We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Humble; heavenly”
Review of The Hive

The Hive
Ranked #44 of 877 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Known for its superb coffee and a distinctly inner city vibe, the Hive is a bustling social hub for expats and tourists alike. Since its conception in 2013, this Australian owned, locally managed cafe has cemented itself as Siem Reap favourite. If you're a coffee lover, a brunch goer, a juice detoxer, or simply looking for a touch of home, the Hive awaits.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Humble; heavenly”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Hive is a fantastic cafe serving good coffee and great food. A hop, skip and a jump from the centre of town, it has a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are super friendly. I promise you will be back, especially for the kotu rotti.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chookalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    82
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SAVORY MUFFINS!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I ordered it with two poached eggs and an espresso and it is now my favorite breakfast in town. That is all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great food, great company! ”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere, staff are great with a good selection of coffee's, juices and food... Great place to unwind away from the busy streets.

Helpful?
Thank Maroonie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It's really cool place for both tourists and locals. I came across the cafe and decided to go for a brunch. The coffee is incredible. I also had a delicious light meal. Feel relaxing and fresh. The service is good and friendly. Beyond my expectation.
You should go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickytruong70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cafe with a conscious and awesome coffee!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hive is one of those special places I just keep going back to. The staff and owners are so warm and friendly its always a pleasure to eat there.

They serve Lavazza coffee and in my opinion have the best coffee in town. Must try dishes are the breakfast burrito, kotu roti and of course the carrot cake for dessert (if you have room, their portions are huge)

The thing I like the most about this place is that they employ students from the Shinta Mani foundation and treat their staff more like family than employees. This is what gives The Hive such a nice vibe.

My only complaint is that its only open 6 days a week so I have to drink sub standard coffee every Tuesday when they close :(

Keep up the good work guys!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuddha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hive also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing