We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing & delightful experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We were collected at the airport by Samlei Hap and a member of her team!

Both very courteous and gracious! Darren & I, love those little touches of being offered a wet towel and drink to freshen up and quench that thirst following a flight!

Upon arrival we were greeted by more wonderful staff and were given a most delicious welcome drink and then told about all the amenities available to us!

We could not believe we were offered free laundry as part of our stay and additionally free mini bar!

Our room was perfect too but the only problem/s was damp on the wall (which we believe will be treated now we've left and the shower, which wet the entire floor) we hope the hotel might consider changing their drainage point in the future! Also the cabinet under the sink is wasted space and could be utilised as shelving for towels and toiletry bags etc

Samlei organised our excursions for us and we were amazed that this was quite cheap considering. It further fitted into exactly how we wanted to spend our time!
We both were amazed by the visits to the temples (out of this world) and to the wonderful and humbling experience of Kulen Mountain! Everything was perfect from a good driver, especially for negotiating the arduous roads leading up to Kulen Mountain and our fabulous guide who was most knowledgable but a pleasant but also witty guide!

Breakfast was good and the staff team were always on hand to assist and meet everyone's needs! Also the team managing the pool where great too! But having said this everyone who worked at this fabulous hotel went far beyond their duties!

The gym was great too and for a small hotel it had all the equipment you required, plus a sauna too!

The recommendation of saying out at The Sugar Palm - another recommendation by Samlei was great and we would both recommend Nest too and they do marvelous cocktails (2for1)

Samlei also took time to explain that she would not be around of our day of departure and thanked of us for staying their and wished us a safe and enjoyable trip!

Although I noted a couple of problems with the hotel, I/we cannot fault this hotel and we want to thank each and all of the staff team for their fantastic hospitality as this truly made our stay memorable!

For those looking for a perfect hotel that can meet the needs of every type of traveller! Please look no further than here, Mémoire d'Angkor Boutique Hotel it has everything to offer!
You will not be disappointed & will come away with happy smiles!

Thank you again Samlei

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nero_1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,380 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

With a very good room rate plus lots of value-added service--free 2-way airport transfer, free laundry, free mini-bar, free buffet breakfast, personalized service from the manager, Phally, and his staff, upgrade to a family suite with 2 bathrooms--this boutique hotel offered very good value.

The family suite we were in was very comfortable with 2 bathrooms, and their buffet breakfast offered a fairly good spread to address guests with Asian or Western taste. We liked the noodle station with DIY toppings, the egg station and the freshly-made pineapple/watermelon shake daily.

Location was very central. The road they were on, Sivatha Road, is a major road and quite long, but they were located in a good section. There's a clean, well-stocked Angkor Market grocery a few doors away--you can find basic OTC meds here and a small deli where you can order deli sandwiches (pastrami, grilled cheese, etc). Pub Street/Old Market can be reached thru a 15-min walk along the same road, but we found tuk-tuks offering us USD1/tuktuk one-way.

We did experience some hiccups and when asked of our feedback, we shared them. Our room had intermittent WIFI connection. We needed to access emails and check on the places we're visiting so it's a bit troublesome to switch to one of the other hotel connections when the connection weakens. Secondly, the thermostat of one of our room's airconditioners was not working properly for the first few nights so engineering had to come to our room a couple of times. This was eventually resolved. On the upside, the hotel was very quick to respond to our concerns and any requests.

There were some other minor things we pointed out that I feel when fixed, would upgrade the hotel's image and impression significantly.. little things such as replacing the missing towel hooks in the bathrooms, doing some repainting touch-ups, repair the curtain rod as the ends were a bit bent so it was hard to pull the curtains, perhaps have a more rigid pre-arrival room check procedure / a more rigid cleaning and maintenance checklist. (It was clean, but could be cleaner in certain areas.) I appreciate that the hotel is trying to improve so I was happy to share what I have observed in other hotels to Phally when I saw he was sincerely interested in our feedback.

All in all, we still had a good stay here and wouldn't mind going back. While it won't compare to a 5-star hotel in whole, its service level and value-added offering make it worthwhile to stay here.

Some tips: (1) There's a lovely wooden screen carving that opens up the bathtub to the room but this screen does not offer much privacy nor does it have any glass to block the aircon draft from going into the bathroom. People sensitive to drafts may want to turn the airconditioner off first. (2) Try the cooking class of their Head Chef, Mr. Lay--I chose his red chicken curry and the flavor was excellent! He'll also bring you to the market and show you around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

One of my best experience in a hotel. The staff is looking for serve you every where and every time you are there. They call your name, they remember what did you have for breakfast last time. If they see, that you are looking for something they don't wait to ask. I really loved the small things they offered during our stay, the cool tower and soft drink during the way from the airport, free minibar, fruit plate, small cakes, water. The breakfast also great, we had live music during the breakfast. Everybody was smiling and I felt like a VIP guest all the time. Even if the rooms are not the best furnished, the bathroom is a bit tiny, internet is a bit slow, I did not care, because the staff was so nice I even forgot about. This place is absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlawnurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hotel,friendly staff and all the facilities you require. In addition, you get a free airport transfer both ways, free minibar and free laundry. The location is excellent and central. Would definitely stay there again

Thank errollsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights here and were blown away by the friendliness and kindness of almost all staff members. They couldn't do enough to help us. They booked tour guides, restaurants, and transfers. They ran my husband to the Mekong Express bus terminal the day after we realised we'd left our camera tripod on the bus (luckily it was still there). They gave us a lift to Pub Street one night. They loaned me a torch for my sunrise Angkor Wat tour (boy did it come in handy for avoiding puddles and setting up my camera/tripod in the dark!). Little details....that mean a lot.
My daughter got sick and they came into their own, offering to get porridge (congee) or rice for her, giving us a mobile phone and offering to look after her so we could complete our temple tour (we declined initially, but later when she was over the worst we went on two tours and left her in her room with the staff offering to keep an eye on her - she's 12). Every time we saw the staff during her two days of being bedridden, each without exception showed concern and asked how she was. We were blown away by how kind they are. You don't find this in large chain hotels in our experience. The manager lent us his mobile phone but then we didn't need it.
What a charming man.
Breakfast is good but not amazing. Nice music from the xylophone player. Excellent coffee. Great waiting staff.
We ate in the lobby cafe one night as our daughter was in bed; the food was ok but nothing special, with a very rare burger for our son (too rare to dare eating once we'd realised).
The pool is lovely and great for refreshing after the temples. The pool bar staff are excellent and brought us cocktails and other drinks.
Just a few very minor points and suggestions for how the hotel could be improved. But don't change the staff as they are marvellous! :
Don't hire bikes from the hotel as the girl at the front desk wasn't much help and despite my insistence that we needed a small bike for my son (9 years old and small for his age) she provided 4 huge, heavy adult bikes so we had to go elsewhere to hire and wasted an hour in the process.
The room, whilst spacious and with extras such as free laundry and 4 free mini bar drinks per day, etc, was dark. Very dark because the hotel insisted on keeping the curtains closed. Why? Because it looked out onto a wall and an alley which was used as a storage area for building materials (baths and other hotel furnishings were sitting there). Extremely unappealing so we were forced to have the curtains closed (even when we opened them for some natural light, they were closed by housekeeping). Not sure why the hotel has been built with all rooms facing other buildings rather than the front or rear. This put a dampner on our stay, especially when our daughter was in bed for 2 days in a dark room!
Finally, the wifi......it was so poor we could barely use it. In the room it was non-existent. I know this is a first world problem, but if wifi is advertised, we hope to be able to use it. Our need was greater than we would have expected, due to being hotel-bound with our daughter. Please try to improve this!
But don't get me wrong. This place is highly recommended for its amazing staff, its wonderful pool, and its good location and keen prices. Thank you to all the staff for your care and attention, especially with regards to my daughter. We would definitely stay again, if we could get a room that didn't face a wall or a building yard....does one exist?

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Coleyach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We had a really pleasant stay at Memoire d'Angkor. People working there always takes care of you. We are used to luxury hotels but we never met a more friendly staff. The location of the hotel is perfect and the tour guide (Mr Nak) found by the hotel was excellent. Minibar, laundry and airport transfert are included: you feel like a VIP!
However, there is also few "can be improved" : The breakfast was not as good as we expected (but bakeries are tasty) and the cleaning of the room is not perfect. The suite's bathroom needs a big update and, last but not least: forget about the view. The hotel configuration imply that only few rooms have a correct view (and we saw 5 of them, and no suite with nice view).
Note: some deluxe room (smaller than suite) have a correct view and an updated bathroom.
Anyway we really enjoyed our stay, thanks to the entire staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ben8-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location, friendly staff, complementary everything, great breakfasts (inc Xylophone player), very clean, an efficient laundry service, cold AC, comfy bed - that's just for starters. Like me, what you really want to know is 'should I pick here?'
It was booked for us by our tour agent 'Selective Asia' and so it has proved. Far higher standard than other Asian hotels we have stayed in across India, Thailand, Malaysia - this came as a pleasant surprise. 4 nights here to do the temples and floating villages - a welcome sanctuary to return to and cool down after hot sticky days sightseeing.
I would certainly recommend it to you!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank R1KCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,356 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 365 in Siem Reap
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#51 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
2.5 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#28 of 365 in Siem Reap
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: City Center, #54 Sivutha Boulevard | In the heart of Siem Reap, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £42 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe in "Happy Living," so we promise to offer you "an everlasting memory through ultimate happy experiences." Memoire d’ Angkor Boutique Hotel is the city's leading exponent luxury hotel combining stunning minimalist designs with state-of the art- service and facilities and located in the one of the Siem Reap’s prime business and tourists’ area with ideal access to the commercial and entertainment hubs in the city center of Siem Reap town. With plenty of services and facilities international buffet breakfast, juice & coffee, complimentary shoe-shine service, welcome fruit basket upon arrival, complimentary wi-fi and all room are decorate with non-smoking room, air-condition, flat screen TV, bathrobe, slipper, well selected bathroom amenities, in room safety box, emergency and evacuation map, writing table, especially, 2 separate bathrooms with sofa bed in family suite room and hammock swing with dining table in Memoire Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing