We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charme at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Ranked #80 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No charme at all”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked the hotel via Indochina Travel service and were very disappointed. The rooms are very big, but have no charme at all, not even pictures on the wall. The concept of the hotel was planed as an apartment house, which explains the kitchen and the washing machine in the rooms. The service is poor as well, the food average. When you expect the Asian Charme, don't stay here, you will be disappointed too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVS1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_KN6060, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share a review on TripAdvisor.com.

We are sincerely apologies to hear you were disappointed while you were at our property. Kindly allow me to say some words, If I've learnt correctly about your issue, you had been expected to stay in one of the top 5-star hotels in Siem Reap, the wooden property, however, there was a confusion with its name. If you compare ours to these top 5-star hotels, we totally agree that we are a bit behind them in term property’s structures and of course the prices. Generally, the property’s concept is different from one hotel to others, and therefore if you expected a concept of one property to be applied at other property, I am afraid you will be disappointed especially when they both have a big gape of price range.

I would recommend our future guests to read carefully about our property’s details or property’s concept that has been described clearly on the website in order to avoid misunderstanding or confusing.

In your case, we couldn't do more things to make your stay more enjoyable. Upon your arrival, you had a last minute request for twin beds, but we do not have any twin beds in the entire property, however, our management decided to upgrade some of your members who requested for a twin beds to a two-bedroom suite without extra cost, that was an exceptional offer to make your stay enjoyable. Also, on your departure day, you requested us for a late check out due to your late flight, we did try our best to manage our room for your late check out even we were very tight in availability on that day.

If you have read our property’s information carefully before confirming the booking, you should have not disappointed with the property’s concept as on hotel website we clearly displayed ‘’ The comfort and privacy of an apartment, the convenience of a hotel.’’ So, there is nothing strange with an additional washing machine or private kitchen.

Very best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    178
    36
    13
    1
See reviews for
201
172
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The rooms are spacious and the design of the hotel is attractive (a bit in the French colonial mode). It was, however, the charming and friendly staff that made my stay at this hotel so enjoyable. There are two ladies who appear to work very long hours at the front desk, but they are quick to learn the names of all the guests and they are always very pleasant. Their names are Thida and Sonchita. Their manager, named San, is also frequently in the lobby and attentive to individual guests in a respectful (but not in any way intrusive) way. I even had cleaning staff engage me in brief and light-hearted banter, likely to practice their English, but with excellent effect anyway.

If in Siem Reap, I would definitely stay at the Chateau dA'Angkor again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoplites480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed as part of a large group for some golf and sightseeing. Contact with the hotel through the booking process was excellent - fast and helpful communication. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, and my thanks go to Mr Vorak and Mr Pisith for their assistance. All of the staff we came in contact with were friendly, always smiling and very helpful.

As others have mentioned, the suites are huge, and if I have a slight criticism, there could be more furniture, or at least more comfortable furniture, in the living room. A TV in the bedroom might be desirable for some, although I found the break from TV to be quite relaxing.

The breakfast provides everything you might need, with eggs and noodle dishes cooked to order. The pool area is very nice, and we never had any trouble getting a bed there. There is no spa, but massages can be arranged in your room, very cheaply. My friend tried it, and said it was great value.

It's a short walk or tuk-tuk to Pub Street, and we had great fun with some of the the tuk-tuk drivers during our stay.

We arranged a trip to the Angkor Wat temples for 10 people, with only about 12 hours notice, and yet we had the bus for the day and an English-speaking guide for just US$65 in total. Incredible.

In summary, a great stay, and I hope to return one day.

A few tips for Pub Street: The in-house band at In-Touch are excellent and well worth a listen; the pizza's at the Red Piano are simply amazing (try a Margherita with added vegetables); The Khmer Family Restaurant - great food at cheap prices.

Someone asked me if Siem Reap was 'run down'. I'd saw it was the opposite, and it's not yet built up. Some of the pavements are unmade, the traffic is just crazy, but everyone drives slowly and accepts that people will just come straight out of side roads. I just hope that in the coming years, the friendliness and innocence, and lack of cynicism which is so apparent does not diminish as more people visit. There are no obvious 'beer bars' with teams of local girls on offer, and you can sit in any bar without being hassled. At worst, you'll run the gauntlet of the tuk-tuk drivers touting for you business, but give them a polite smile, say no, and have a laugh with them.

I love Thailand, but hope Cambodia, and Siem Reap in particular, can avoid going the way of Patong, Chaweng and numerous other Thai tourist hotspots.

For golfers, we played all three local courses, and rated Angkor Golf Resort just ahead of Angkor Lakes, with Phokeethra in third place, but all are good, if fairly expensive, certainly when compared to costs for everything else locally. Golf balls were particularly expensive, and with water on all 18 of the holes, it's easy to run short!

If you're thinking of going to Siem Reap - do it, and stay at Chateau D'Angkor. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Make sure you take US Dollars - everything is priced in dollars. We bought Cambodian currency on arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had high expectations of this hotel which were largely unfulfilled. In fairness it is a very new hotel ( opened in November 2012) and I assume that some of the teething problems will be ironed out.

The location is good and the rooms are enormous but not very welcoming or cozy. The fully equipped kitchen was of no use to us though other guests might find this a bonus. There is no lift and as we were on the 4th floor, this would not have suited older guests.

The breakfasts were no more than average though I must say that all the staff were delightful and helpful.

We enjoyed our 4 days there but would choose another hotel on our next visit to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Huge room. Extra clean. Beautifult pool area. A new property with growing pains. The management tries to do the job but are not quite there. Room decor sterile without much color. Still, not much to complain about except for the mosquitoes at breakfast! Quite convenient to anywhere in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: All good. Pay more, get one on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

. We travelled with friends, hence 2 couples and stayed 4 nights ( in our 50's, 60's). We had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom,2 bathroom, kitchen, laundry apartment, each!! We really didn't need it. It was very nice but the lounge area quite stark, had a tv but 4 wooden chairs to sit on. No comfy couches
Negative was they provide a hair dryer but you can't use it in the bathroom as not compatible with the power point and there are no adapters to suit You can use the hairdryer in the lounge area and bedroom but there are no mirrors near these power points ?? There are no lifts but that didn't bother us. We were on the 2 nd floor over looking the pool area During our stay the whole place was quiet and calm. Staff are very friendly and obliging with minimal English They say the hotel is only 3 months old. We doubted that, I'd say it may have recently been "renovated". Very very clean and maintained. King size beds with very very firm mattresses but surprisingly comfortable. Pillows a bit high and firm. I think they should offer a choice. The hotel is well .located. Buffet breakfast was ok, limited choices.
The bread is awfully sweet, baguettes are a better idea but they are not on the menu or display. You need to ask for them, Happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were happy with the location of rooms 121and 122 on the 2 nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Siem Reap is a charming, dusty small city that immerses you into the ways were in the past on other cities in the world. So, within that mood is this super clean hotel with spacious suites with balconies and living and dining room in it. Besides, a kitchen with washing machine included. Nice atmosphere. It is located within walking distance from were the tourist want to go and hang out. The included breakfast had a variety of Asian foods, pastries, yogurt, tropical fruit and juices which were very enjoyable. Staff is friendly and smooth and manage some basic English to communicate with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.2 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
FCC Angkor
FCC Angkor
#85 of 356 in Siem Reap
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#4 of 356 in Siem Reap
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Property: Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Address: Oum Chhay Street | Mondul II Village, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Siem Reap just behind the Royal Residence, Château d'Angkor La Résidence has been designed and decorated in a blend of Cambodian and French traditional style derived from the French colonial era. Our suites are perfectly designed for couples, groups of friends or family travelers seeking maximum privacy and comfort. With only 12 One-Bedroom Suites and 16 Two-Bedroom Suites, our focus is on providing a high standard of customer service to every guest. All suites are air-conditioned and come with private kitchen and dining facilities, spacious living area with flat-screen cable TV, balcony, fully-stocked mini bar, washing machine, ironing facilities, safety box and en-suite bathroom. Our property also features an outdoor salt-water swimming pool and an in-house restaurant. Located in the Old French Quarter of Siem Reap, Château d'Angkor La Résidence is just two minutes' walk to shopping and visitor attractions such as the lively Pub Street or Old Market and it's only 15 minutes' drive from the World Heritage Angkor Wat site and Siem Reap International Airport. The Kingdom of Cambodia is a place you should never forget. Stay at Château d'Angkor La Résidence for an experience that lasts a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing