We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, poor food”

La Creperie Bretonne
Ranked #84 of 858 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in a quiet alley just off PubSTreet, our restaurant offers a full range of galettes (buckwheat flour) and crepes(pancakes). Besides this, our menu is complemented by traditional Khmer dishes as well as some standard dishes of French cuisine or Belgian including burgers, pasta,french fries, .....Open from 6,30am for breakfast. We offer also a full range of Belgian beers, virgin cocktails,.....
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend eating here, is owned by a lovely French couple and the atmosphere is promising but the place is let down by the food. I ordered the Caesar salad and was thoroughly disappointed at the small portion and the lack of dressing on the salad. Friends of mine ordered spaghetti carbonara and the goats cheese salad which were also not great, particularly the carbonara which was far too salty and creamy. However, one friend did have a savoury crepe which looked much better than any other foods. It is also much more expensive than any other restaurant you can find in the area. Would maybe go back to try a crepe and see if they are better but would not fine here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caitlinhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    69
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Crepes and French food, What else?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

When you feel away from home and you need a bit of home taste, it's the place. I love galettes and crepes but I could also die for there leek and scalop with home made mashed potatoes...
Staff is cool and Philippe and Caroline are a lovely couple.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank habitantdum0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in the middle of Pub Street!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were looking for a quiet place to have some coffee before heading to the Night Market and we found this jewel in one of the side streets along Pub Street. We coupled our coffee with a very simple moist fruit crepe which truly hit the spot! We shared a few laughs with our Cambodian server who was very helpful and spoke English quite well! This is the perfect place to start/end your day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Ate here for dinner randomly after a quick scan of the menu.

Food was great as was the wine (nice that they serve in 20cl option).

Service was fine and would definitely return if in Siem Reap again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wrongly advised about crepe; no apology or refund?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

As vegetarians, we enquired about the ingredients of one of the 'special' crepes, and were told that it contained a particular type of cheese, so we enthusiastically ordered it.
However, it immediately became apparent that the crepe we were given contained sausages, which had not been mentioned as an ingredient in the menu, or the description by the staff.
OK, a mistake or oversight perhaps, if one is being charitable. What was really unforgivable, though, was the completely could't-care-less response of the owner, who offers no apology or replacement, or acknowledgement that the menu was erroneous, and his staff unhelpful.
To add insult to injury, we were still charged in full for this sausage-filled 'cheese' crepe, while the owner hid away in the background.
Absolutely awful service, not so much by the staff, but by the rude owner. He doesn't deserve to stay in business - he would put Basil Fawlty to shame!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Creperie Bretonne also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to La Creperie Bretonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing