We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, old hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neak Pean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neak Pean Hotel
Ranked #298 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced, old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Old hotel, with dated rooms. Pool is very old and not clean.

As others said, if you book online is cheaper ( unusual for South East Asia).

Asked the manager if extra nights could be the same price as booked on agoda.com and he said : "NO".

So instead of having us staying at lower rate, we moved to another place much nicer and same price (288 Boutique Villa, brand new hotel with lovely clean pool)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
27
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was a good hotel over all. A bit over priced and when I checked the internet price the second day, I saw that it was about 10$ lower. The poolside area is quite nice and relaxing. The staff was courteous and helpful for the most part. The walls are a bit thin as I had some neighbors that were loud fairly late. The breakfast so not to good, but the rest of the menu well very well done. It was nice to have a bathtub after living in Asia for a year without one, and there was plenty of hot water and water pressure was good.
One drawback one the first day: Young kid working in the bar was hitting me up to buy him a soda . I felt like I was getting hustled by yet another street kid. Make me very uncomfortable when I was trying to relax. One the bonus side, it looked like an adult laid into the kid after about 20 mins. I didnt see the youngster working in the bar again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubacindy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The best aspect of the hotel was the pool and garden. The garden was a nice place to enjoy the reasonably extensive buffet breakfast, and later in the day in was great to swim in the pool and chill out on the loungers. Our room was ok but a bit dark as it was wood-panneled and the window faced onto the next door hotel. Staff didn't speak much English but were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdavehobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
274 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We ended up here by accident after another hotel did not have our booming when we arrived.
The rooms are a good size , big bathrooms and ours also had a balcony.
Pool and facilities were really good as well.
Well located to go anywhere and plenty of places to eat nearby.

Downsides were the breakfast was very average even down to one day we were there early and the coffee was stone cold and looked like it was leftover from the day before. There are also lots of mosquitos around but we brought flyspray and this cleared them from our room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Neak Pean is in a great location near Pub St but is tucked back just enough to be peaceful and quiet. It has been built in the traditional Cambodian style with wood panelling and nice gardens surrounding the rooms. The pool is large and clean and a blessing after touring the temples in the heat of the day. We stayed at the sister hotel in Phnom Penh(Khmeroyal) so got a discount for both rooms and bus trip and transfers were also organised for us which was a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budaors, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

the hotel is centrally located rather close to the center's of Siem Reap and night markets.We've had a very nice large room.True to its name all made ​​of wood.The rooms have balconies with big chairs..Everything was very clean,the staff was very helpful. .The spacious interior was very pleasant clean swimming pool with many greens and beautiful palm tree.The breakfast was not very diverse, but made ​​a selection of fried-boiled eggs.I would have stayed even longer :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Neak Pean has nice and helpful staff and is great value for money. The wood panelling throughout is overwhelming but a testament to the craftsmanship required to put it together, full of old world charm. Great landscaping and a large pool to cool off in at the end of a long day touring. Breakfast is of limited choice but good none the less. Only problem, and it is common in Cambodia is water pressure particularly the hot water.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siem Reap
0.1 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.0 mi away
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
#114 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Siem Reap Riverside
Siem Reap Riverside
#161 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#132 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desire Park Boutique
Desire Park Boutique
#218 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#126 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neak Pean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neak Pean Hotel

Property: Neak Pean Hotel
Address: 105 Tapul Rd., Sivutha Bvld | Old market, Phsar chas area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neak Pean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neak Pean Hotel, is well-kwnon VIP 50 wood rooms bengkulu own by ex-governor of Siem Reap province, just 15 minutes from Siem Reap Angkor International Airport and the same block of the old market area (Psar Chas) and 5 minutes from the major local shopping enthusiasts, restaurants, entertainment and more. Also, just 10 minutes from spectacular Angkor Archaeological sights, to adventurous enthusiasts of Khmer cultural history. The most tourist attractions like the all-time favorite Theme Park - Cambodian Cultural Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Neak Pean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing