We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Great Prices!”
Review of Dakshin's

Dakshin's
Ranked #36 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
220 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food at Great Prices!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is one of the best things about Cambodia! You get al cuisines at reasonable prices.

Dakshin was particularly good for North Indian dishes. The ambiance and decor is nice and so is the staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellerajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Sir
My sincere appreciation for the wonderful review.We at Dakshin's take great pride in our business and committed to providing the best Indian cuisines in Cambodia in a clean cosy and friendly envoirement.Judging from all your reviews during your stay here I'm glad you had a great vacation and would like to wish you many more.God bless!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    253
    65
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delightful dishes”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not much doubt this is the best Indian restaurant in Siam Reap. It's not a backpacker place so you pay more - but still reasonably priced in a European-standard environment with attentive staff and a Singaporean owner/manager with a good public relations touch. I had vegetable samosa (plus a free poppodom), good quality white house wine and a spicy prawn curry with garlic nan. I was particularly impressed that the very tasty curry was served with an optional hot sauce you could add if needed. Actually it wasn't. So why not five stars? Two small points. A high class restaurant like this, in my view, should provide tooth picks at table rather than having to worry busy staff unnecessarily. Also, I have to say the vegetable samosas needed just a tad longer in the oven. But I can't wait for my next trip to Siem Reap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Sir
It was a pleasure having you dining outdoor at Dakshin's and we very much appreciate your review.Iam glad you did enjoy the ccomplimentary papaddam served while waiting fot your samosa starter and followed by prawn curry.Be assured that your feedback on having toothpicks on the table will be enforced right away and have advised my chef not to rush on the frying of samosas.Welook fforward to serving you again and will work to earn a five star review Sir.Wish you a pleasant stay and safe trip home.Cheets!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were staying in Prestige Floor and our host recommended Dakshin to us. Since we had a driver and a car as part of our package at the hotel and the driver knew where Dakshin is, we did not have any problem locating! We are originally from South India settled in USA for many years now. We were glad that we found Dakshin on the first day of our stay; we had our dinner there every day during our trip. We have dined in Indian restaurants in many places and Dakshin is easily one of the best! Great service, ambience and authentic Indian cuisine. I have been recommending both Siem Reap and the restaurant to many our friends here. BTW, I thought the pricing was reasonable considering the quality of food and the service. We had a great time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Sir
Thank you for the lovely review and I am glad Dakshin's lifted to your every expectations.Also being a South Indian and to have tried our SI delights makes it even more happy.It was really a pleasure able to serve you and family the best and making your holiday memorable.Be rest assured the standards and quality will always be maintained or excelled to a much greater heights to meet the growing demands and which is also priority especially being very passionate about Dakshin's.Cheers and god bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are Indian Curry lovers, who have travelled the world,whilst visiting as many Indian Restaurants as possible. We are in Siem Reap, Cambodia which really is curry heaven. There are at least 6 Indian restaurants within 100 metres of each other so we have tried 4. However, after our visit to Dakshin's last night I am compelled to comment on their wonderful food.
I must say,we do have our favourite Indian Restaurant,which luckily is in Sydney and have struggled to find something that could match their curries which their right combination of spices ,cooked to perfection when combined with the chicken of lamb etc.
Dakshin's curries reached this plateau last night. Their curries had the depth of flavour and were rich in content. The service was wonderful and the host enthusiastic about what he has created in this town. I would highly recommend this place to any one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazzathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi
That was awesome and I am so happy we met your expectations of another Indian food lover especially having tried several in town and than concluding on Dakshin's comparing with your favorite back home that's gorgeous and look forward to serving you once again.Thank you and have a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty, delicious”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Having travelled through India and also living in a city where we have excellent, authentic Indian food, Dakshin's did not disappoint. The food and service were excellent and the prices very reasonable given the more formal setting. The interior of the restaurant was absolutely stunning!

Helpful?
Thank LauraLimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for the lovely review and your compliments on Dakshin's.What you experienced was the Flavors of India briught to you to Siemreap.I am glag you enjoyed which is most important to me.Wish you all the best.Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dakshin's also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Dakshin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing