We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
Ranked #121 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for a few days during December 2013. It is a nice and clean hotel at a reasonable price. Location is great as well. The negatives that I found with this hotel were that the curtains are VERY thin and so people outside can see into the room at night. We got a notice during our stay that told us curtains in the hotel were going to be changed the next day, but to no avail, so just make sure you check your curtains to avoid being seen from outside. If you're trying to choose between the Deluxe and Standard, don't pay the extra money, just take the standard room. The deluxe (for us anyway) seemed to be no different than the standard room, apart from it being two levels higher, so there's no point in paying extra.
There was a bit of a miscommunication between us and the staff at one point about organising a taxi to the airport where they had confused the time we had booked it for, but they were quick to reorganise the situation. Most of the staff were helpful, except when we were leaving for the airport and paying for our stay, the lady at the counter refused to accept our US$20 because it was "too old". She was very rude and didn't care that we didn't have any other notes to exchange it with. Luckily, we were there with family so we could exchange the note with them, otherwise I'm not so sure how the situation would have ended. So just be warned because they tend to be very picky with 'old money'.
Overall, if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel, then it's fine. But I'm sure there are plenty of other hotels in this area that are far better (and allow you some privacy at night)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horizon741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gazza0311, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. As we stated in our departure letter which has recently been implimented and delivered to all departing rooms, we welcome any feedback, both positive and negative.

Unfortunatly the block out curtain issue is still "work in progress". We ordered these the first week of December to be delivered and installed the week before Christmas. However our supplier recieved a much larger order from a new Hotel, so our order was "put on the backburner" We did recieve enough for 7 rooms and these were immediatly installed.We are now expecting them to be completed by the the 6th of January.

With regard to the room types. Our Standard Twin (Peking Superior)is 22 sq Metres, mostly with shower only, and features 2 double beds. The Delux Twin ( Mandarin Delux) is a 26 sq metre room with a larger bathroom and shower and a bathtub. These rooms are always fully booked as 4 are configured with a King and a double bed, whilst the remaining two have a Queen and a double.

I do apoligise is my Duty manager seemed a little sharp regarding the $20.00 note, she was only following Hotel guidelines. Whilst Cambodian Reil can be dirty, torn or defaced it is still accepted everywhere. However any $US note over $5.00 which is dirty, old looking or torn in not accepted by any of our suppliers. When taken to the bank we are charged a 10% fee to exchange it. All travellers need to be aware of this anomally and be very careful when excepting change, or even taking money from an ATM. Should they find a problem note from an ATM they should immediatly take it to the bank to be exchanged. We are sometimes offered "bad" notes when we get change from the bank, and always check carefully and hand back any problem notes.

Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

This lovely little hotel is fairly basic however very clean, well priced, great location and great on site food. Large rooms with big beds and ensuite bathrooms. Close enough to great restaurants and the markets and a convenience store on the corner. Love Siem Reap and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We appreciate you taking time to post such a positive review on Trip Adviser. We endevour to provide a totally relaxing stay with great rooms, excellent cuisine and of course cheap "happy hour" drinks. Another 5 star review, Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My family and I booked online as a last minute decision and we couldn't have been happier. I cannot reccommend this hotel enough. Small, friendly and fantastic value for money. If I ever return to Siem Reap I will definately be booking in at the Golden Dynasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickySmith_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Adviser. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As a Family group I imagine our swimming pool was well used by you and the Family. As some of our guests have recently commented we are in a very quiet area of Wat Bo village and our Guests are guarenteed a good night rest away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I stayed here with 2 of my friends in December 2013. Pros: The rooms were clean and very large and the hotel was reasonably priced. Cons: First off, unless requested at the front desk, the hotel does not provide toilet paper or hand soap. Yes, I know they do not flush the toilet paper due to the sewage system, but as a general rule I like to use it. Maybe that’s odd but it’s just my thing. Same with the hand soap. Second, I just got the feeling of being unwelcome, like whenever I requested anything I was being a bother. At times you would speak to the staff and they would just stare at you. While this may be a language barrier issue, it just felt odd. This was a surprise to me because over email the staff was always very friendly and accomodating. We actually only stayed here one night out of the 3 we originally booked as we ended up moving hotels. Now to be fair, when we called the front desk to inform them of our move they did ask what they could do to make us happy but we did not take them up on their offer. Since the rooms were clean and reasonably priced I do see how some people would not be bothered with a stay. In my case it may just have been a bad fit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank JeanineMadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with our Hotel. With regard to the hand soap, we do supply quality containers of bath gel which is replenished on a daily basis.

Though initially trying to help improve the water quality in the Siem Reap River by omitting toilet tissue from our rooms we found the demand was too great. So I must apoligise for this omission as normally there is one roll in the bathroom and a spare in the lounge area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I showed up in Siem Reap Without any reservations and stumbled upon this gem. Its centrally located and is only a block from charles de gaulle blvd (a straight shot to Angkor wat). The staff is very friendly as well as the manager. Do yourself a favor and try the Cambodian curry.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased we were able to satisfy all your needs.

It is a pleasure to host such appreciative Guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We (family of 4) stayed 6 nights and had a very nice time! The Hotel is nice and clean, and has a very nice pool area. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Highly recommend ! And very good value!
The location is in a quiet neighborhood about 1k from
Old Market. Different tours available via hotel.

We (family of 4) stayed 6 nights and had a very nice time! The Hotel is nice and clean, and has a very nice pool area. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Highly recommend ! And very good value!
The location is in a quiet neighborhood about 1k from
Old Market. Different tours available via hotel.

We (family of 4) stayed 6 nights and had a very nice time! The Hotel is nice and clean, and has a very nice pool area. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Highly recommend ! And very good value!
The location is in a quiet neighborhood about 1k from
Old Market. Different tours available via hotel.




Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo., responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review, agreeing we have a great Hotel and are very good value. As a Family orientated Hotel we do try to ensure the Children also enjoy their stay. The pool being a very popular attraction on our hot sunny days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights. A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.The only negative point was Shower outlet mounted too low and no shower curtain so water fooded the bathroon if one was not careful.. But overall, agreat place to stay.

Room Tip: Even street facing rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#102 of 378 in Siem Reap
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
#157 of 378 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#106 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#120 of 378 in Siem Reap
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#183 of 378 in Siem Reap
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#138 of 378 in Siem Reap
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.

Address: Street 20 | Junction Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Dynasty Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo. 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel 20th Street. A place where the most important thing is you. Hotel 20TH Street offers modern accommodation in Siem Reap. All the rooms (en-suite bathrooms) are equipped for 4 guests and include amenities such as coffee and tea making facilities, 2 bottles of water, mini bar, wardrobe, a flat-screen cable TV, room service telephone and AC. Selected apartment suites feature a kitchenette and balcony. Safety boxes are available at reception. Conveniently located minutes away from Old Market and Pub Street, Hotel 20th Street offers superb service - pick up from the airport or bus stop to the hotel, an outdoor swimming pool, a beautiful garden, and a bar area. Fast and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises. Siem Reap is Cambodia's hot spot, the place to be, to have fun and enjoy life! While the truly stunning temples of Angkor are undoubtedly the star attraction of the area, few are aware of the fact that Siem Reap is a vibrant and colorful city offering wonderful sightseeing, entertainment, gastronomy, health and well being opportunities. We offer personalized service - a friendly and knowledgeable member of our staff will accompany you throughout your stay with us. All activities and tours can be tailor made and privately organized with your mother tongue speaking guide. From day and sightseeing itinerary planning to restaurant, spa, shopping tips and reservations, we will take care of everything for you. And it goes without saying that you will be driven around in a traditional tuk-tuk by a professional, trustworthy and reliable driver accredited with our property, who will be at your disposal at all times. Hotel 20th Street is located in the center of Siem Reap for people who enjoy active lifestyle, exploration and discovery, yet wish serenity, calm and utmost care envelop them once they are done touring for the day. - 7km from Siem Reap International Airport - The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is a 15-minute drive away. Hotel 20TH Street: get the best taste of Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing