnitzel or Austrian food (and after 2 weeks of asian food like something different) thats the place to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank s1m0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meat Feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was a little put off by other travellers huge plates of meat, but we gave this a try under pressure from my sons and husband. Absolutely superb quality food - meat the best I have tasted in Cambodia in 2 months - sausages, meatballs, and the schnitzel is just as I remembered tasting in Austria may years ago. Mainly beers to drink although a few token spirits and wines. Very friendly owner and good vibe. A little bit out of the way but worth seeking out. Clean plates all round!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crocodile River Bistro also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Crocodile River Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing