We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night to remember in Siem Reap, then start it with Phare circus!”

Phare, The Cambodian Circus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.00*
and up
Phare: The Cambodian Circus Show in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Phare, The Cambodian Circus "Amazing vibe & energy, transforming the lives of Cambodian youth" Experience Siem Reap's most unique, authentic top rated (TripAdvisor & Lonely Planet) evening entertainment. More than just a circus, Phare, the Cambodian Circus performers use theater, music, dance and modern circus arts to tell uniquely Cambodian stories; historical, folk and modern. The young circus artists will astonish you with their energy, emotion, enthusiasm and talent. Phare artists are students and graduates from Phare Ponleu Selpak's vocational training centre in Battambang. The association was formed in 1994 by 9 young men coming home from a refugee camp after the Khmer Rouge regime. They were greatly helped during that time by an art teacher using drawing classes as therapy and wanted to share this new skill among the poor, socially deprived and troubled youngsters in Battambang. They founded an art school and public school followed to offer free education. A music school and theatre school were next and finally, for the kids who wanted more, the circus school. Today more than 1,200 pupils attend the public school daily and 500 attend the alternative schools. Phare Ponleu Selpak also has extensive outreach programs, trying to help with the problems highlighted in their own tales. Phare The Cambodian Circus offers these students and graduates somewhere to hone their skills and a place to earn a decent wage. Money that will take them out of poverty and give them self-respect and freedom.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A night to remember in Siem Reap, then start it with Phare circus!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent combination of humorous story telling, awesome acrobatic skits and best of all HIGH in entertainment. Make sure u queue up beside the tent doors and dash for the center stage facing seats (its free seating and may the best man wins!)

The performers are so funny and natural on stage - they should get their own Cambodian sitcom and if it comes with English subtitle I would watch it. They even get the audience to be part of the show.

Finally, these performers are from humble beginnings and they been groomed and trained by a not for profit organization. Do make a donation for the organization (if you find it within you) - so we have more and more awesome shows like this all around the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Director of Sales at Phare, The Cambodian Circus, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Richie G,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Phare, the Cambodian Circus.

You captured the essence of Phare. It's all about the young Cambodian artists; their energy, enthusiasm, passion, talent and dedication. Even more, it's about their journey from unimaginably tragic social and economic circumstances and transformation of their lives through art.

You also make a good suggestion for open ticket holders to arrive early for seating. Another option are the pre-reserved preferred seating in the front 2 rows of the middle section. Enter at your leisure right up to show time knowing the best seats are waiting for you.

Thank you again for writing. I'll share your comments with the artists. Some just may have television careers ahead of them. You never know.

Sincerely,

Craig Dodge
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,376
    698
    117
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good display of young talent.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We purchased our tickets online after hearing of the impeccable reputation of this circus through trip adviser. On closer Inspection I can safely say that this is a very reputable organisation with most of its profits going the the artistic development of needy children. Initially I assumed this was going to be somewhat of a semi-professional affair where students in training would act and perform a set routine or play to a high degree of quality. Although this was mostly the case in the performance I witnessed, I would like to add some critcisms where they are due:

- There was an electrical blackout which prevented the audience from understanding what was going on and this interrupted the flow of the story line. This was of course at no fault of their own, but still marred the event.

- The cheap seats ($15) were slightly obscured by scaffolding which did impede a complete view of the performance. This was mostly filled with travelers on the budget side, so I believe some of them may have felt a little bit out of pocket.

- I would suggest that instead of charging a high flat fee of $15 USD (which is a good deal of money in Cambodia) to charge something more reasonable so that the spectator gets the chance to evaluate the experience before donating. I didn't appreciate the forced approach of the speaker after the show who advocated that the audience should automatically give the show a 5 star rating as I believe it should be up to the individual.

All things aside I think this was a good show with amazingly talented students who show promising skills. I wish them all the luck on refining such performances so that future audiences remained enthralled.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Director of Sales at Phare, The Cambodian Circus, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear jbro281,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Phare, the Cambodian Circus.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the power outage. There were power outages in Siem Reap throughout the afternoon and evening, which normally aren't a problem for us because we are on a generator, but in this instance, the generator took 10 minutes to turn on. During that time, the emergency lights were on, which allowed the artists to keep performing uninterrupted, but the subtitles were unavailable until the generator restored power.

To clarify the seating options, there are two choices: general open seating and pre-reserved preferred seating in the front 2 rows of the middle section. It's recommended to arrive early if you have open seating tickets to get better seats. There are two supports for the big top and to minimize the need to use seating behind them, we actually reduced the number of tickets we sell to 30 under capacity.

Thank you for all your constructive feedback. It will be shared with the operations and customer service teams to help improve guest experience.

Sincerely,

Craig Dodge
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing Energy”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

An absolute must! The energy and spirit on display is addictive. Our group had the privilege of meeting and photographing the performers during rehearsals prior to the show as part of our Creative Escapes Photography holiday (www.creative-escapes.co.uk). If I thought the rehearsal was amazing - nothing compared to the show. Transfixed. Amazing stunts, music, lighting and some very fit torsos on display :) Whole cast were just great. Would watch the show again tomorrow given the chance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CFieldHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening entertainment”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a great time!

Get your tickets beforehand, and spring for the A tier (center seats near the front) because this place is PACKED every night since it's only a smallish venue and is so loved.

Also get there a little early even if you have tickets since then you can have time to grab a freshly made mojito to take inside (they make them at a little bar right beside the big top entrance) and snag the best seats in your section.

These performers were superb, and the best part was they were all obviously having a blast! It was so much fun to watch them, and it felt great to be supporting such a good cause. We especially enjoyed the acrobatics! JUST GO! It was one of my favorite experiences of Cambodia!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice acrobatics, energetic and humoristic show. Would love to see it again some time.
Get there on time if you want a good spot.

Helpful?
Thank Frederik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phare, The Cambodian Circus also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Phare, The Cambodian Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing