We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wat Preah Prom Rath”

Wat Preah Prom Rath
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.75*
and up
Private Tour: Buddhist Blessing Ceremony and Pagoda Tour from Siem Riep
Ranked #74 of 179 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wat Preah Prom Rath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a peaceful retreat nestled amongst the hustle an bustle of the city. It is well maintained and free. Don't forget to cover your shoulders and knees out of respect for the monks that live and work there. Also, if you find led to do so, a small donation would be thoughtful so as to keep this attraction free of cost.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmorgan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Very pretty place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Wat Preah Prom Rath is located on the river side close to the Old Markets. There are beautiful colorful buildings, gardens and modern style statues. You can see a lot of money has been spent in here.

It is a very pretty and peaceful place with bench seats around the grounds to sit and admire the gardens and statues. So that was our last morning spent with Marom Hem, he took us to places we would never have know about if we were not with him.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We discovered this beautiful pagoda whilst taking a walk along the river. Although you can walk past thinking this is just another wat, it's actually over 500 years old. It has a very serene and & contemplative garden together with several stupas, and a wider than usual collection of icons. There are hamzas on top of flagpoles, and a beautiful sculpture of a barge, which we'd not come across in any of the other wats we'd visited previously. There were monks around to answer questions, but you can also walk around and quietly appreciate the beauty of this wat undisturbed, as we did.

It's a lovely place to go to relax, away from the constant stream of "tuk tuk, sir?". We're very glad we found this gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGreenstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“an amazing, quiet pagoda near River Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Was walking along the River central when we accidentally saw the gates of Preah Prom Rath Pagoda. Out of curiousity, we went inside and was immediately fascinated with the amazing structures inside. WOW! The garden, the sculptures, everything. I dont know how to explain it but it seems like I was transported to a different place and time. Its magical here. A great, peaceful place to sit and reflect about life and one's spirituality. I felt kindness and serenity here.


Very much worthy of a visit. Its very near the Old Market area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
258 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A peaceful, authentic Cambodian experience in the heart of Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Around the corner from the Steung Siem Reap hotel, this temple is a peaceful and authentic oasis of Buddhism in the tourist-happy Siem Reap. Entering through the main gate, you will be in an interesting and pretty garden area, complete with many stupas (similar to our cemeteries). The public is invited to visit and there is a nice paper outlining how to do so respectfully at the entrance. I highly recommend attending when the monks are chanting. There are morning and evening times--we visited at 5:00 pm. The acoustics of the temple combined with the voices made it a magical experience and a truly Cambodian encounter. The chanting lasts about 30 minutes.

Easy to find near the Old Market area and definitely worth a stop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Preah Prom Rath also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Wat Preah Prom Rath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing