We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, lovely vibe”
Review of Sister Srey Cafe

Sister Srey Cafe
Ranked #5 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sister Srey Cafe is a Social Enterprise, in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Run and operated by Sisters Lauren And Cassie. The Girls, opened the business to have "Good Coffee" and also help and support Khmer students and to make a sustainable impact into the community. Our vision at Sister Srey Cafe is to support young Khmer students who struggle to keep a balance between study and supporting their family. Each staff member in trained in hospitality, English language skills, personal development, health and hygiene and banking. We are a stepping stone to a brighter future and a means for them to have skills and knowledge to approach the world empowered and confident. Sister Srey has various incentives and activities in which support the local and rural community. The cafe goes to sustainable measures to help the environment and to be as enviromentally friendly as possible. We are commited to being plastic free, having bio degradable food packaging, organic coffee and miniamising waste. Monthly, our staff participate in our community service program "Helping out a friend" Where each staff member chooses a NGO or project of choice and do something for people less fortunate than themselves. To date we have had, staff building wells and toilets for families, participating in a soup kitchen to feed street children and health workshops. Sister Srey also composts all waste and goes to directly to NGO Green Gecko Farm and has a sustainable recycling program and waste management system. Since opening, the Cafe works along side Hearts to Harmony Foundation. This means 20 percent of profits from the Cafe as well as donations go towards Hearts to Harmony to supports individuals through education, health and hygiene, and supports rural families. Sister Srey is a social enterprise. A cafe with a heart, a cafe with the desire to see change and with the ability to do so.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stopped in for a late breakfast. Just had the museli but it was great with lots of fresh fruit. Coffee was fantastic. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Lovely spot by the river.

1  Thank Penelope J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Srey and love the staff just as much as we do.

Hope to see you sipping on a coffee in the cafe soon!


Best wishes,

The Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,250 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The review title says it all. Simple surrounds but very good food for a reasonable price. And 50 metres from the old market.

1  Thank Mark and Arlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

Our chicken schnitzel roll is a favourite with customers.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Regards,

The Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place was the highlight of my holiday in Cambobia.. Two Australian sisters have really brought their passion to this beautiful city.. Sensational coffee and the best chips ever! Not only that, the girls are working hard for a good cause! Keep it ladies and staff, you are truly perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ParisLaurent90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Wow, Thank you for this fantastic review!

We are so touched we made such an impact to your time in Siem Reap.
Its so nice to hear that you see our passion and our love for Sister Srey and Cambodia.
Hopefully we will see you again here soon!

Best wishes,

The Sister Srey team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, great atmosphere and superb service!

Nice to have a little bit of Melbourne in Cambodia.

Good location on the river and best of all free wifi.

2  Thank Lubcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your time at Sister Srey. We pride ourselves on having fresh, tasty and top quality food in our Cafe.

Hailing from Melbourne, we cant help but add a touch of home to our Cafe, we are glad you liked it.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and hopefully see you back in the cafe soon!

Kind Regards,


The Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Two young women from Melbourne Australia opened this café which is in a great location by the river. Food is great but a bit expensive but the coffee is fabulous .They need to work on the décor as it is rather cold and lacks atmosphere.

2  Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for writing us a review and we are glad you like our Coffee.

We are constantly striving to be better and always progressing with trends in the industry.
We are sorry that you find our food expensive, but that is due to using quality products, both imported and local and also pay our staff fair pay.

We hope to welcome you back into the cafe soon for another coffee :)

Best wishes,


The Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sister Srey Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sister Srey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing