We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just To sleep as this boutique hotel is bad designes . One family with children in the swimming pool made lífe of 12 rooms impos”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #11 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Just To sleep as this boutique hotel is bad designes . One family with children in the swimming pool made lífe of 12 rooms impos”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Very young and unprepared staff . Last day after check out we had a drink ay the bar and They were tracking us thinking we were going To Pay !!!! They just Want your money and forget about local hospitality . Lets wait for. A couple of years and we Will see if this hotel becomes a iconic place ....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b0nstanislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,735
    201
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
477
1,447
144
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cancelled the remainder of my trip around Cambodia on the merits of this absolutely stunning hotel. It is the refuge in this little bustling and soon to be booming town of Siem Reap. The staff are adorable and front of house are the best I have experienced since being in Cambodia. The efforts of every facet of this facility are flawless from the spa through to the restaurant and the finishings are akin to that of the renoun Ku De Ta in Seminyak Bali. The exquisite lap pool as the centre feature of this small 30 room hotel give it that exceptional communal feel and you will swap stories and make new friends as you pass by on your daily runs to the temples or in to town for a shop. Even though the Shinta Mani Spa may not be competitive in price to that of others in town it makes up in quality and finishings. There is nothing else around like it and happily pay the price for the exemplary treatment. Comparatively this hotel is affordable as the same level of quality and service will cost much much more in the other well trodden parts of the world. I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe garden room if your are traveling as a couple or solo. The pool at your door is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanemmerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Shinta Mani is hands-down amazing. We stayed there for two nights in July, during the hotel's soft launch following renovations. The people could not have been more accommodating and the facilities were flawless with a very cool design. Shinta Mani also gives back to the community in a big way by training locals for jobs in the hospitality business.

The Shinta Mani's design is what really sets it apart. The rooms and facilities have a really cool, modern design that incorporates in a lot of Cambodian elements. Check out the pictures on the hotel's website. The rooms had very comfortable beds, plenty of space, and great amenities. And everything is perfectly clean and brand new. The restaurant's food was delicious, and you can eat dinner while seated on an awesome hanging bed-table. Even the dinnerware had a trendy look to it. The spa was perfect - a great place to relax after checking out temples in the insane heat. The pool has a waterfall and a great bar area where you can relax in the shade.

The people at Shinta Mani were unbelievably nice as well, helping us with everything we needed for seeing the temples as well as getting to/from the airport. Everyone was constantly smiling and proactively checking to make sure we had everything we needed.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tagehowerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We paid around USD 1,000.- for 3 nights accomodating 3 adults and 3 kids in two rooms (Superior and Superior Living, the latter allowing for the extra bed to be in the "entrance hall" of the room rather than next to the main bed and therefore much more comfortable in a three people configuration)
I had loved the Hotel de la Paix two years ago and came to Shinta Mani with some pretty high expectations. Both hotels are very different so this is not the thing to do. Shinta Mani is more or less a Boutique Hotel, which presents drawbacks and advantages.

The place is beautiful with unusual volumes and a lot of open space (the entrance has no door, the walls are wide open without windows, the restaurant terrace is open on the street) which gives a very special feeling of circulating air but allows for insects to come around as well, although to a limited extent thanks to sprays and scented candles.
The swimming pool and its surroundings are really nice, however, the pool's width is limited so it can feel rather small if several guests use it at the same time.
The major surprise I had was to hear voices and banging doors early in the morning once : the room doors are not sound proof which I reckon is the major default of the place (although most people do not sleep as close to the door as I did because I was in the extra bed - remember we had the kids and were sharing the rooms with 3 persons in each).
Another feature that may deter some is the bathroom : very nice design but not very large and without a bathtub (I love showers though and this one is one of the best I experienced - comparable to the Hyatt in Hamburg). There was no toothbrush but I think they provide it upon request - I did not request one because I prefer mine.

Service was almost perfect : We had an issue with the room access cards that could not be solved on the first evening (late after dinner) but from the next morning on, this was forgotten. At all times, the staff have been smiling, discreet and truly caring about making our stay an enjoyable experience.
One feature I particularly liked was the breakfast : rather than a large buffet, this is served from a small list of Western and Asian dishes, all of them very good. Special note to the pastries, which I would rate as one of the best in Asia along with Robuchon in Hong Kong; the expresso was also unusually good for Asia. Breakfast was also an opportunity for the staff to show their professionalism : although there were no 6 seat tables on the outdoor terrace in the standard setting, the setting was changed for us upon request in the first two mornings and already prepared before we came down in the third, once it was clear that we enjoyed it.

On top of all this, the hotel location is great : on a non-busy and quiet street at walking distance (1km?) from the city center - not as close as the Hotel de la Paix but still very convenient. There is one section on the street pavement that can be muddy and dark at night but you need to keep in mind you are in Siem Reap : if you need to keep your court shoes spotless, catch a Tuk Tuk!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I recently stayed at Shita Mani in Siem Reap, what a treat. It is a relatively new hotel and is deluxe boutique accommodation at a very affordable price. Everything about the place was superb, the rooms are very tastefully appointed with awesome facilities, the restaurant was a treat, I loved the location, walking distance to all the towns action. Of course the most important aspect of any hotel is the service and this was faultless. This modern, chic and groovy hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woodsmen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the new Shinta Mani for three nights in August 2012 to check out their new design. Initially I wanted to stay at the Hotel de la Paix, but as it is under renovation until March 2012 (it will be reopened as a Park Hyatt, looking forward to that!) I followed the recommendation on their website and booked the Shinta Mani for three nights. As I was in Siem Reap for almost two weeks already I sneaked by the Shinta Mani beforehand to check out the rooms and to make sure I get a good one. On my checkin several days later the receptionist (same guy I made the reservation with and checked the rooms beore) failed to give me the room we agreed on. Besides that it took five (!!!) hours until I finally could open my suitcase inside a room. The problem was unsufficent Wifi coverage and some complicated technical problems with their IT-system. After trying out five different rooms I finally landed in one the closest to the Wifi sender. Yay. Anyway their IT-guy was helpful and cooperative. The receptionist not. At any other hotel of that class a guest who has to go through that kind if painful room finding and waiting procedure would have been offered at least a drink ... no so at the SM. I tried to take it easy and have understanding since the hotel renovation has just been completed and some little problems at the beginning are normal. Anyway this does not excuse the poor service.

The rooms (I saw a lot, so I can tell ;)) are very well designed and have a clever layout. Unfortunately the visual quality of he rooms does not match with the views. Better keep the curtains closed.

Location is nothing special but convenient. If you mind noise from people playing volleyball or from the all evening public aerobic class right in front of your window than this place might not be your first choice.

Breakfast is ok, but becomes a little boring after two days.

As other reviewers mentioned: The service need some more training...

Conclusion: For a design hotel what asks for more than 200$ a room the Shinta Mani leaves too much room for improvements. And again: The views are not nice there. If you are looking for a lush Cambodian feeling you are better off to book other places. Before I stayed at the SM I stayed nine nights at the Sofitel - certainly not so fancy in style - but with beautiful rooms and wonderful views into the lush gardens and lakes.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CYTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed three nights with our 3 teenagers and it was a delight! The staff is always smily, available and can organise ttrips, visits with guides very quickly. Bedrooms are of a very good size and the refurbishement of the hotel is a pleasure for the eyes as well as your comfort. Bathrooms are very big, with only showers, and maybe not always enough room to put all your stuff. Beds are kingsize, mattresses are very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent, however, the service might be a bit long... But sill always with a smile and a great wilingness to do well.

The children enjoyed the swiming pools, and fruit cocktails are at a very reasonable price.

We did not use the spa as massages at the hotel acroos the street were 30% cheaper (and in addition at 4 for the price of 3 !!).

Wifi is available for free in the hotel.

All in all a great stay for the whole family

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBparisParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#10 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 353 in Siem Reap
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#18 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Property: Shinta Mani Angkor
Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing