We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only best Shower in Siem Reap but...”
Review of Hotel 20th Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 20th Street
Ranked #127 of 371 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just an amazing find for me.
Had stayed in 4(yes you read that right) 4 different hotels in Siem Rep in the 9 days previous to moving in to the Golden Dynasty. Why? Well I enjoy a good hot shower and rooms at a reasonable rate (a pool is a bonus!). Didnt find that until I happened across Golden Dynasty.

What did I like about the Hotel?
First impressions were great, lovely staff.
Even tho I was early, a quick check in, the welcome drink and then down to room 18 on the ground floor. I could say this had a pool view but that would only be by sticking my head out the door and looking down the hallway :-)
Otherwise just a view of a service area with some motor bikes next to the hotel.

Didnt worry me as I had booked a room, without a view, to get the ridiculously inexpensive deal!
Less than half what I had previously paid, for a much better room. In fact it was so good that I extended my stay by a week.
AND..the fabulous shower, good pressure, constant temperature and room to swing a cat while showering. OK I didn't swing a cat but could have showered "with a friend" if I was not travelling solo :-(
Big flat screen TV mounted on the wall. I like that as it leaves lots of free desk space.
The AC unit was effective and quite! As a bonus it was not switched off when the electric was switched off when you removed the key. A bonus on coming back from a hot sweaty day out.
Curtains had backout screens, which is handy for us sloths that like to sleep in.

So you are saying to yourself, what didnt I like. Well the pool was NOT surrounded by lovely young French ladies in bikinis EVERY day :-( Just some days!!!

No draft beer. But no worries nice restaurant across the road (Two Dragons) also had an alternative menu.

The location of the hotel is interesting. Its 45 metres down a dirt road from the main(busy) paved street system. But that had its own charm. Sort of like living in a rural village when first stepping out of the hotel grounds. On the corner is a nice minimart with lots of western food. Quite a range of breakfast cereals for those who want a western breakfast treat.

Needless to say there are tuktuks available at the hotel entranceway and the staff can arrange other stuff.

So in summary, oops did I mention the fantastic shower? In Summary, would go there again in a heartbeat. In fact looking at taking her who must be obeyed, next year. She hates the heat and foreign countries, but think she will like the Golden Dynasty.

so there, give it a go, I am sure you will be pleased.

Room Tip: I was happy with room 18. No stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank old_bloke_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

This must be the most lengthy and most interestingly witty review ever posted on Trip Adviser.

Well done. This guest we a delight to Host and We would like to say a big thank you for such a positive review, and look forward to meeting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights.
Was upgraded by the gracious kiwi host and throughly enjoyed our room.

Value for money is unbeatable.
Hotel is clean, modern, great pool and good food at great prices.
Location is perfect for those who like a small walk and/or tuk tuks are always close by if not.

Only hesitation is the majority of the staff are clearly new to the business. We had a couple of incidents that were eventually worked out but ended up involving three - five staff over trivial matters.
The night manager is the standout. Gracious and informative.
I understand the staff are improving and with that there will be nothing to fault about this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Another great review.
Thank you for you comments on value for money, our clean, modern Hotel ( although 18 months old we try to keep maintenance up to date always making everything look fresh and clean) and the good food at great prices.

I do take in your comment on our Staff sometimes misunderstanding Guests. I believe they sometimes get flustered as the translation from Khmer to English is usually backwards and the grammer so different.We actually conduct English classes for two seperate groups 5 times a week, so this problem is slowly being resolved.

Thank you for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Golden Dynasty in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It was a lovely place to stay in. Breakfast was extra, but could be eaten poolside or indoors. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, and is walking distance into town. There were tuk tuk drivers stationed outside the hotel, ready to take you anywhere. My only concern is having red curtains and red pillowcases in each room: anyone into colour therapy knows that this colour is not conducive for a good night's sleep. Apart from that I loved staying there and it was so affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review on our Hotel and services. It wasa delight to have two such charming Ladies staying with us.

It is a shame you did not bring the problem of the red pillow cases to me as we do have a supply of white ones for those who prefer not to use red.

Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel was a little bit of a walk from the major touristy areas like the night market and pub street but was definitely do-able. There were a few restaurants very close by, as well as a corner store. There are also no shortage of tuk-tuks if you are looking to explore further!

We appreciated the clean bedrooms and bathrooms and air conditioning. We didn't use the pool during our stay but it looked lovely. The manager speaks English well and was very helpful and attentive. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsgordon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel and services. We appreciate you taking the time to do this.
I agree we are a 20 minute walk or a $2.00 tuk tuk ride to the action of Pub Street, but as you know we are located in the quiet Wat Bo Village area which guarentees a good nights sleep.

Your feedback also gives our Staff a boost and encourages them to higher levels of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was great with the exception of the breakfast. The pool is super clean, the beer is cold and the rooms are large, quiet and clean. The staff was very helpful and the dinners were also good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel, or stay here again if I return to siem reap.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for your excellent reveiw of the Staff, rooms and dinners.
I am sorry you were disapointed with the breakfast. We would have preferred to be notified about the problem at the time. After 40 years in hospitality I do know that even the best establishment can produce a less than satisfactory meal from time to time. Had you brought this to the Service Staff's attention I am sure this could have been rectified.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Golden Dynasty for four nights towards the end of June. Was a great find a little way away from the noise of pub st. Beautifully clean, with large rooms, and attentive and friendly staff. Ate a dinner meal in the restaurant, whoch was also great - tasty and very reasonably priced. Also a friendly kiwi owner.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Everybody is probably betting a little bored with me saying this, but we just love 5 STAR REVIEWS.
We know that a major selling point is the fact that we are in a very quiet area away from the noise and bustle of Pub Street, but only a $2.00 tuktuk ride in to the action. Your remarks on our large clean rooms , the friendly staff and the great tasty food have been well received by myself and the Staff. Thank you for your positive review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this hotel is the nicest budget hotel we've stayed in across Asia. Great staff, great pool, great price. The standard of service was excellent, great cleaning job, pool immaculate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry S, General Manager at Hotel 20th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are delighted you and your Family really enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to Host you. The Staff all enjoyed your friendliness, and of course responded in kind. The pool is a great attraction at present with the weather still so hot. Thank you for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 371 in Siem Reap
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
#156 of 371 in Siem Reap
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#96 of 371 in Siem Reap
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#174 of 371 in Siem Reap
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#133 of 371 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#141 of 371 in Siem Reap
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 20th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 20th Street

Address: Street 20 | Junction Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Dynasty Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 371 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £19 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 20th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel 20th Street. A place where the most important thing is you. Hotel 20TH Street offers modern accommodation in Siem Reap. All the rooms (en-suite bathrooms) are equipped for 4 guests and include amenities such as coffee and tea making facilities, 2 bottles of water, mini bar, wardrobe, a flat-screen cable TV, room service telephone and AC. Selected apartment suites feature a kitchenette and balcony. Safety boxes are available at reception. Conveniently located minutes away from Old Market and Pub Street, Hotel 20th Street offers superb service - pick up from the airport or bus stop to the hotel, an outdoor swimming pool, a beautiful garden, and a bar area. Fast and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises. Siem Reap is Cambodia's hot spot, the place to be, to have fun and enjoy life! While the truly stunning temples of Angkor are undoubtedly the star attraction of the area, few are aware of the fact that Siem Reap is a vibrant and colorful city offering wonderful sightseeing, entertainment, gastronomy, health and well being opportunities. We offer personalized service - a friendly and knowledgeable member of our staff will accompany you throughout your stay with us. All activities and tours can be tailor made and privately organized with your mother tongue speaking guide. From day and sightseeing itinerary planning to restaurant, spa, shopping tips and reservations, we will take care of everything for you. And it goes without saying that you will be driven around in a traditional tuk-tuk by a professional, trustworthy and reliable driver accredited with our property, who will be at your disposal at all times. Hotel 20th Street is located in the center of Siem Reap for people who enjoy active lifestyle, exploration and discovery, yet wish serenity, calm and utmost care envelop them once they are done touring for the day. - 7km from Siem Reap International Airport - The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is a 15-minute drive away. Hotel 20TH Street: get the best taste of Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 20th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing