We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #6 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This place is amazing!!!! Since the minute you get there you have a great experience. They welcome you with a nice drink and snacks while they explain everything about your stay. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is great! They are all really kind and helpful, there was not a single time they didn't greet us with a smile. The location is great too... Very near the Old and Night Markets and the Pub Street. Our room included breakfast and a complementary 1 hour massage which was really nice! We had a great stay there! If we had to complain about something would be the restaurant. The staff there are great but they tend to take a while to serve your order, not a big deal just keep it in mind if you have a tight schedule. Anyway, this is a great place to stay!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrisxsxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Wow what a welcome we got when we arrived.... Loads of information (maybe a little too much after a long car journey) but all can be forgiven because the staff here are just so friendly... I wanted to take them all home, they are so sweet and work really well together as a team! We also got a welcome drink and snack which was very tasty.

The rooms were large and comfortable however I wasn't too keen on the 'towel' style bed sheet but it wouldn't put me off recommending this place. The other downside to this hotel is that it is right by a school so quite noisy but helps you get up for your day of sight seeing. I also feel the price could include breakfast in line with most of the other hotels we stayed in, however the price does include a 1 hour massage which was a nice treat after a day at the temples.

Overall I would stay here again for the service alone!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the right side, away from the school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popey42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Its the most amazing experience I ever had in a Hotel. This place has a 5+ star service , the staff are exeptional effecient and friendly, I cannot recommend this place highly enough in my own words.Location was also perfect and very convienent, rooms with nice furniture and comfortable beds, we were also offered a free massage which was absolutley amazing , I would recommend this place to anyone as they will have a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 937Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Golden Butterfly Villa in is an excellent choice for visiting Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor Wat. The Guest House is located very close (5 minutes walking distance) from the restaurants and bars on Pub Street yet it is on a quiet cul-de-sac. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They can arrange for inexpensive tuk-tuks (or cars) to visit the temples and also provide free bicycles for guests
Plus Points:
Air Conditioning
Very Clean
Good Beds
Hot Showers
Save Deposit Box in Room
Free Bicycles
One free massage per stay!
Friendly Service
Good (and inexpensive) Breakfast
Free Coffee, Tea and Bananas anytime

Minus Points: None!

Room Tip: We liked our front-facing room (East, sunrise!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w7fisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is a complete surprise, the most gorgeous looking building and the staff are exceptionally helpful and charming. We had a lovely stay here, with everything arranged for us by the hotel staff. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. We travelled with our two children and we had separate rooms - perfect.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which was great, the kids had a regular room without a balcony which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loved our stay at the Golden Butterfly Villa! You've read the reviews, this place is great, so I will cut straight to the chase...

1)Service, service service. The staff is amazing. They learn your names, they ride with you to the airport when you had to go pick up lost luggage, and they ship you items when you leave them in the safe. 5 star service! oh, and complimentary 1 hr massage :-)

2) Location is awesome- literally 2 mins from main road where everything is happening. Close to all restaurants and pub street. Laundry service right on the corner $1 for 1kg of clothes-- done the next day.

3) Rooms are the perfect size. Includes safe, air con, tv. The ONLY negative I have about this place is there was no hot water when we took showers. I haven't read many people mention this, but it did kinda suck. Maybe all hotels in the area have this issue and it is a given....?

4) Food is good and convenient. Always get the local breakfast vs western-so good. Khmer curry was delish too. They give you a free picnic lunch (pastries) for you to take to the temples which is very nice.

There is a school next door and the kids just sing and sing and sing all day (learning???) Not a problem if you are out and about during the day like us.

This place rocks-book now :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NextVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you are lucky enough to get a room at Golden Butterfly when you need it, look no further. You will not find a better location or place to stay than this marvelous hotel. What a wonderful group of warm and friendly people, who do every thing to make you welcome and comfortable. Nothing is too much for them. On arrival you are greeted with a refreshing lemon drink, nuts and cold towel while they take your bags to your room. I was treated like royalty and we laughed and joked in the one week in January that I spent at this fabulous hotel. I have never been looked after so well and they give 5 star service without question. My room had a comfortable bed, fridge with water, free internet and many TV stations. The restaurant has the most delicious food that I had anywhere and it is very reasonably priced. They are always bringing you free cold tea. Panha was friendly and helpful and Chanthou was always greeting me with her lovely smile, great conversation and good sense of humour as we joked. Ratana was exceptional and always friendly with his professional manner, running the reception so efficiently. He was also kind enough to arrange a Tuk Tuk driver to take me to the temples of Angkor Wat as I have mobility problems. What a great driver he found for me who could speak good English and drove very safely. Mr Sokkun went over and beyond his normal Tuk Tuk temple journey. He actually took me by foot through the temples and helped me maneuver the many difficult stairs and went up the ones that I could not manage, taking pictures for me. So very considerate of him and I appreciate the kindness offered to me by Sokkun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 976Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing