We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #13 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in Shinta Mani Club after staying 3 days in Navutu Dreams on our 6 day Siem Reap trip. We chose Shinta Mani because of it's proximity to the centre of town, i.e. Old Market and Pub Street. Although for convenience' sake, it is still more practical to take a 3 minute tuk-tuk ride for $2, specially since we are here during the rainy season.

Now, about the hotel itself. We booked a poolside room, which was very convenient, as we didn't have to go up any stairs and gave us quick access to the pool, where we normally lounge all day. The rooms are very modern, but tastefully decorated with paintings, and murals of Ankor Wat. The ceiling mural above the bed is especially stunning as it gives off a 3D illusion of a view from the temple. The bed is extremely comfortable, plus the minibar is free.

The breakfast is another element that surprised me. There is a small buffet area, and you can also order from a selection on the breakfast menu; so this makes the selection quite adequate. What surprised me, quite pleasantly, I might add, is aside from the usual selection of fresh juices and coffee or tea, this is the first breakfast buffet that offered champagne! Ok, not quite champagne, sparkling wine. Imagine starting your day with a glass of "champagne"! It's the best cure for a hangover after a night in Pub Street.

Finally, and probably the best service perk that they gave us, was allowing us to have a late check out....until 8pm! Since our flight out of Siem Reap is at 1030pm, we were allowed to stay until whatever time our car was supposed to take us to the airport. Although they moved us to their property across the street, Shinta Mani Resort, a bigger but older property. They let us stay in a new room and we could still enjoy the facilities of both properties. I think this is service that goes above and beyond!

The only downside that I can think of is that the food in the restaurant is not that good. With a hotel this nice and service this good, I hope that they can improve their menu to be up to par with other aspects of the hotel.

Being avid travelers, we've been to a lot of hotels, and coming to Siem Reap, I did not expect to have an experience as good as we had in Shinta Mani. I was more than pleasantly surprised, it went beyond expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Shinta Mani is a modern hotel in a great area of Siem Reap with some really quirky features. For example there is an outside restaurant area with suspended couch/tables - you all sit stretched out on the couch and the staff put trays over your knees so you can eat and chat, whilst gently swaying. Loved it! The rooms were perfect, cool and with a great walk-in shower. The staff are so amazingly helpful, too. Cold towels whenever you arrive/leave the hotel, and bottles of water if you look like youre going for the day. It was a great base for the Ankor Wat area, and made a memorable last place to stay for our trip. I'd be back there tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Goward93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Shinta Mani Club provides a very hospitable atmosphere to park you in whilst visiting Siem Reap. We arrived after a hard days temple trekking. sweaty tired and hungry to cold towels to wipe us down [the concierge staff] a cool room [the airocn had been turned on in advance for us], and the tasting menu dinner that night [try and sit on one of the swings outside. the decor flows and is easy on the eye [white and dark wood floors. the rooms are generously sized with a convenient bar to put your electronics and rechargeable. views are not great here [nor anywhere else in Siem reap]..But looking down on the pool was nice. A pool side room might be noisy so we opted for the second floor.
The staff were great; helpful, smiling, earnest and precise; "there are two ways to pub street, but I suggest you walk by the river as it will be cooler" [also prettier]. They have a hospitality training school in the hotel and as in many other places in Siem Reap there is a feeling of a people coming back to life after the horrors of the past...and taking charge of themselves.
Breakfast is great; lots of options and dinner if you want to eat in big night out standard. the rooms have heaps of storage space and there's a raft of TV channels to watch [apart from sleeping we tended not be in our room. the staff made reservations for us a couple of times at restaurants which were well regarded [one they recommended and one we'd heard of] and organised tickets and transport to the circus; very reliably on all three counts. the pool is small; but big enough the Shinta Mani Resort across the road has a larger pool which you can access if you're keen. This might also be a nice place to stay but did have a busier feel about it. Pub Street is 5-10 minutes' walk, as is the museum and Royal Palace; there is heaps of transport if you need it. .
A review should feature some negatives; all I could come up with was that the salt in the salt shakers was clogged with humidity and wouldn't come out...but if that kind of thing worries you, then perhaps its best to stay at home.
If you're planning to visit Siem Reap you would benefit from staying here.

Room Tip: Pool side, 1-2 floors up and come in the rainy season..less people and more exciting weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tornasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have no complaints.....room was incredible, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, restaurant was delicious and well priced. We stayed for 3 days and wanted to stay for more. On site spa for all sorts of relaxation options. In room honors bar was complimentary with beer, soda, fruit, and water. Free WiFi

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a 7 hour car trip from phnom phen to arrive at this amazing hotel was just perfect. Very chilled vibe with fabulous staff who can't do enough for you. We were unexpected upgrade on our room to a suite. Everything just lovely - great for visiting Ankor wat tmro only 7km away

Room Tip: All good rooms but ask for an upgrade to room 1306 if not !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I think every hotel should send their staff for training at Shinta Mani, thats how good their services are. every staff remembered us, would greet us and ask about our day and made sure we made plans for dinner, made reservations and ordered tuktuks for us. Mind you this hotel is of GREAT value, free wifi, free drinks in the fridge, free breakfast, amazing staff and 2 for 1 happy hour drinks ;) REAL DEAL in Siem Reap, I will definitely come back to this hotel in the future.
Spa was AMAZING, I felt like a queeeeen for the day, lemongrass drinks, massage for 60 minutes 20% off, canape after. delightful!

the only thing to criticise would be their food, its still not top notch hotel quality yet, but I know they're getting there ;)

love this hotel to bits!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I'm at the gate leaving Siem Reap, really sad to leave this amazing place and hotel!
The great experience started when the concierge opened the door and welcomed us with cool towels and a huge smile saying "welcome home!"
The reception is beautiful and smells great, the lotus flowers, the nice decor, welcome drink and many friendly smiling faces make you forget all about the long flight!
Then we were offered a tour of the hotel by the friendliest person, he explained the idea of the foundation and how he was one of the students that now works there.
He showed us our room and made reservations for dinner at the hotel's restaurant.
The room... Wow! Lovely decor, impressive ceiling, massive shower and even a walk in closet.
During our dinner on the cool swings, the same guy surprised us with a beautiful bouquet of lotus flowers, we really appreciated it! They even decorated our bed with petals that looked lovely.
The tuk tuk driver took us to the centre one night. Few hours later we ran into him near the market, he recognised us and greeted us, was so friendly and offered a ride back which was very convenient.

Finally to summarise: great location, ambience, decor, pool, service, and most of all lovely people with no exceptions that made our stay amazing!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pascalemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 385 in Siem Reap
2,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 385 in Siem Reap
722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 385 in Siem Reap
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £120 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing