We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot but building is in progress!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We arrived mid morning before that days check out time so our room wasn't available. Normally we would not have minded sitting at the pool waiting or leaving our luggage and going exploring. I was unwell and it was noticed by our check in staff member. We were then asked if we would like a room to stay in until our room was ready...this was a lovely gesture I thought!
We were kept informed on the progress of our room
Our room was the Borei Suite which was just beautiful. Large, bathroom with a massive bath and spa which was to die for. We had a lounge setting and a private balcony which had a little table setting
The only down side was the building in progress went all day and was right next to our balcony. I will say we did get the room with a 50% discount and when checking in we had been warned of the noise .
The hammering was fine( started around 7am) just the drilling and welding was intense however that only went for 2 days thankfully.
The staff are amazing , very friendly , remember your name and take a genuine interest in your children. They always asked where you were going to and on return did you enjoy your outing.
We used the tuk tuks which are located just outside the gate ... recommend Mr Smey #5 . He speaks English quite well ,enthusiastic and reliable.
The pool was lovely and the bar staff there great. Remembered everyday what drinks we wanted and keen to have a chat and were treated like old friends.
Breakfast was lovely. Typical Asian buffets but so many choices. Salads, cooked breakfast, omelettes and eggs made to order, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, pancakes and crepes, congees and noodles made to order.Our 9 year old thought that he had died and gone to heaven.
We didn't eat at the Borei as we ventured into Pub street most nights($2 each way by tuk tuk). There were also lots of little eating places within walking distance. We also got our laundry done by a little place on the road just outside of the hotel( $1/kg washed and ironed!)They just need at least 24 hours as all clothes are dried naturally ie by the sun
We certainly would not hesitate to stay here again as we thoroughly enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room particularly until the building progress has been completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,694 - 3,700 of 5,498 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived to Siem Reap, where Lotus Resort & Spa (4*) welcome team should have picked us up. Actually they did, but without notifying us, rather than going to that hotel we were transferred to Borei Angkor (5*). Apparently, Lotus was acquired by same owners as Borei and was being revamped.
Borei proved to be an excellent change: from the reception with cold drinks and hot towels to the finest detail, all personnel were extremely guest oriented, always with a smile a willing to understand and assist you.
The room was spacious with a big bathroom (shower and hot tub), elegant and well equipped. the only issue was that it faced a construction site, so the view was not very pleasant (no noises at night). Another detail: since the hotel was full, they put us in a twin room, instead of the double bed one we had asked.
Breakfast was fantastic, with all menues you can think of. Tip: try getting a table in the galleria for a relaxing moment.
The hotel is conveniently located, but like ten blocks away from Pub Street, the heart of town (city markets, restaurants, bars, etc.). You have to move around in tuk tuk to almost everywhere, unless you are up for a 30 min walk in the hot humid Cambodian weather.
The spa is excellent and not costly, and you can book for a session with little notice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Excellent hotel. Room was spacious and modern and nicely decorated with orchids.

Staff were very service oriented and helpful, particularly the lady we spoke to every morning while we were waiting for our rides for the tours at the desk outside the hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't get her name but she has a sister who owns the Grill Restaurant. There's a wide selection of food that came with the complimentary breakfast, choices include Asian and Western complete breakfast, buffet style all you can eat and they will cook for you what you want. The set meal which was the local food that came with the complimentary dinner for one night was also excellent. Best meal we had in Siem Reap. The complimentary rides to and from the airport was greatly appreciated as well.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria1956_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The free pick up from the airport went well. To save time waiting around it does make sense to arrange your pick up before hand.
Once we arrived at the hotel the first thing we found out, was that they are building a new lobby, which means construction. It was hidden quite well though. The construction was limited to day time.
We got booked into room 338 which was above the restaurant and bar. Not only had we the base beating of the music playing in the bar but also the humming of a row of AC units. After we complained about the noise level (we had explicitly asked for a quite room) we got moved onto the 4th floor into a suit (408). The suit had a nice layout and was very spacious. It was away from the base sounds of the bar but their was a constant humming (24 hours). We never really figured out what it was exactly and where it came from. But it was annoying. All in all the hotel was not really that quite. At least all the entertainment calmed down around 9 to 10 pm.
The breakfast buffet was very extensive and good. The waiter even remembered what you drank every morning.
The hotel stuff is very friendly and speaks English. They would ask every day what your plans were and would ask upon your return how it went.
The hotel offers a great pool and gym facilities, spa and the works.
The room key system would need some upgrading. We had to visit the lobby more than once to get our keys reset since we could not open our room doors. And we were not the only ones.
What striked me as very unhygienic was when one day I came into the room while the cleaning was still in progress. The cleaning lady used a dirty hand towel from the bathroom to wipe out a used tea cup and put it back on the saucer for further use. I don't know what to say about that kind of cleaning. It makes you wonder what else they do ....
On the day we left early to catch the sunrise we encountered that the stairs/fire exit which we mostly used during the day ended in front of a locked door. Not a good thing in case of an emergency I would think. The stairs come out at the gift shop and that obviously gets locked up during the night.
The location is quite convenient. We walked to Pub street and the Markets. There also always Tuk Tuk's out front to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hang S, VP of Guest Experience at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Monika 1958,

On behalf of all of us at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you very much for your comments. I do appreciate your time and effort in letting us know your experience while staying with us, during your visit to the Angkor complex.

Apart from some incidents, I trust that you have enjoyed the warm and friendly Cambodian hospitality, and had a great time in Siem Reap.

We take good note on all points that have been raised; and I would like to share our commitment with you as below.

We are truly sorry that you have not been able to experience the best of everything that our team and the resort got to offer. We are investigating the disturbed hum that you have pointed out, because it is the very first case ever that has been brought to our attention. Our resort is surrounded and hidden with the beautiful tropical trees and gardens and is distant from the main road; yet it is convenient to walk to city town and pub street as you agreed.

It is our responsibilities to ensure that all residents are safe and secured while staying with us. For your information, we have four fire-exits within the building, and we temporary close one of them in the evening due to work under progress which we have placed the notice on the wall and on all floors. We sincerely apologize that it is not visible enough to you, and we are working to improve on that.

On top of that, we do train every single staff who join the company from day one and refresh them regularly on the hygiene subject. It is our nature of service standard to bring the awareness to our team members and to apply it at all times when comes to the hygiene issue. We don’t compromise that. However, one of our team has failed to adhere to such an important practice in that particular case. Rest assure that we will do everything we could to raise the hygiene standard, and trust that our residents will never ever experience a poor hygiene standard.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to be at your service while visiting the Kingdom; and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort, especially after the opening of the renovated lobby, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Being a world traveler I've been lucky enough to experience many great resorts, and many bad ones too :) Borei Angkor Resort does not disappoint. The service could be compared to what you would get at the Ritz, but the price is what you'd pay for a Holiday Inn. If you provide your flight information, they'll pick you up free of charge and upon arrival you'll be greeted with drinks and dessert. The room was also very spacious, included free wifi and a 40 inch flat screen.

The pool was also quite nice and you're only a 5min Tuk Tuk ride from Pub Street!


If you're coming to Cambodia to tour the Angkor temples,I would highly suggest staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ_5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Our stay at Borei Angkor was the highlight of our trip. The staff were fantastic especially Leang Se whose service was amazing. We certainly felt special everyday with the many small acts of kindness shown to us by all members of staff. The friendly greetings, the smiles and the offers of assistance added an extra something to the experience. Renovations at the resort had no impact on the service delivery at the hotel. The room was clean spacious and well appointed. The food and beverage at the hotel although more expensive than Pub street were good value for the quality and level of service. We loved our stay and will recommend the resort to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiHoAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Want to give a shout out to the wonderful staff at Borei Angkor, especially Judy, Soriya, and Dany at the hospitality desk, their genuine smiles and assistance much appreciated and made our trip to Siem Reap so wonderful!

We stayed in a deluxe room, quite spacious and very clean. The pool is beautifully laid out and offered great reprieve from sight seeing. Not in the center of the city, but still only five minutes by tuk tuk, not far at all.

Room Tip: Deluxe facing pool better as currently renovation on main lobby in the front. Not at all noisy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewToSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#83 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#26 of 385 in Siem Reap
3,873 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#37 of 385 in Siem Reap
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 | Banteay Chas, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £31 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is the one and only most reviewed hotel in Siem Reap Cambodia given by thousands of travelers' reviews on TripAdvisor making Borei Angkor the most popular and chosen hotel to stay in Siem Reap while visiting the UNESCO world heritage site of Angkor Wat. Aptly named after 'a territory of Angkor', Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, a truly Cambodia 5 star hotel in Siem Reap is set right in the center of Siem Reap, ideally situated within 15 minutes drive either from Siem Reap International Airport or to Angkor Wat, and only 5 minutes drive to Siem Reap downtown including Pub Street, shopping malls, Angkor Night Market, local restaurants and bars, and other nearby local attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing