We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we had stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mulberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #75 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we had stayed in.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Mulberry for four nights. The facilities, room, food (& cocktails), adjacent areas and personel, were beyond excellent. If you walk eastwards half a block, you have two banks (Mekong Bank and Cambodia National Bank) with ATM 24/7 machines . Also, from those ATM's another half block north (towrads Ankor Wat) there is a "U Carepharma," a drugstore (with the typical Cambodian--I guess--green cross--. There they speak pretty good English, and you can find whatever you are looking.
The Hotel is maybe 10-15 minutes walking distance from the Night Market and Pub Street.
Addendum: if you love peanut butter, at this Hotel they offer the best one on the planet!! You have to try it!

Room Tip: We were at the first floor, in front of the pool and we had an extra shower in a interior garden wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    92
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
133
183
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay at Mulberry. Beautiful spacious room with elegant furnishings. Haven with lush garden and refreshing pool but still walking distance to Pub Street or take the free shuttle. Good breakfast. Staff efficient and polite. Asked for a table in our room for a desk and it arrived in 5 minutes. This hotel was a great find if you prefer a some personal boutique hotel. Also book on their site and you will get free airport transfers both ways.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent four nights at Mulberry in a deluxe suite (ground floor suite with walk out to the pool). The location is excellent to the city center. Our room was was comfortable, clean and very spacious. However, there were quite a few lights burned out and a few other minor touches (dingy couch cushions, lack of chair cushion on the deck chair outside our room facing the pool, TV is not watchable from anywhere really comfortable in room) that could've used a bit of TLC. The major issue with the room was the shower-- it went from scalding hot to cold in a matter of seconds and you could really get hurt with the hot water. We mentioned this to the front desk and it seemed fixed for a day, but went right back to this problem the following day. The other issue with the room is that the neighbors next door have a pack of dogs that bark quite a bit during the night. We know that there is little that the hotel can do to control this, but we feel that people should be aware that it is a nuisance that can affect sleep.We ate lunch in the restaurant and the food was not great. The drinks were exorbitantly priced in the bar and in the mini fridge. A Coke was $2.50. We understand there's a markup on convenience,but to charge 5 times more than the mini mart .50 seems a bit too much. Also, a fresh coconut is $3-- you'd hope it's cold since when you buy one off the street, it's a $1-- so you're paying to cool it. Nope. Also, for breakfast there were some oddities. We had a box breakfast for our Angkor Wat morning, which was good. But, the other breakfasts we had were inconsistent. The first breakfast, we were sat and offered both a continental plate (pastries and fruit) and a menu to choose a hot plate (eggs, bacon, ham, noodles, etc.) The next morning, as there were quite a few people to check in the previous night, we were not offered hot breakfast until we asked. We only wanted bacon and we were told 10 minutes later that they were out. This seemed a bit funny to us as the hotel is so small and we'd had it the previous morning. Our initial thought was they didn't want to be bothered and were busy putting out buffet as they were late doing so. They were also cutting croissants into 1/4s and 1/2s which seemed so odd to us on a buffet-- and it made it seem if they weren't expecting the amount of guests in the hotel? The pool was great-- well maintained and very clean. But, if there are more than a few people, there is nowhere to sit (4 loungers). Lastly, we had a few other minor problems with a tour that was booked through the hotel, but in speaking with management, they did their best to try to rectify them. Staff were friendly and pleasant...but the amount of minor annoyances added up over a very short stay. All in all, the hotel is still a nice place, but with definite room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry H, Manager at Mulberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

It is very rare that we write a review respond to our guest review because we always keep the guest comment very impotent to improve our service.

We appreciated some part of these comment we will check again on issue part like hot water / correct the direction of the TV / cushion for chair outside this room we actually had it but we can't set up due to the raining season.

But unfortunately some of these review can’t be use to constructively the improvement.

Firstly , this guest stay with us for 3 nights and not four nights like what he wrong,

Secondly : Drinks and Meal price.

The price of drinks or meal in hotel you need to understand that
you can alway find this thing are cheaper or higher depend on where you go.
Like in mulberry we sell our coconut for $3 or coke for $2 but you can sit down by the nice pool / nice lounge with nice music and fresh air to drink your drink or if you go to 5 stars hotel they even sell one coconuts for $4-$5 so you see the different.
On Another hand hotel business we use people for the service, we have the qualities of the product, we pay tax for our business to the country so that why the price need to be added more or less depend on how big or small the business is, it's normal for business anywhere in the world.


Thirdly : Breakfast

We have our policy to set as set menu or buffet depend on our occupancy but the qualities are the same there is nothing wrong with that , menu offer continental , American , hot dish Asian "noodle soup, fried rice , fried noodle , steam rice with pork..ect " all you order no limit.
our staff have informed the guest on first day so that's why they don't need to explain again on the last day because it could be annoyance.
They were saying that the breakfast two days was good except the last day of their stay because there is no bacon we were apologies for that since the bacon out of the stock from where we order it from so the company promised to deliveries it to us early in that day by 8am but since he's the only one who need to check out early and there is no bacon come on time so we took out $22 from his restaurant bill to compensate it.


Fourth: Tour
Actually this guest only booked a day tour with us on the first day and he have give a very positive feedback about our tour and have wrote a 5 stars review for our tour guide Tripadvisor page but second day he only book a Tuk Tuk and a driver through hotel and he bought outside tour to visit Tonle Sap river where they provide tour on the boat and guide included ..unfortunately this guest has been cheat by this boat company where they brought him to visit orphanage and they purpose him to buy rice to support the center / He told us that he was very happy to buy rice because he and his wife are a nice people and wanted to help to the people but he found out the day after that it is a scams because he read the online review from another traveler that the rice will sell back into the market, it what he said.

He's very upset and complain to our driver that it is our driver fault, the driver should have know about this and inform to him. It is pretty not fair to us, even though the driver probably know or he really doesn't know about it..because many of our guest went to this beautiful place and no one ever had such a bad experience like him.
it is something out off our control but traveler can help yourself in real situation the traveler can handle it on your own, you want to support or you doesn't want..there is no one force another to buy the rice.

We would like to tell you that This kind of business/scams are not our responsibilities and it doesn't involve anything to mulberry.
But we will keep it as our experience and we will keep in mind to tell
The story to the next guest.

Fifth : Loungers,

We have 6 loungers and two big beds around the pool and another 3 loungers in the private terrace of the three ground floor room obviously we never had any problem of lack of laughter since the opening of the hotel one and half year even we have fully occupancy 13 rooms.

For the dog barking, we really can't control our neighborhood but We encourage our guest to report us immediately if they have this kind of issue so we can take immediate action. In that case if we knew you could not sleep well we would have provided you the other room to avoid the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Mulberry for three nights. The service was OUTSTANDING. The staff were very accomodating and upon checking-in, they informed us that we were upgraded to a Family Suite (from a Balcony Suite) for the first 2 nights and will be trasferred to a higher grade room again on our last. However, we didn't opt for the room on our last day as we were very happy staying in infront of the pool :)

The hotel grounds were very clean and the staff are very friendly. They really look after their guests well and always ask how our day went upon seeing us enter the hotel premises. One staff even handed me a mosquito repellent while lounging at the pool! That's how mindful they are with their guests.

We paid more than what our friends did in another hotel but we didn't mind as Mulberry's service is more professional and exceptional than theirs. The rooms were clean and nice, too :) It was really nice "coming home" to a nice, quiet and quaint hotel after walking around Angkor Wat. The pool was too inviting and we would always take a dip right after all the walking and basking in the sun during the temple tours.

The proximity of the hotel to Pub Street is super near. Around 3 minutes by Tuktuk and 7 to 10 minute walk (depends how fast or slow you are!)

I already recommended the Mulberry to my friends and I can't wait to go back! :) We will definitely stay here again!

Thank you to Vanya and the rest of the staff for patiently answering my queries prior to arriving in Siem Reap :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zohreh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Being in this lovely hotel for the second time was as good as the first time. It is a small luxury hotel close to the city centre, 10 minutes on foot. The room we originally booked had a little problem, so we were given a huge family room for the first night and then again as last year the lovely Garden Suite (V6) with the outdoor shower, which we used several times after a hot day in Siem Reap. All the staff is very friendly and helpful, special thanks to Vanya who changed our booking because of some flight changes without any problem. Nice to meet you on the last evening, hope you enjoyed the staff party ;-)). The hotel also offers Tuk-Tuk's which you can rent for the whole day, we had again our funny driver with the " Ferrari Tuk-Tuk ", he is very reliable, a safe driver taking you around the temple area and to other places more far away. We highly recommend this place to others and hope we can go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltttw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was perfect for our family holiday. The double storied villa has enough space to fit 5 people and is spacious, modern and very comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and talkative.

The hotel itself is located just outside the centre of Siem Reap and takes about 5 mins by tuk tuk to pub street for 1USD.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiwern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a beautiful boutique hotel. Small, personal and outstanding service. We had the garden suite with an outdoor shower which was beautiful. The pool is fantastic and sometimes we were the only ones in there. The food and drink prices are cheap, and the food is amazing, we had dinner one night here after a long day of touring. Location is great, not far from Pub street, but far enough away to feel you're in an oasis. They organised all our tours as well, and they were great, just a tip do sunrise and sunset at Angkor Wat, both are very different but both spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#85 of 353 in Siem Reap
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#84 of 353 in Siem Reap
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.3 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#106 of 353 in Siem Reap
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#11 of 353 in Siem Reap
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Boutique Hotel

Property: Mulberry Boutique Hotel
Address: City Center Area, Phum Steng Tmey, Song Kat Svay Dong Kum | Near Central Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mulberry Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Siem Reap yet perfectly placed, The Mulberry Boutique Hotel is a quiet oasis. We aim to make you feel as relaxed and at home as possible in our spacious and modern hotel that stays true to it’s Cambodian setting. The Mulberry is situated about 7 km from Siem Reap International Airport and a 15-minute drive from Angkor Wat Temple. It’s also located 3 minutes away from the Pub Street. Hotel Mulberry Boutique offers various accommodation types. They are fully air conditioned and fitted with fine beddings and furnishings. They have flat-screen cable TVs, laptop safes and comfortable seating areas. Some rooms have private balconies, spa baths and private gardens. All the suites are personalized in order to satisfy what you are in need for ; big spqce family suites, romantic couple suites, specific khmer charms, …. All of them uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mulberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing