We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay during our hole trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #6 of 521 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was definitely best accommodation during our tree week trip in Cambodia and Thailand. Great prices, great rooms with air-condition and fan, extra polite stuff, free coffee and tea and good food. I would like to thank everybody that was making our stay really nice and memorable. We got complementary drink when we arrived and 30 minutes massage. We were enjoining so much that we stayed one day longer.

Sandra

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milksnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

I've been traveling for several months now in SE Asia and this was one (if not THE) best stay yet. Pros: Location was great, staff was very friendly, rooms were spacious and air con was a plus
Cons: Right now there's construction next door - but only during business hours.

Room Tip: Top floor room is much bigger....though there all those stairs to conquer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMC4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our stay there was really fantastic , the staff was friendly and very accommodating .they offered us a free Tuk Tuk from bus station or airport. We were greeted with a nice cold lime drink and banana and dessert . The rooms were air conditioned and free wifi was a plus, we were also offered a free 30 min massage.which was fantastic after the Angkor visit. Food in the restaurant is resonable from 1-4 USD . Full body massage for 3 USD for 1 hour. The hotel also offer tours 11 - 14 dollars USD for a whole day for one Tuk Tuk . We had 4 person and they charged us an extra dollar. The hotel is walking distance from the night market and pub street , and old market. Book them on their website, they will confirm you . You only play after your stay. the room cost us 15 USD a day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I booked the Golden Butterfly through their website and received an email the following day for confirmation.

They arranged a free airport transfer using a local Tuk tuk which was a great way to enjoy the 20 ride to the villa at 9pm.

Night staff greeted me with a warm welcome, free drink, peanuts, and a dessert which was delicious.

Check-in was simple and the night concierge took my bags to my 2nd floor room. He had turned on the air conditioner so that when I made it up to my room it was nice and cool.

The room was clean, spacious, and down right comfy. Air-condition, fridge, TV, Wifi, Hot and cold shower, and even a little balcony.

The staff here is very friendly and they speak good English which is very important as sometimes trying to communicate in Cambodia using English can be a challenge if you don't speak the local language.

Every time you arrive back from a hot adventure they offer you a cold towel, cold tea, and a piece of chilled fruit. Perfect welcome home I must say because Siem Reap is incredibly hot.

The staff is attentive but not intrusive. They are able to help you with questions and suggestions about where to visit and what to expect locally.

Other than the staff I have to say that the first reason I chose Golden Butterfly was their rank on TA, but what sealed the deal was their location. They are located just 500 meters from Pub Street which is where most of the action in this little town happens. The distance is just close enough that you can walk there and at the same time you can enjoy the peace and quiet that Siem Reap has to offer.

On my last day I was supposed to check out at noon which was going to be troublesome for me because I flight out wasn't until 1030pm that night. Luckily the front office staff Mr. Tekea was able to accommodate me for a late check out at 8pm! Thank you so much!

It's these little things that make the Golden Butterfly an excellent choice for your future stay. I have 6 friends traveling to Siem Reap in September 2013 and I insisted that should stay here.

Hope this was helpful to you and enjoy your Siem Reap Adventure. I know I did.

-Dennis

Room Tip: Ask for a roon at the 2nd floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreaseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My brother and I lodged there for two nights in April 2013. Drawn in by the pictures online that showed artistic and tasteful decor, I chose this hotel among others. We were more than pleasantly surprised upon our arrival - we were given complimentary welcoming snacks and also complimentary Cambodian massage coupons (2 for a double room). The place was clean, just as lovely - if not more so - than the pictures online, and our double room was provided with a very clean private bathroom, refrigerator, hair dryer, television, AC, and fan. They also have a nice restaurant with great food, not overpriced. The lobby has internet, and the staff can help you find a nice tuk tuk driver for a good price to take you around for various tours of Siem Reap (recommend to ask them to help you book for the tours, as their tuk tuk drivers are kind and not a rip-off like some others you may encounter if this is your first stay in Siem Reap). By far the best part of our stay was the kind and supportive staff who were our friends by the end of our stay. Hotel is also just across the street from Artisans d'Angkor and a five minute walk from the Old Market, Night Market and Pub Street (but it is far enough removed that the place is not noisy at night). This hotel is the cleanest, most artistic and friendly place around. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annecdotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

we, 2 couples in our 60ies landed in seam reap from bangkok to visit csmbodia tamples, and we picked this hotel based on trip advisor recommendstions. It turned out that in addition to all routine hotel merits, location, pleasant etc we were welcome with a big smile, and with genuin effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible
and the service was the best one can get with every respect one can think of! Breakfast was simple and tasty, and dinner was perfect. The sheff there is one of its kind. We wish that we could have stay much longer .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eytanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean and the entire staff is very friendly and helpful! We had a room on the 4th floor with great views of the city. They greet you at the lobby with an ice cold, minty towel and a cup of cold jasmine tea upon returning after a hot day of viewing the temples and it is heavenly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyxer808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#27 of 378 in Siem Reap
3,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#4 of 521 in Siem Reap
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#5 of 521 in Siem Reap
712 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Mango Inn
Golden Mango Inn
#8 of 521 in Siem Reap
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing