We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Coffee and Western food in Town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hive Siem Reap

The Hive Siem Reap
Ranked #6 of 34 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2013, this Australian owned and run cafe has cemented itself as one of the most popular coffee shops in Siem Reap. The Hive has fast become a social hub for expats and tourists alike, known for superb coffee, breakfast, lunch, home-baked goods and specialty juices. Boasting locally roasted specialty coffee, experienced baristas, chefs, and bakers as well as a chic interior, The Hive has a distinctly inner city vibe. If you're a coffee lover, a brunch goer, a juice detoxer, or just looking for a touch of home The Hive awaits. Open 7am - 6pm. Closed Tuesdays. Open 7am - 6pm. Closed Tuesdays.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
“Best Coffee and Western food in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Food is excellent, staff are very friendly and helpful. I go to the Hive 3 or 4 times a week! Just love the food and coffee very much. Plus sometimes I get to meet the owners' Clayton and Abbie for a little chat. They are very funny and easy going!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Puthearo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    75
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My favourite place in Siem Reap- the best coffee! and consistently good expat food! I think the fact that I visited this place multiple times speaks for itself. Clayton and Abbie are both Friendly and helpful in providing a great experience for their customers!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Best Coffee of My Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Being a coffee hunter, I spent a lot of time looking for cafes on my trip around South East Asia and this was by far the best cafe I visited. The double shot flat white I ordered was spot - so good I ordered another to go with my brunch.
I had the Rough Morning Cure. It was a delicious combination of potato, bacon, and cherry tomato fried in tabasco and topped with fried eggs. It was a good choice and would have loved to have been able to go back an have it again.
The cafe is just out of town, a nice walk along the river from the guest house I was staying. It had a big-city-cafe feel with modern decor and an edgy design. I had a quick chat to one of the Australian owners who was very friendly and seemed happy to answer my touristy questions. The cambodian staff were also really friendly and seemed to have a solid knowledge of the coffee they were making.
All in all this cafe was great and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great coffee.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice modern cafe, big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stumbled across The Hive, which is in a nice and seemingly up and coming neighborhood with cafes and guesthouses. It was pretty quiet on a weekday afternoon. Seems to be a hangout place for expats. The juice I ordered was really big and fresh. I also ordered a vegetable panini which was enormous and filled with all sorts of grilled vegetables. It was really delicious and affordable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mollyma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“For the Café enthusiast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Hive is a wonderful establishment just outside the hustle and hustle of the Old Market. Delicious food, legitimate coffee, fruit juices and shakes make the menu a sight for sore eyes if healthier options and good coffee are something you seek.

In addition to the food and drink, the clean and modern space with air-conditioning makes The Hive a great escape on a hot afternoon.

Last, but certainly not least the music at the cafe is meticulously hand selected by the owner to create that hard to find cafe atmosphere that fosters reading a book, chatting with friends, holding business meetings or just a place to escape the Cambodian heat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zham54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hive Siem Reap also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Hive Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing