We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel hidden away from the hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angkor Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #59 of 515 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After a long day of travelling, I arrived at the Angkor Secret Garden Hotel at about 8pm-9pm. The staff were lovely and even insisted on showing me up to my room and carrying my luggage. By the end of that first evening, I was pretty much on a first name basis with all the staff! The staff continued to be friendly throughout my stay without being intrusive. Mr Lucky recommended things to do and see, and organised and booked them for me. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the main street and the night markets, or a $2 tuk tuk drive. Often in the evenings, I would walk down to the main street and catch a tuk tuk back. In saying that, make sure you have the hotel business card on you as it is really well hidden and the tuk tuk drivers often need to see the map on the card to know where to go. Nevertheless, I found this to be one of the hotel's great advantages as it is very quiet and nice place to relax.

The room I stayed in was quite large with an ensuite bathroom which, had the best hot shower I have had in months! The bed was also quite comfortable especially by Asian standards. The included breakfast was great and I never left hungry! Also the wifi is really good.

My only word of warning is to watch out for the tuk tuk driver Panyan/Banyan (not quite sure how his name is spelt). He is not actually a hotel employee so this is not a reflection on my stay but more a word of advice. He was organised to take me around to the temples and various other places during my stay. The first day was fine as I had an English guide with me who also happened to be the hotel manager but on the second and third day I felt he was continually trying to scam me for money (not that he got much out of me). On the second day which, was my first day alone with him he wanted to stop for lunch. I said that was fine but I don't eat lunch so he could go off and I would just wait. He said he couldn't go without me yet was very insistent that he wanted to eat so I went with him to a restaurant/café near the temple we were visiting. The catch was he needed me to come because he expected me to pay for the food. He then tried asking me out for dinner but as I was now alerted to the game, I politely declined. He continued to push but thankfully, the place he wanted to take me I had already been to so I had an out. He wasn't particularly intimidating just whingey and as a young, solo, female traveller you don't really want to be put in a position where you are in a remote area and you've upset your tuk tuk driver making it tricky situation. On the final day, he started boasting about the tips he had received, I think he thought that this might encourage me to give him a really good tip. I did give him a tip as he had driven me around for three days but as I had bought him lunch and he made me a little uncomfortable at times I don't think it was as high as what he hoped! Once again, this is not a reflection on the hotel as I had a lovely stay but maybe watch out for this driver as I met some other guests a couple of days later who encountered similar problems with him.

Overall, the Angkor Secret Garden Hotel is a lovely place to stay, and I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had such a good stay at Angkor Secret Garden hotel. Before we stayed Mr Lucky contacted us to offer a pick up from the airport. Our room was clean, simple and very spacious. The food at the restaurant/bar was good. Breakfast was included and you could order from the menu. When we went to see sunrise at the temples they packed us up a breakfast. The staff are absolutely amazing and cannot do enough for you. Mr Lucky is great fun. We had a good time hanging out with him and other travellers in the evening playing pool and having a few drinks. He organised trips and buses for us and even went off into town to sort out bus tickets for us when the wifi wasn't working very well. One night some of the staff were having a meal and drinks to celebrate the New Year and we were invited to join them. They made us feel like part of the family. This was our best experience on our whole trip! It is about a 15 minute walk to pub street or $1 in a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great stay there, mostly because of the friendly staff and excellent atmosphere!
The rooms were simple but smelled nice and were very clean. The night we came there was no electricity because of the heavy rain but that staff was really friendy and helped us with what they could, offered us free drinks and a good laugh!
The hotel however is really a secret. Our friend Jimmy from Siem Reap picked us up from the airport and he did not know where this place is. We looked for it for about 45 minutes. It is hidden a way in a small street but because of that it is very tranquil and nice.
We loved it there! One of the tuk-tuk drivers (Lucky, I think) showed us around Angkor Wat and then the rest of the time the staff got us a bicycle and we went on our own.
Overall, I would go there again. It is not very central (about 15 min easy walk to the center) but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I selected this hotel as it looked like it was away from the hustle and bustle of the market /Pub Street area. I also thought that it would be place that's good value.

I arrived at Siem Reap late in the evening but they had a tuktuk driver pick me up from the airport which was great as I was worried I wouldn't be able to find the hotel easily so late at night.

The room I got was on the ground floor. It was very spacious and generally clean. The bathroom was okay. It didn't look very new but the rainforest shower head and consistent hot running water for showers was all I needed! What I also loved about the place is it was really quiet, and I'd literally wake up to the sound of birds chirping outside my room.

The free breakfast and wi-fi were both great. The wi-fi was fast. The food was very simple and basic - but delicious - they had a choice of things like banana pancakes, omelettes with a baguette or even fried local noodles. They mentioned that the coffee and tea could be served to guests free at any time.There's no bar at the restaurant but there's a pool table and a communal TV in the dinning area.

The location was great. Away from the noisy market/Pub Street area, but just a 10-minute walk to the area if you do decide to head out for some shopping or for some drinks. It was a bit hard to find on the way back, but that wasn't a problem. It's just a USD2 tuktuk ride away. Just make sure you bring the hotel's business card which has a map on the back.

The service was really good overall. There was always someone at reception or the dining area to attend to you. They seem to only replace the toiletries and towels on a as-requested-by-the-guest basis though. Lucky, Lake and the owner were all friendly. They helped me arrange my itinerary for the 3 days I was there. The tuktuk driver I got didn't speak great English but I didn't have any problems and the drivers pretty trust-worthy - they charge the proper amount for tours and short drives.

Overall, if you're looking for a hotel with great value and service (that provides basic amenities - no pool, no bar, no gym) and a place that's away from the market area but close enough to walk to, then this is great place to stay when in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGR_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

For our first trip to Siem Reap, we got help from Lucky to answer my e-mail and set up the tour plan. We got shuttle taxi from the border to the hotel with convenience and tuk tuk tour to see sunset at Bakheng only 8 USD
Tour to Angkor Wat, Banteay Srei, Ta Prom, Bayon and Angkor Thom only 25 USD

The hotel itself is nice place to stay not far from night market only 10-15 minutes walk. The room is spacious, clean as you can expect from budget hotel at 15 USD/night.

The staff is very helpful and nice to talk with. Thank you them to make our trip cannot even more happier.

Stay in April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sombat_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here through a recommendation of a mutual friend, and couldn't be happier with our time there. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, they helped plan all our days out, we even had a take away breakfast for our sunrise tour at Angkor Wat- an amazing experience and so much better with a lovely brekkie and a coffee at hand!

In regards to breakfast the banana pancakes are a must!

The rooms, although simple, had all the amenities, fridge, cable tv, air con, hot water. And with free breakfast too! Best value ever, as since traveling the rest of Cambodia we have had a hard time trying to find the same value for money.

Short tuk tuk ride to the main center where pub street is- don't pay more then 2dollars, but after a couple of times we knew the way and was only about a ten min walk.

Highly recommend this place to any budget traveler wanting a friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephandKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The owner is so friendly! He picked us up from the bus station himself for free. Breakfast was also free! Mr. Lucky (the owner) set up our tour to Angkor Wat and because we left at 5 am, he got up and packed our breakfast for us! The women working in the restaurant were also really friendly. The rooms were very clean except for a few stains on the sheets (which we were not bothered by.) Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_traveling_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#180 of 373 in Siem Reap
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#13 of 515 in Siem Reap
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Damnak Villa Boutique
Damnak Villa Boutique
#138 of 515 in Siem Reap
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#30 of 515 in Siem Reap
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Boutique Hotel
King Boutique Hotel
#111 of 515 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Secret Garden Hotel

Address: No. 104 Group 07, Taphul Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 515 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £12 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Angkor Secret Hotel is all about the Asian hospitality. We are traditional and yet contemporary, humble and yet proud of our origin and what is more important is that we are here to serve you! Angkor Secret Hotel consists of experienced and friendly people from the service and hospitality industry. In total, we have over 35 years of experience so rest assured we know how to please our guests. We believe that comfort and cleanliness are the most important ingredients in making your trip to Siem Reap a memorable experience and we do all of these with a smile. Angkor Secret Hotel has 18 spacious air-conditioned rooms that are equipped with outdoor swimming, hot shower, mini-bar and free internet access. If you didn't bring your computer along with you no worries, we have a computer room specially for you and the best of it all, it is FREE! So keep in touch with your family and friends and update your Facebook as and when you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing