We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and effort in spite of a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #7 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great location and rooms, impeccable cleanliness and a genuine desire to satisfy customers. In addition the massage given at the hotels are some of the best massages i have ever received and are incredibly cheap (and a welcome relaxation after touring the temples all day in the heat)

I stayed there for 4 days and there were a few glitches... Wake-up call not given, requested guide for tour left with other guests, a khmer breakfast was insipid and consisted of chicken and rice warmed up in a microwave. In addition the assigned tuk-tuk driver (with limited english) offered to change the second day tour itinerary in the middle of the second day without warning me of additional charges...

To be fair, the hotel manager and staff went through great length to atone for these hiccups and refunded me the price of one night...

So i look forward to returning to the villa on my next visit to Siem Reap and give it the Excellent rating it would deserve if there had been no or fewer glitches.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The staff were wonderful. The location was great, as it was an easy walk to Pub Street and surrounds as well as the markets. The hotel organised our ankhor trips and it was all very easy. If we ever return to Siem Reap we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

5 of us friends were on a budget trip and found this amazing hotel after a 'recce' of 5 hotels. It is a tidy place and the staff were genuinely very warm and quite conversant in English which is a real boon in a country where English is not widely spoken. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfy. Breakfast was complimentary and quite sumptuous. The staff arranged Tuk-tuks and taxis at competitive prices so we dint feel ripped off. The menu is limited but the food was very good and was presented just like the pictures on the menu card. The only downside being the wait time for the food was about 25-30 minutes as they apparently have only 1 cook (maybe due to non-peak season). They even threw in a 30 minute complimentary massage for all of us. At 18$ a day this is definitely a steal. I would highly recommend Golden Butterfly to everyone and not just to the budget conscious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ujwal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We loved this hotel, the staff were all amazing, really friendly and incredibly helpful. The hotel itself was very pretty, and in a good location (close enough to walk to restaurants and pubs, but not so close that it was really loud).

After a long journey from Kampot we were pretty exhausted when we turned up, the hotel picked us up from the bus station and when we arrived we got a lovely cold drink and some snacks. Staff helped us book tours to see the temples and even let us keep our luggage in a spare room on our last day as we were leaving so late.

My boyfriend wants me to add that the massages were amazing too!!

These were our last few nights in Cambodia (after over two weeks of travelling), and it was a great place to finish.

Jen

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Back from Cambodia 10 days now, and God how I miss the lovely country with the world's nicest people. The Golden Butterfly cost us about $17 US a night. For that, we got a spacious modern and comfortable room. The restaurant (breakfast not included) had excellent food at great prices. Only advice is to request a lower-floor room if a four-flight climb is not your thing. Also, try to get a room facing away from the mosque, since the calls to prayer are quite soon after dawn. (Also some construction going on that side of the town which, as everywhere I've been in Asia, starts at daybreak, seven days a week.) Staff, like everywhere I've been in Cambodia, are unfailingly helpful, polite and funny. Now, if I could just shake the blues about being back home...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAsnieres_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Comfortable, clean, cozy, and homey...everything I need when I'm in a strange place. The friendly staff are genuinely glad to welcome and serve guests, the double room we had is more than enough for a family of four, and the food beats other restos in the Pub Street area, both in taste and price. The manager, Mr. Tekeu, was attentive, articulate and seemed to know his job very well. He asked me to give an honest review of his hotel. But I would have written this even without him asking. My family absolutely enjoyed our stay. When we come back to Cambodia, we'll surely find our way back home to Golden Butterfly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hi,

This hotel is one the best I have ever seen. Room are very well arranged with a nice and warm design. The staff is really attentive. The room is upper clean. The whole for only 16$. And there are also many little extra (free pick up service at your arrival, 1picnic for your first day trip in Angkor,one free massage 30min, one snack "tea-fruit" to welcome you). They also offer tuk tuk service from 11 to 17$ a day (depends on small or long tour), which is a good price,in my opinion.
I live in Viêtnam and I have never seen a such hotel for a such price. I would just reproch the restaurant service is a little bit long (20-25min). Just be aware of this and order it when you wake up if you want to leave the hotel soon dor visitig Angkor. But definitely, if I come back to Siem Reap, I will come back to Butterfly.
Julien

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 361 in Siem Reap
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing