We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Secret Garden Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Angkor Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #54 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Min City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I do not understand the high rating of this place. We stayed here for three nights. The room was not clean, the bed sheets had holes and stains. In addition the tuk tuk driver from the hostel spoke very littly english and didnt know a thing about angkor wat. Furthermore, he kept running late - waiting for him after getting up at 5 in the morning sucked.

The worst thing however was the loundry. They returned our clothes (6kg) with orange colour all over it, which does not seam to go away anymore (See picture). After discussing this issue and demanding a compensation they only offered us a ridiculous discount of 20 dollars and a free ride to the airport. Needless to say that our ruined clothes were worth a lot more. However, this also did not change the owner's mind.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nils1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunS3, Owner at Angkor Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hello Value Guest,

I hereby apologize for the inconvenient that occurred in the service provided and for taking a long time to reply your feedback due to some personal problems.

First of all, thank you for your valuable feedback at Trip Advisor. Your comments serve as a reminder for me to improve in the future. Secondly, I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding between us. Furthermore, I hope that you can understand my inconveniences. I noticed that the 6Kg of your laundry it just only 1 of that T-Shirt with orange colour. Not All. Moreover, since we did not know which one of your cloths is faded color so we also asked about your cloths condition, shall we laundry them together and you said yes. I did pay $20 and free airport and you agree with my offer.

Lastly, thank you for taking my services base on the Trip Advisor. I truthfully apologize to the disappointment that I made on the services too. I hope you will revisit Siem Reap, Cambodia and take my service again in future.

I sincerely apologize on the misunderstanding between us. If you have any further enquiries, please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail or give me a call and I will respond shortly. I wish you all to get everything you desirous in Cambodia and trust my service again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    72
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
103
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Ok so I had to get a Tuk Tuk to pub street but I wasn't so cash strapped that was a problem. It takes about 5 mins to get there but you can walk, If you like a bit of quite then this is a good place to stay found the staff very nice but didn't like the towels. Temples you can book at the hotel it just makes life easier. They lock they gates at night so just ring the bell located at the left hand of gate near the wall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This Hotel was difficult to find and it seems to be common practise for a taxi driver out of town to transfer you to a local tuk tuk driver who is more familiar with the town at the end of your journey. This hotel is an oasis of calm and tranquility from the busy town. The rooms are large, and decorated and maintained to a high standard. I would recommend "eating in" as the food was lovely. The hotel organised a tuk-tuk driver for the day and a guide. I would like to highly recommend our wonderful guide Ratana Bunyou who was just brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff here were the nicest we came across in Southeast Asia - they always greeted us warmly and were willing to help. They'll even get up at 4am to pack a takeaway breakfast for you if you're going to the temples at dawn! The rooms could do with a little TLC - i.e. the bathroom was a bit mouldy, shower got water everywhere, a couple of stains on the bedsheets etc. However, for the price, I can't really complain as it's still a comfortable, spacious room. The free breakfast included is excellent - try the banana pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Picked this hotel out on line about two hours before I was due to drive up to Siem Reap from Kampong Cham so had no real idea what to expect. It was a bit difficult to find and at first I thought I might have been taken to the wrong place as the name was Angkor Secret Garden Inn (not hotel). It was a really lucky find and I would not bother to look at any other hotels next time I come back to Siem Reap. It was quiet but the more vibrant areas were in easy walking distance. The rooms were clean and comfortable and extremely good value for money. We had planned to eat out on arrival but were shown the open air restaurant/cafe and mainly due to tiredness decided to eat there, again a decision we didn't regret to the extent that we ate there for the remainder of our stay. The staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating and the grounds of the hotel very attractively maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stay in this hotel for 2 days.
Pros:
Hotel staffs are excellently friendly & helpful. We got our free airport transfer to the hotel. The hotel owner pick up us after I write an email to him although I have made full payment through the Online booking portal. Very spacious room and good environment. The foods supply by the hotel (lunch & dinner) is delicious and not expensive.

Cons:
The toilet is rather old and should have an upgrade on it. Some stains on the small pillows and the bed sheet. Dusts and hairs are at the corner area and under the writing table (I am asking the staff to clean it and they quickly do so). The light in the room & toilet is not bright enough.

Additional:
We got the ground floor rooms and that is good because the hotel have no lift and I am travel with the seniors (Parents & parents in law).

Overall, this is an above average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I was recommended this place by a friend and he was spot on. As a solo traveller it was a great place to meet people in the social area, and the staff go out of their way to help in every way. The rooms are excellent value and the food and drinks cheap and quality. You will not be sorry (except prepare to swallow your pride when playing Mr Lucky in pool - he's not just lucky !)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#117 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
9.0 mi away
Panda Guesthouse
Panda Guesthouse
#79 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Naga Angkor Hotel
Naga Angkor Hotel
#49 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Secret Garden Hotel

Property: Angkor Secret Garden Hotel
Address: No. 104 Group 07, Taphul Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Angkor Secret Hotel is all about the Asian hospitality. We are traditional and yet contemporary, humble and yet proud of our origin and what is more important is that we are here to serve you! Angkor Secret Hotel consists of experienced and friendly people from the service and hospitality industry. In total, we have over 35 years of experience so rest assured we know how to please our guests. We believe that comfort and cleanliness are the most important ingredients in making your trip to Siem Reap a memorable experience and we do all of these with a smile. Angkor Secret Hotel has 18 spacious air-conditioned rooms that are equipped with hot shower, mini-bar and free internet access. If you didn't bring your computer along with you no worries, we have a computer room specially for you and the best of it all, it is FREE! So keep in touch with your family and friends and update your Facebook as and when you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Angkor Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing