We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #42 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hotel that has seen better days”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I usually look through Tripadvisor for comments leading to me choosing the hotel, and so far I have not been "surprised". However perhaps because of the glowing reviews of this hotel, I was sorely disappointed. The hotel is has seen better days. I would rate it 3 star.

The staff are nice but this is to be expected in most asian countries.

We had free transfer to and fro hotel and complimentary spa massage. I paid for a hot coconut hair treatment and a body scrub. Medicocre for a resort and SPA hotel. My "masseur" was an odd girl that obviously does not know how to do massage and to top it off, asked/pleaded with me for tip. Its really quite disturbing and sad as at Angkor itself, there were so many children and young kids going around begging for money in exchange for trinkets, etc. I certainly didn't thk it extends to a hotel.

The bathtub in my room had obvious stains, the lights were very dim for the whole room (perhaps this is usual), the sink's stopper doesn't work. The 2nd day we were there, when we came back to the hotel, we found a key card in our room, left there inserted in the box. No one came to claim the card.

The breakfast was good but it was the same exact spread for the three mornings that we were there.

The "business" centre is the worse business centre I have seen in a resort and spa. But they give free internet, so i am appreciative of it.

In gist, just don't expect too much from this hotel and you will be fine. The location is good and for what we paid (US95 (tax incld.)per nite), it was alright. And, don't pay for the spa treatments, its not worth it.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank denimautum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,969
    862
    138
    29
    23
See reviews for
1,035
2,034
339
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This place deserves to slip further down the rankings. We were surprised given the excellent reviews. It is a large property oriented to lare ge groups and doesn't provide service or value based on the price. We were shown to our room, which turned out to be a dingy wood-panelled room with twin beds, not the deluxe king we expected. We were, to give the hotel credit, given a nicer room with a king bed the next day. the room was a big improvement except for some of the fixtures, like the toilet, which had clearly seen better days. The food, when it finally arrived, was betterhan we expected. Trying to get a basic level of service was difficult, for example having to request napkins, coffee spoons at breakfast. It was also very very slow. the internet goes does down frequently for hours at a time and the hotel seems to be unaware. There is a service culture of smiling indifference/incompetence coupled with selective enthusiasm.

The pool area and spa are nice. to sit in after a long day walking around temples.

while we were there there was the new year''s eve celebration. We were told it was compulsory and everyone had to attend. we went with the flow although this wasn't mentioned when we made our booking and was $65 per person, so we expected alot. The drinks and entertainment before dinner were truly feeble. then, when it came to dinner, it turned out they had forgotten to include us and it was now too late to change the seating arrangements. We were surprised, but on balance pleased to be able to go somewhere else.

There must be better options in Siem Reap

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during December with our young daughter. We were very impressed with the quality of the hotel and the friendliness of all the staff. Rooms were large, clean and well decorated. The bathroom was large with a claw foot bathtub and separate rain shower. The hotel was lovely and quiet and had all the extras such as drink and cold towel on arrival. The breakfast buffet was superb and had a great selection of food and drinks. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and the food was fantastic and inexpensive. There is a large pool which is great to cool off during the day after touring the hot and dusty temples and for the kids to have a splash after tagging along all day. This hotel truly is a 4 star hotel. It is central to all places of interest and easy to hire a moto from in front of the hotel to the restaurants and markets for $2. We hired and English speaking guide for three days to tour the temples. $25 for guide and $25 for the car. Highly recommend this as you get so much more out of the visit to the sights. Although moto's are cheaper to get around, Cambodia is extremely dusty and we were very grateful to be inside a car when we saw tourists having to shield their faces with scarves. Loved this hotel. Loved the people. Loved Cambodia. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touralot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dxb
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Good location, beautiful ambience , big sized rooms, cheerful staff , good spread for breakfast. This is quite a VFM hotel. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed for six nights over Christmas in December 2009 in a Landmark room and were welcomed by friendly and most helpful staff. All over the hotel there is this lovely smell since scented candles/oil are used in the public spaces.

Our room and bathroom were both clean and spacious. Each night it has been a pleasure to get back to after we had been in the heat and dust.

For breakfast one can choose from a delicious variety of food (asian style breakfast, juice, muesli, joghurt, croissants, cake, eggs, pancakes, waffles, baked beans, coffee, tea, milk etc). Lovely touch is that a musician plays on a Wooden Xylophone in the breakfast restaurant.

On Christmas Eve there were cocktail’s, a dance/music performance and a Christmas buffet. Food was not outstanding though (huge choice of everything but lack of vegetarian options). The area was decorated very festive and romantic. The hotel staff put in such a big effort, they really made up for the lack of good food. We can only thank the hotel staff for a very nice Christmas Eve.

Borei Angkor has got a pretty Spa where we had some relaxing treatments (on the menu are facials, massages, body wraps).

The pool is big enough to have a swim. From the bar you can get drinks and snacks.

From Borei Angkor it takes five minutes by tuk tuk to the Old Market, and aprox 15-20 minutes to the Angkor Wat area.

Borei Angkor is one of those big hotels, I grant, but a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed in the Landmark room. The place wasn't perfect but we thought this was a solid three-star hotel with excellent value. We had a room overlooking the pool with a deck. The pool is big and very nice. Bed was adequate, bathroom was big and clean with plenty of hot (very hot) water. A large, freestanding tub wasn't used but added a nice touch. The breakfast was good (better than lunch) and the service was top notch. This staff tries very hard and it feels like a nicer hotel than the price would indicate.

Our room included a free massage. It was a terrible treatment but the staff but so much effort into it. I don't think I'd go here for the spa nor the food...

We were in Siem Reap mainly to see the main attraction (Angkor Wat) and thought Borei was a good, affordable launch pad to see the sites. We'd return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Booked through Airasia (Goholidays). Airport pickup was arranged free even though it was not mentioned in the package. Very friendly & Courteous staff. Most spoke English. Large airy lobby, good ambience. Rooms were decent, quite spacious, equipped with all amenities. Did not have to adjust the AC, it was just right. Quite a good spread for breakfast

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#19 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#12 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: National Road 6 | Banteay Chas, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is the one and only most reviewed hotel in Siem Reap Cambodia given by more than 4,200 travelers reviews on TripAdvisor making Borei Angkor the most popular and chosen hotel to stay in Siem Reap while visiting the UNESCO world heritage site of Angkor Wat. Aptly named after 'a territory of Angkor', Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, a truly Cambodia 5 star hotel is set right in the center of Siem Reap, ideally situated within 15 minutes drive either from Siem Reap International Airport or to Angkor Wat, and only 5 minutes drive to Siem Reap downtown including Pub Street, shopping malls, Angkor Night Market, local restaurants and bars, and other nearby local attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing