We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, good value”
Review of Villa Um Theara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Um Theara
Ranked #187 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This isn't a luxury hotel, but for $25 USD/night, it's a great value. Room was kept clean, the bed was comfortable, the AC in great working order. There were a few persistent mosquitos, but hey, it's Cambodia. Breakfast was simple but tasty enough, the pool area a very comfortable place to relax. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Laundry was prompt and reliable, a week's worth of T-shirts and socks for $2. We thought the location was great -- about a 10 minute walk to the livelier parts of the city and "Pub Street," so it's accessible but the hotel location is a bit quieter. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for basic, clean, pleasant accommodation at a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Clean room, clean beddings. Excellent service-Mr
Rithy and Ms. Kang were fantastic-huge asset to the property and owner! Arranged takeaway breakfast for us when we visited Ankorwat temples and arranged for tickets from Phnom Penh to Saigon. Sian song at breakfast doubled as cook and waitress. The service provided by these staff provided for a pleasant stay. These staff need promotion or some sort of incentive.
Not the staffs problem but more management issue-no telephone in room, have to walk down stairs if require anything or have a question. Bathroom design could be better by sectioning off the shower area, putting white tiles and a window in the bathroom for better lighting and a cleaner feel to take advantage of the warm climate. We were there when stair bit was broken and it was not fixed within 24 hours :(

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intuitive_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff at Villa Um Theara were the highlight of our stay - they truly made every effort to make our stay wonderful. The rooms are great, we had no mosquito problems and the staff were very helpful in helping us organize our visit to Siem Reap. Just note that it's a short walk away from most restaurants downtown, which we were fine with. Breakfast is very good, including eggs, toast and fruit.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_theara, General Manager at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear David

Thank for your exceptional review, My team and I would like to thank you for taking your value time to place your positive comments on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards

Sophanny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Breakfast (from a set menu) is limited but quite nourishing for a day of sightseeing. It is varied everyday and accompanied by a fresh fruit platter. - A kettle of hot Coffee/Tea is conveniently placed; you can help yourself 24 x 7 free of charge. - The location is just 10 minutes walk from bustling Pub Street, if that is your thing, yet far enough for calm. Dara, the manager cum driver cum all round good guy is a great asset.

A little mean spirited - could do with a lot of improvement. - They do not have an in-room safe; neither do they have a safe in the reception; so I had to entrust my valuables to the front desk. - Lots of mosquitoes; even after I complained and they sprayed the room, the mosquitoes thrived. - The refrigerator was not working. To be fair, they changed it immediately after I complained. - The pool is tiny; nothing like it looks in the photos. I think it should be mandatory to mention the pool size. - They were very reluctant to provide extra towels. So if you want to shower twice in a day, you have to use the same towel. - One of the staircase steps was broken since the first day; they did not get around to fixing it. - They (politely) refused me a late check out even though the hotel was not full. - My room was not cleaned on the day of my departure, even though I was occupying it till 12 noon, probably to save on soap, tea bags and towels. Would I stay here again? There are about a million properties in the vicinity- so I think I’d like to try some place else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_theara, Owner at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your feedback and we regret that you did not meet your expectation of your with a private AC room with breakfast, free wifi, using pool and free airport pick up with rate USD 25.90 per room per night, our room facility have been mention clearly what we have.

Safety box is not available in the room and it only has at front desk while for any deposit we have the form that you can fill-up with amount of your money that we responsibility for guest for any lose.

Mosquito it is commend in Cambodia, but we try our best to avoid for our guests by using spray and mosquito-net.

Our photos in Website content we do not using the editor images and we use our real photos, our salt water pool which is 4m x 9m for our guest 15 rooms, budget traveler to enjoy their stay during visit Siem Reap, and we are not the big hotel.

Our towel we have separate for pool using and in the room, it is no extra charge for additional with full set of Face and Wash Body Towel and we provide 2 set for guest event they book the single room, we provided you every time you request, it would be cost at another hotel but we did not charge from you.

the staircase steps was fix immediately after it broke with 24housr and we have notice with a sign for guest event it was just a small part of our staircase.

We understand of your late departure from Siem Reap and Dara informed us of your departure, he also informed you that you can late check out till 2pm with no extra charge, that is a slam to us when we see that you mention we did not provide you.

Any request request of cleaning the room we always provide it 24H even on the date of guest departure, you did not request and which hotel that provide you the cleaning during the time of your stay on the date on check out?

Thank again for your helping us to save the world without using our toilettree.

Cheer!

Theara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Would definitely stay again. Good value for money.
Small rooms but clean and bright. Quite modern fittings, light and airy.
Air conditioning.
The staff are very accommodating and friendly.
Good wifi connection.
Nice clean pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monimonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_theara, General Manager at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank for your exceptional review, My team and I would like to thank you for taking your value time to place your positive comments on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards

Sophanny

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

From the moment we arrived (served a cool towell and cold drink) to the moment we left (waves and smiles) we felt like honoured guests. Dara (the manager) was so accommodating and went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed, including complimentary breakfasts when a booking request was unable to be met. The place was spotless! Pool gorgeous and a wonderful way to relax after a day at the temples. Although the property is a good 15-20 minutes walk to the main market, there are always tuk-tuks out front. Great location. All the staff had permanent smiles and were lovely to chat with. The rooms were modern and clean with plenty of space in the bathrooms. The little lounge area on each floor was lovely to meet at the end of the day and ctch up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariki-Mingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_theara, Manager at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Grace

Appreciation of your exceptional review to us, it is a special gift for our hard working top served you and another guests,

Hopeful we will serve again in the future,

Best Wish

Dara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the beautiful city siem reap for 5 nights. The hotel is brandnew. The rooms are big and clean. The staff were very helpful, friendly and always smiling. For the breakfast they serve you every day something different. But always comes a platter of fresh fruit. Njam, njam....
After a temple- or citytour take a break for swimming in the pool, thats really relaxing!!!
After checking out they offer us to swim in the pool or having a other shower befor we take our night bus.
Thank you for everything. It was great. We really recommend this hotel!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nimsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_theara, Owner at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear value guest,

It is a true pleasure for all our team to read such a excellent feedback about Villa Um Theara, this is the best awards for our hard work to serves our guests,

Best Wish

Theara / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.8 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#183 of 378 in Siem Reap
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#102 of 378 in Siem Reap
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
#121 of 378 in Siem Reap
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
DOM Siem Reap
DOM Siem Reap
#232 of 378 in Siem Reap
27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#239 of 378 in Siem Reap
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Um Theara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Um Theara

Address: #150, Wat Bo Road, Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 12377, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £14 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Um Theara 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Um Theara is situated in Wat Bo Village, just a 10-minute walk from the the lively Pub Street and Old Market in Siem Reap. It provides elegant rooms with a large bathroom. Wi-Fi is available for free throughout the property. The villa is located 7Km away from Siem Reap International Airport and both World UNESCO site Angkor Wat Temple.All air-conditioning room feature with private en-suite bathroom and hot and cold shower.Hotel provide 24 hours front desk and daily house keeping including in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Um Theara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing