We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing wrap around care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 371 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Our party of four stayed at this property as part of a tour. While this is not one of the newer Siem Reap hotels, it is clean, with beautiful public spaces. The aspect that stands out is the attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable care from all the staff, from management to desk clerk to waiter to room cleaner. We have rarely experienced such a high level of sensitivity to our desires and needs. Often we did not even have to ask for things because staff members anticipated what we wanted. We ate breakfasts and dinners in the hotel, enjoying consistently good food and service. The fruit particularly was delicious. A highlight of our stay was the New Year's Eve gala, which was one of the better celebrations we have ever attended. Not only did the staff do a wonderful job of setting up and pulling off the gala, they also had almost everything cleaned up and back to normal by the next morning. The only little hiccup in our stay was not at first getting the room types promised. This was corrected the next day.

Room Tip: Pool side is quieter unless there is a special event there, but, since the hotel is set back from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,853 - 3,859 of 5,388 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Borei Angkor is not centrally located, but easily accessible with tuktuk or car. The Khmer-style decor seems a bit dated, but the hotel facilities and rooms are all clean and well-maintained, complemented by friendly and thoughtful service. No problems with AC or hot water, the only (small) complaint is the tiny bugs which greet the bathroom floor and bathtub occasionally. The pool and spa are very nice - can spend the whole day there, really. The breakfast buffet is indeed very good with American, English, Continental and Asian options; our favorite is the noodle station - the rice noodle soup is light, subtly flavored and simply delicious; the fruit (pineapple, mango, etc) is fresh and bursting with flavor, too.

I'd also like to recommend our driver Khiheng (pronounced "Hane") who drives a Toyota Camry and charges ~$30/day. A very mild, polite and thoughtful local who was half-driver, half-tour-guide to us; and his English is surprisingly good, too. You can contact him at [chea_khiheng@yahoo.com] for discounted booking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel staff was fantastic, helping you with a large smile. We checked out early to visit Angkor for the day but had to return to the hotel at noon time because our Cambodian friend who served as a guide was not filling well. A staff, Mr. Amatak, offered us to use the showers at the spa, much appreciated. He also arranged for a tuk tuk for the continuation of our visit of Angkor in the afternoon. The hotel offers a free airport transfer in the evening.

The room was huge with quite decent amenities although slightly old. The buffet breafast was great and the dinner satisfactory.

Overall, an excellent price quality ratio.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuckyL3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed with our 8 yr and 5 yr old kids at Borei for 3 nights around Christmas. Great hotel with excellent service. The street is a bit noisy but this is like an oasis. Room was clean and nice. Buffet breakfast was great. Yummiest mango I ever tasted! The staff was very courteous and helpful. Our tours were arranged with great professionalism. Kids loved the pool and my wife had a great time in the spa. Make sure to try their fish amok.

A few tips for Siem Reap:
1. Make sure to carry bug spray 2. US$ is used everywhere, no need to convert to the local currency 3. Include Banteay Srei in your itineray to see finest carving

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeJayCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Like many big tourist hotels along National Highway 6, Borei Angkor is set up for tourists who fly in to see the temples and Borei Angkor's check-in staff struggled to click with us once we said we hadn't just arrived from the airport and weren't in Siem Reap to see the temples (we were there to work at an NGO).

A few specific comments:
- Pool area very untidy in some places (overgrown grass, rubbish and exposed bricks) and felt tired.
- Food at the hotel is horrendously overpriced. A la carte/room service prices were US$20+ for a steak and chips, and the buffet breakfast, although it had lots of variety, didn't feel like it had care or flair factored in. The wait staff also seemed a bit stressed and there was very limited choice in wine by the glass (one red, one white) which is surprising for a 4.5 star (5 star when self rated).
- Local tuk tuks aren't allowed to take hotel guests from outside the gates and the hotel's tuk tuk's have a fixed fee, really frustrating when the hotel tuk tuk isn't available or doesn't know the place you want to go to.

We've been to Cambodia three times and know the limitations of the hospitality/tourist trade over there (e.g. wine is imported and therefore expensive to serve by the glass, tuk tuk 'patches' are fiercely guarded) so not all of this was unusual but the fact that the staff didn't seem happy in their jobs and Borei Angkor's commercial vibe really put us off.

Incidentally, we moved to a small guesthouse (Angkor Pearl) for our last few days in Siem Reap and the staff there seemed so much warmer, engaging and willing to go out of their way for you. The experience showed that guest experience isn't in direct relation to how much you pay - Borei Angkor could be so much better by injecting a bit of life and energy, and genuine warmth for its guests into the way it operates.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Hoffs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comment on our services/facilities during your recent stay with us.

I have taken the issue seriously by reviewing and studying the cause of its roots. I admitted that you might feel that you have over paid the price that it supposes to be. I guarantee, in capacity as the head of the company, we are having a fair play price comparing to 5-star properties in Siem Reap not only room charge, but also we have worked closely with outside tuk tuk driver to only charge guest 1$ for a trip to downtown, it is very reasonable price and we don’t even make any single cent as we only help to support the tuk tuk driver and it is for the convenience of our resident.

Allow me to explain, a varieties of food menu is designed for quality assurance to our resident with best qualify chef in 20 years experiences. The drink menu is available from local beer to the well-known French wine (Chateau Angelus 2er Grand Crus Classe , Chateau Malescot etc.) which offering to our resident. Furthermore, we are the only resort in Siem Reap where all of staffs are working for at least 8 consecutive years since resort operates.


As resulted we got proofed good tracking record of the positive comment make known on trip advisor from various well experience traveler from different continent that appreciate our services/facilities.

It is regretful that I cannot do enough to recover back the service, facilities you have found during the stay, and I would have done by all means if I had known of the said matter while you stay with us.

Truly yours.

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed four nights in early January 2012. Charming hotel, friendly and helpful staff, commodious rooms and a reasonably good cleanliness standard. But the hotel needs to spruce up its plumbing a bit. Hot/cold water operation in the shower was inconsistent and one had to frequently keep changing the position of the single lever mixer to keep the flow/temperature of water from the shower constant. The wireless internet is great – when it works. It is sometimes down for periods ranging a few minutes to a few hours and a challenge to explain to housekeeping staff to get it up and running. But if you wait, it eventually comes on – and when it's on, it's great. There are other WiFi networks in the hotel as well and you're connected everywhere. One of the best things about the hotel is the breakfast spread. It's great and prepares you well for a long day trundling through the forests around Siem Reap to take in the amazing sights of the ancient monuments. One slight negative: the ornate furniture tends to accumulate dust and the cleaning staff needs to pay more attention to the nooks and crannies where one can see some accumulation of dust. But all in all a great stay and particularly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were so pleased to leave the busy, noisy street and arrive at the oasis that is the Borei Hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful. The service at check-in was superbe. The room was very nice and the free buffet breakfast was great. The Cambodian people are so charming. We felt in love with everybody.

Only the buffet breakfast needs improvement. There wasn't enough staff so it was chaotic - tables not cleaned, hard to get coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 371 in Siem Reap
3,777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 371 in Siem Reap
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 | Banteay Chas, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £47 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is the one and only most reviewed hotel in Siem Reap Cambodia given by thousands of travelers' reviews on TripAdvisor making Borei Angkor the most popular and chosen hotel to stay in Siem Reap while visiting the UNESCO world heritage site of Angkor Wat. Aptly named after 'a territory of Angkor', Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, a truly Cambodia 5 star hotel in Siem Reap is set right in the center of Siem Reap, ideally situated within 15 minutes drive either from Siem Reap International Airport or to Angkor Wat, and only 5 minutes drive to Siem Reap downtown including Pub Street, shopping malls, Angkor Night Market, local restaurants and bars, and other nearby local attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing