We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Package is Excellent Value”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #15 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked the Discovery Package at the Club with Deluxe Rooms and found it to be amazing value. This hotel understands how to treat its guests well and no hidden extras to annoy you :)

- Good variety for breakfast with the usual lovely fresh juices, fruit and pastries...I only discovered their mini donuts on the last day and they were freakin soooo delish. Better than their pancakes and waffles. Cooked food on demand was also great quality and unlimited which meant you could enjoy your eggs and try a local breakfast dish at the same time.

- The hotel offers a sampling of pastries, coffee and tea from as early as 430am for those who are doing the sunrise tours/Angkor visits. This is such a great value add and really made a difference for us, as we could get something in our tummys, enjoy our sightseeing and still come back to a full breakfast at the hotel afterwards. Total perfection.

- Service was impeccable, very friendly staff and always doing their best to accommodate our needs. Must give a mention to Mr Paul Ung who's the Guest Relations Mgr and being able to speak Mandarin to my parents really made a difference to their stay. He really looked after us and made us feel at home.

- Quality of food was excellent throughout, excellent effort on the dinner Tasting Menu of Kroya with such great presentation. I guess it's a little on the pricey side but we had ours thrown into the Discovery Package so that was value for us. Only thing we noted would be that the food served at the Resort side for lunch - had rather tiny portions which meant having to order more food and making it our most expensive meal in our trip. Maybe they cld consider upping the portions.

- There are no lifts in this hotel and unfortunately this was a tough one for my parents who are 70 years old. Three flights of stairs to the top each time was exhausting for them. Also for our room (218) we were facing a field with the locals playing volleyball thru-out the day - lotsa cheering and rowdy noise, basically making it hard to nap or rest after returning from a very early morning Temple tour. I'd suggest asking for the Room 213 - that side doesn't face the field.

- Final note was sadly the amount of mosquitoes around, despite the hotel's efforts to fog. I guess it's hard for them to control this aspect, but we had mozzies in our room and I was bitten and woken up every night which was a bit miserable considering having to wake up early to sightsee. Wld be great if they cld address the amount of insects overall around the property.

Overall as my husband is an architect, we had high expectations for a Bill Bensley designed hotel and this was nearly there, but perhaps fell a tiny bit short in the luxury boutique category. Serving instant Nescafe sachets in your room is a little 3 star rather than 5 star hehe! Spa/Massage was nice but you'll notice the lack of ambience in the spa room itself. It was the little things that still leave room for improvement, but the service was definitely there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
There are newer reviews for Shinta Mani Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We did this as part of a tour so I have no idea on the value. However, the service, rooms, food and ambience were all superb. This place works equally well for families as for couples. The pool is massive and well kept. The room are spacious and clean. They're a little 'pimp my room' (whole walls are black-mirrored) but overall very nice. The food caters for the western / eastern clientele very adeptly - there are options for all and the servings are generous. The hotel is in two sections - the main hotel and 'the club', which is over the road. Room tabs work either side of the road and a trip to the swinging beds (not a euphemism - you sit on beds, suspended by chains) over there is well worth it. The team are very helpful and staying here is a real delight; highly recommended!

Room Tip: Tuk Tuks into the main area (pub street) are two dollars - get the front door to sort them out for y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I can't say enough about this place! We clearly had the most basic room but it was still very nice and comfortable. The decor is amazing - it is so hip and well put together. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt like we were treated like royals. There are two sections to the hotel that are accross the street from each other. As a guest you can go to either of the pools or restaurants. The pools were some of the most beautiful I have seen. The restaurant we ate at had huge swings that you could lounge on while you ate delicious food. We did the Cambodian tasting menu. It was a little bit pricey (31$ per person) but it was well worth the experience. The location is ideal - close to everything but in a quiet location.
I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night with two friends and we were SO SAD to leave. best hotel and best service that we've ever experienced at a hotel. as soon as we got off our tuk tuk, we were greeted with delicious beverages and cold towels and the amazing service continued throughout our stay. highlights below:

KOL - best manager ever. monks happened to stop by the hotel while we were eating breakfast outside on the swinging daybeds and Kol offered us the humbling experience to partake in the almsgiving ceremony with the hotel staff.
VANNAK - catered to our needs the moment we got there and remembered us the next morning while we were having breakfast. she stopped by our table and got us a late checkout!
THAVDY - made sure that our stay was completely up to par at shinta mani club and walked us across to shinta mani resort for lunch to make sure we got there okay. what a sweetie.
FOOD - AMAZING. the free breakfast included SO much from traditional cambodian cuisine to a continental spread. be sure to try the banana wrapped bacons at the resort restaurant. to die for!
ROOMS - sleek and modern design. wish my apartment looked like this.
LOCATION - about a 10 minute walk from downtown. super convenient and easy to find. about 15-20 minute car ride from the airport, which costs about $10 US dollars.

Kind of broke my heart sometimes to see all of the staff bending over backwards to cater to our needs, but totally understand that this is the cambodian culture. beautiful people and can't wait to come back here again SOON!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunmi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My partner and I recently stayed for four nights at the Shinta Mani Club hotel - it certainly lives up to its reputation! The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help and make sure that your stay is everything it should be.
Our room was lovely, the whole place oozed calm and relaxation. We enjoyed being able to borrow DVDs to watch (History of Angkor Wat and Tomb Raider were very fitting) after long days around the temples. We loved hearing about the work of the foundation - the staff love to talk about it and were very enthusiastic.
We met Mr Snar, one of the Shinta Mani tuk tuk drivers, on our first day and he became our guide and driver for the rest of our stay - he was great - always on time and always had ideas about what we should see and where to go - and places to get great photos. He really helped to make our holiday.
The location is great - we walked into town most evenings and walked to Phare, the circus - but tuk tuks are plentiful and will cost $1 or $2 to get into town if you are too tired!
If you are looking at this and wondering whether to stay here - just do it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneggs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were lucky enough to have 14 nights at Shinta mani resort ,we could not fault one thing . Rooms offered everything ,plus more .Beds pillows . were the comfiest I have ever slept in.,We were treated like a king and queen. The staff were amazing, and obviously love their job and are always happy and obliging. When breakfast staff discovered I was coeliac, and needed gluten free, every morning I was given a freshly made treat. It was these special touches that made our stay wonderful.

We would like to congratulate Christian , the General Manager, who obviously loves his role and the Cambodian people. He is a true professional and dedicated to the position which he holds.
We cannot recommend Shinta Mani highly enough. Do yourself a favour and stay there.

Room Tip: Every room is good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniebadger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is one amazing hotel. The service is outstanding--both professional as well as downright kind and helpful. The decor is lovely--art, flowers, furniture, rooms, and even the basic architecture of the place is all thought-through and peaceful.

The Shinta Mani Club is a perfect spot for a romantic trip or for a peaceful and relaxing getaway by oneself (the infinity lap pool is gorgeous). The Shinta Mani Resort is larger, and perfect for families, with a large pool set in a beautifully landscaped center court.

Plus, in a country where there is extreme poverty and great need, the Shinta Mani foundation gives training to young people in the hospitality industry. So you can feel good about spending your money here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiyana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#12 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 361 in Siem Reap
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £102 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing