We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #7 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great rooms, super low prices and exceptional service. The staff are amazing, the sweetest people ever and the rooms are great! Would 100% stay here again! Also the 3 USD massages are great! You can also access the sister hotel's pool is they are not too busy which is great and at no extra price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Firstly, I am sorry that this review is so late.
After a very long and extremely hot train and bus trip from Bangkok to Siem Reap, it was such a pleasure to arrive at such a beautiful and accommodating hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with freezing cold towels and an iced tea (which after the heat and travelling was like heaven on earth!)
We were shown to our room on the 4th floor with a balcony and we absolutely loved it! The bathroom was excellent and very clean, as was the rest of the room :)
The first night we went to the restaurant down stairs to try our first hit of Khmer food and we were not at all disappointed! It was so good! We ended up having dinner there every night :) And I would like to say a big thank you to the kitchen and wait staff who all work so hard and still take time to make sure everything is ok (and they put up with our attempts of speaking to them in Khmer)
I think this hotels best quality is the staff! Everyone we met was so incredibly nice and extremely helpful! Takea is such a cool guy! He asked us teach him some Aussie ways to say hello... Remember... "Sup brah" and "howz it goin" :)
Our Tuk Tuk driver was amazing as well although I can't remember his name. I think it was San..? He's a young guy in his early 20's and wants to go to uni.. Anyway, if you can get him for the day I highly recommend you do! He will take you to heaps of awesome places and is just good company, and you'll be helping him get to uni :)
Ms Chantou was wonderful! She helped us arrange our stay in Siem Reap as well as our trip to Phnom Penh. She also (very patiently) taught us to say a bunch of phrases in Khmer :) Ms Chantou if you're reading this, we've been practicing with the girls from a bakery near our home which is run by Cambodians :)
All the other staff at Golden Butterfly are absolutely fantastic as well!! You will not be disappointed! And for $18 per night, you get 10 times better service than something that costs hundreds of dollars per night!!! So enjoy, we definitely did!!

Sarah (Apsara) and James
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: The stairs up to the 4th floor aren't as bad as people make them out to be! It's 4 floors, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner couple of days ago for three nights. No doubt, it's a very good hotel and yes they have to be good as there are so many hotels mushrooming in Siem Reap. Cut throat competition among hoteliers providing excellent service to the customers compare to other touristic places in Cambodia. Even we could see there is another hotel under construction bang opposite to Golden Butterfly Villa and its very obvious that this property looks better. What I'm trying to say is if don't serve well to customer you will lose your business as there hundreds of choices for the travellers in Siem Reap.
Well! Our stay in this hotel for three nights was really good. Our next destination was Bangkok and we're working for the ticket to book. As we're staying in a good hotel we booked the ticket from them only and front desk guaranteed that its a big air-con bus and a very good service. We're getting picked up at 7 am and bus was leaving at 8 am from somewhere. We're ready at 7 am and waited in the reception. After waiting for 45 min mini van arrived and we got picked up. We're taken to some were in the town and driver got out without saying anything. He disappeared for 20 min and we had no idea what was going on whether to get out or stay in van as air-condition was not working and it was very hot and humid day. Finally another random man comes and stared driving the van. He drives back and forth to same area and picking up more people. In the end there were 12 people cramped in the van with all luggages hardly any room to move around. Finally we left around 9 am from Siem Reap without knowing what's going on. Everyone thought its a short ride to the bus station so it's going to be fine. But after passing 1 hour in the cramped mini van we ourselves realised that this van is taking us to the border not to the bus station. We tried communicate to driver for air-con and we wanted to known what's going on but all in vain as he said no english. Now the trouble begins, the driver was not driving, he was flying. He was driving ridiculously fast and he almost hit one cyclist and a truck. It was life threatening, everyone thought that we all going to die on this road. Now he stops in the middle of nowhere in a small cold drinks and souvenir shop. As soon as we got out of the van the lady in the shop pointed us the toilet and commands us "buy something then only toilet". "No buying, no toilets" this is how we are treated in this country. They think we are just here to spend money.... Even we didn't get the bigger bus after the border. Again we're cramped in a small van and reached Bangkok at 730 pm. The question was why the hotel people promised for a better bus with air-con? They can't say that bus service is beyond their control as they are selling the bus tickets. After having good stay for 3 nights, this hassle for getting to Bangkok ruined everything. The worst ever experience of my traveling. You guys must be thinking that where the hell I'm getting time to write this long reviews. But trust me this is the pain we went through. In my point of view, it's not only about taking care of guest while staying in the hotel... But overall service has to be good then only you will do sustainable business in this huge COMPETITIVE market.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank intoTHEwildINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel has the most kind and friendly staff who treat you like family. They will always offer you a cold towel when you return from exploring and you are always greeted with a smile. The rooms are clean and modern. I would definitely stay here again if/when I return to this beautiful place. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Ended up staying here for six nights! Rooms were bright, airy, clean and very modern. We had a spacious corner room on the third floor with a great view. Especially of the lightning in the distance at night! Street noise wasn't an issue.

Bathroom was very clean and modern with a curtain between the shower and the toilet!

Best thing about this place is the staff & service however. They were very accommodating and friendly right from the get go. We were served a delicious iced tea, sticky rice, nuts and watermelon when we checked in. A cold towel was also provided when we came back from Angkor Wat. They arranged our tuk tuk, explained everything clearly and never pressured us into a tour. They were also very fun, and always made sure we were comfortable.

Thank you for such a lovely stay Panha, Chanthou & Samda. We will definitely be back!

Emma & Lionel (My country, your beer!)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma_3oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

OVERVIEW: All the reviews of Golden Butterfly Villa are true and then some. This is a fantastic stay at an amazing, incredible price. Though I typically have a lot to write in each category - everything here was off the charts great in every aspect so this will be a shorter review. I will most definitely stay here again.

LOCATION: GBV has a great location in the heart of Siem Reap. It is close enough to Pub Street to walk off your drinks or dinner. It is tucked away from the main road so you don't suffer from street traffic noise. Perfect.

SERVICE: WOW! As soon as you walk in, you get frozen towels and a drink and snack. The staff goes out of their way to learn your name and ask you about your day's adventures. If you like, they will set up excursions for your as soon as you arrive. Takea is very friendly and will get you dialed in for any tour or activity you desire. Everyone is so gracious - from the restaurant servers to the bell boys, you feel at home and taken care of. Incredibly, you get a free welcome massage which is fantastic! If you arrive later in the day, the staff will be anxious to get your tour for the next day booked. We were hot, tired and a little overwhelmed with having to make decisions about our Angkor Wat tour as soon as we walked in the door. We later learned that the guides book up quickly - and the hotel will provide a picnic snack for your day which has to be ordered by 6PM. If they are rushing you to make a decision about your next-day's tours - it's for a reason!

ROOMS: Our room was cozy and beautifully decorated. Comfy beds, beautiful linens, TV, mini-bar, refrigerator, everything we needed. Bathroom was petite but the shower was large and water pressure was fantastic. Complimentary waters every day. Beautiful windows and a cute balcony. We loved our little room.

RESTAURANT: Food and service was top-notch. The breakfast portions were huge so consider sharing if you are light eaters. Coffee, tea, water are complimentary and available 24/7. Bar was fine.

As for the rest, everything was FANTASTIC! We absolutely adored our stay with Takea and staff. The hotel is beautiful and the people are amazing. Have a wonderful stay at GBV. We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There isn't much more to say about this guesthouse other than it is the best I have ever encountered in the Far East. I have stayed at the biggies including Mandarin, Shangri La, and Peninsula- This little guesthouse can teach them all about service, cleanliness, and making their customers feel at home. For example it took all of 1 day for the staff to learn my name, the stuff I liked (like riding bicycles) and they responded. Bikes are free and it's easy to learn your way and get around. The rooms are big, have modern bathrooms, plenty of hot water, big, opening french-style windows and the location is perfect. About 5 blocks from the center of town, in a quiet but well lit lane with 24 hour security. You will need to book early as it's fairly small and very popular. Read the trip-advisor comments for yourself.

Also I travel world wide and use driver/guides extensively. The Golden Butterfly uses Orm Saven in Siem Reap as one of its driver/tourguides. Saven speaks excellent English. He will drive you by tuk tuk or air conditioned car (unless you are a big group, tuk tuks are the best way to go.) We even spent a morning bike riding together in Siem Reap. What you need in a good guide is reliability, deep knowledge (not just from books-Saven knows the oral history), patience and good listening skills. Saven has all of these and his prices are very good. He will meet you at the airport/ bus station price included. Saven's website is http://angkorwat-tours.info/ His e-mail is ormsaven@yahoo.com

This is an entirely independent review. I have no connection whatsoever with the guesthouse or the guide.

Room Tip: No elevator but the design of the place is so good that it's actually a pleasure using the broad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greengab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 361 in Siem Reap
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing