We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, charming, boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinta Mani Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shinta Mani Club
Ranked #6 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful, charming, boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

We stayed at Shinta Mani for 5 days in late October. The renovations had been complete by the time we arrived.

We had a deluxe room with a "living space" in the upstairs with a window that overlooked part of the pool (#18). The room was well appointed, very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was very nice (an important factor for me!) and the room was extremely clean. The room was so large, we didn't really use the living area (which is fairly small). It might work well if you are traveling with a teenager as it does have a TV in it, as does the main part of the bedroom.

We plan to go back, but on the next trip I think I would prefer one of the pool rooms, which are slightly smaller, as they do not have the "living space" They do however have a lovely patio next to the pool.

The pool is smaller but in our mind it was absolutely perfect. The temp. was perfect, the tranquil waterfall structure at the end of the pool provided great ambiance and the servce at the pool was wonderful.
We were pleased to not have a crowded pool scene. We truly enjoyed hanging out and reading, relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine around the pool. For the most part, this was a very tranquil and relaxing space.

We participated in the community outreach program, donating a house for a family of six, a water well, a set of piglets and shoes for a school. The poverty out in the villages is extreme. Having traveled through South America, Latin America and much of Asia, I think Laos and Cambodia have had the greatest degree of poverty that we've experienced. The director of the community outreach program, Cielo, speaks excellant English and is an absolute delight. She and two other
staff members took us out to the village, down the dirt, dusty, rutted
roads. The house we donated was complete by the time we arrived so we were able to see the house as well as the well and deliver the piglets
ourselves. A truly amazing experience not to be missed.

Our purposes for staying at this hotel was due ot its community outreach program. Participation in the program and our stay at this hotel were one of the major highlights of our trip. Use some of your vacation funds to give back to the people who reside in this part of the world.

We did indulge in the spa several times, even though it is more expensive than the other massage places around the town (about $30 for
a one hour full body massage and $20 for a one hour foot massage compared to about $5 to $7 for those in the "local places" around town). The spa is incredible. I tried to justify the cost by thinking that the hotel's mission is so positive and my spa experience was supporting the mission!

The only problem we had with the spa is that a family with a 3 year old was at the pool and the child was crying and screaming a lot. The spa rooms are pool side so this can be a bit disturbing. This was the only young child we saw during our 5 day stay at the hotel. The pool is not geared to children, as it is more of the "sanctuary" advertised
by Shinta Mani, with spa rooms surrounding the pool. (There were several very respectful and delightful teenagers/young adults traveling with parents). The spa services did surpass the other full body massages and foot massages we had elsewhere (except for the Raffles in Phnom Penh, which was on par with Shinta Mani).

The restaurant is good, but I think a bit high priced for the area. You can find wonderful restaurants all through the town so I'd experiment with some other options. The breakfast buffet is small but they made eggs and noodle soup, both which were good, had fruit, baked goods and bacon/pancakes etc.

The staff is wonderful. They are attentive and try very hard to please. The women who were primarily at the front desk during our stay
were always ready with a cold towel when we returned, a warm smile and
lovely conversation.

The hotel has a quaint, lovely, environment, that demonstrates the warmth and kindness the owners and employees of this hotel share with their guests and the spirit of giving they provide to the villagers outside of Siem Reap. If you just stay in Siem Reap and around the temples you will not really witness the significant level of poverty in which the rest of this country resides (although there is certainly
poverty in Seim Reap and near the temples, the outside villages are an entirely different level).

I would definitely recommend this 18 room boutique hotel if you are looking for a life changing experience, with a warm, caring staff. The hotel is becoming popular and we heard from other travelers it is becoming more difficult to obtain reservations. I hope with its rising popularity it will continue to dedicate itself to its mission of goodwill and retain its delightful charm.

  • Liked — The staff, the lovely room, the spa and the pool
  • Disliked — Noise from child at the pool while having spa treatment, which is pool side
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,634
    194
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
462
1,377
140
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

This is a great find in an area where hotels are opening up so fast the tourist books cannot keep up. The hotel is comfortable and the food is great, especially breakfast (try the Eggs Benedict- it's not very Cambodian but you will have plenty of other opportunities to eat local). The staff is respectful (they bow every time you pass) and the rooms are spotless and the beds are the most comfortable ones we had during a month in Asia. Location is also good - an easy walk to town.

This hotel is actively involved in its community and employees and trains people who need skills. Stay there - you will enjoy it and feel good about where the money is going.

  • Liked — the comfy beds
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drossbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at the hotel with our two children, a 2 1/2 yr old and a 4 mo old. The staff were amazing with trying to meet all of our needs from finding high chairs to making special meals for my son. Everyone was extremely friendly and wanted to get to know the kids as well as us as a way to make our stay more relaxing. I tried the spa and found the treatments above average but the head and shoulder massge was fantastic! We did have some difficulty with mosquitos in our room even though we plugged in the mosquito device and put spray on the kids. I would have liked to have seen more fogging to combat the problem. Overall the staff was nice, the room comfortable, and the money went to a worthy cause which is the whole reason we stayed there. It felt great knowing that the money was going back into the community, not into some outsiders pocket. It's worth the money!

  • Liked — The friendly and accommodating staff
  • Disliked — The mosquitos
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeAllens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

I stayed at Shinta Mani for 4 nights in November on my first visit to Siem Reap. I didn't want to stay in one of the enormous international hotels now springing up in Siem Reap - I wanted a smaller, boutique hotel-type experience and this is exactly what I got. Beautifully decorated yet unpretentious rooms with great air conditioning and super-comfy beds combined with charming staff, a small but perfect pool and a nice bar area for a perfect stay. Make sure that you enquire about the school where they are training young people to build careers in the hotel industry - it is a visit well worth experiencing.
If you get a chance whilst in Siem Reap you could also make a donation at the Kantha Bopha blood bank at the local hospital - leave behind something of real and lasting value.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KanthaBopha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

From the beautifully decorated and well appointed rooms to the warm and friendly service, the Shinta Mani is by far the best hotel I have experienced in all my travels. The massage and spa is top quality and worth every penny. My partner and I stayed for 3 nights. We had a wonderfully relaxing time and thoroughly enjoyed the pampering we were so expertly provided with. The cold towels after a day out in the heat was one of those little touches that made such a difference. We certainly did not feel like a number to the hotel staff, but guests.

The hotel is centrally located to the market areas (walking distance - 10 mins) and great little restaurants. We ate at the hotel where they served great food, but also tried the other places around. The hotel was the perfect springboard to the temples. We had a hotel arranged tuk tuk driver who was very professional and friendly! We had a great trip getting around to look pretty much all the big temples and saw the sunrise too! Absolutely exhilarating to speed along in the chilled pre-dawn air!

We participated in the hotel's community program, donating a water well to a family in need. The hotel made every effort to have it ready in time for my visit, and the trip out to the village was life changing. To see the difference my little donation made just compelled me to want to help further. The busy management even took time out to discuss ideas I had for possible improvements to the programs. I was touched by their dedication, not just to running the hospitality school, but their genuine efforts to make a difference to the living conditions of the villages around them. Seeing how nervous these students were on "Student Night", and how eager they were to do well reaffirmed my decision to stay at the Shinta Mani despite knowing they were undergoing renovations.

I can't stress enough how great you'll feel, not just physically but emotionally and psychologically, when you stay at the Shinta Mani and participate in their community program. I can't wait to get back and help out more when I next have the opportunity! Make YOUR difference now!

  • Liked — The ambience and community and hospitality school program.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Team_Mesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dordogne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

Siem Reap is exploding with new hotels and it's hard to tell one from the other. But the Shinta Mani is a boutique hotel with a difference. Just 18 rooms with a superb restaurant, staff and service. We were more than happy with our experience and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are looking for a family atmosphere together with grand hotel luxury. A hotel school is attached to the Shinta Mani and so your stay makes a direct financial contribution to the training of young cambodians which is also nice to know.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmlacheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay. The room was not ready when we arrived at 11am and we could not gain access until 12.45pm (check out time is noon). No worries because the pool area is very tranquil and the pool menu adequate. The rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated. Breakfast was adequate but make sure you have a better take away breakfast than we did if you go to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat - ours was appalling and the hotel apologised. Internet is free but slow. A very nice first floor lounge area. Good location with plenty of tuc tuc's available.

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — Breakfast Choice and take away offer
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#12 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Club

Property: Shinta Mani Club
Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Siem Reap is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiriration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat.Shinta Mani, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Shinta Mani Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing