We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they are waiting for you to rip off, NO service mindset ever.”
Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #147 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 12 February 2013

From the pick up at the airport to check out, There's nothing we could expect from 4 starts hotel.
I wonder how they could get 4 starts.
Breakfast, recommended taxi and performance were all terrible.
Since I live in Lao which is poor than cambodia, I have very low expectation
but this was....absolutely disaster, nightmare. I will never go to cambodia again.

Room Tip: Never get some advise from hotel, never. they will rip off u.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7,004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin-ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Sir 7004,
Warmest Greeting from Royal Empire Hotel!

Thank you for your choosing our hotel to stay during your holiday and thank you for your dropping your feedback.

We feel very sorry to learn that our services and facilities did not reach your expectation, whilst, we are trying our best to provide efficient and quality services to our customers. Regarding to our hotel star, it has been recognized by the Ministry of Tourism, it doesn't mean that we rate our self to be the 4 stars.

However, we are the management of the hotel are much disappointed and deeply apologize for the frustration you came across and thank you so much for your bringing this matter to our attention, which enables us to evaluate our services and facilities more efficient.

Hope this isolated incident will not spoil your confident and looking forward to serving you better in the future.

All the best,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Royal Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Beautiful lobby area where there is free wifi (no wifi in room) and a couple of computers to use if you don't have a laptop. Room was great with minifridge, nice balcony, beautiful hardwood floors, nice bath room. All very clean and new looking. The bed was softer than most in Asian but not what Americans like. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone and lots if you are Asian. Would have liked 100% fruit juice but that is really rare in SE Asia where we stayed. Good service from the front desk, they hooked us up with a good English speaking tuk-tuk driver for our 2 days of touring the ruins, price for the tuk-tuk for the day was reasonable and published at the front desk. You can try to negotiate a better price out on the street but I don't think you will save much. The hotel is a little out of town on the airport road, we walked into town the first time we went in but not the easiest place for walking. A pretty good selection of markets, and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel if you don't want to go downtown to eat every night. The food in town is really good as are the Old Market and the Night Market for buying goodies. Hint: Business in Cambodia is conducted in US dollars. After trying 5 or 6 ATM's I finally got one that accepted one of my several cards but it had a $4 service charge a bit of a shock after paying 25 cents to use the ATM's in the Philippines. Bottomline - bring plenty of US dollars with you. (None of my US bank cards were accepted at the ATM's in Siem Reap but my card from the Philippines was, another reason to carry enough US cash when traveling in Cambodia. Really glad I had the card from PH.) Bottomline: Great hotel at a really good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor overlooking the pool. These rooms I think were a little more money...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Royal Empire to visit Angkor temples, at the time of our reservation choice was quite limited in Siem Reap.
The impression at arrival was good. A warm reception, we were hosted in the pool area as our room was not yet ready while the manager took care of explaining us the options we had for visiting the region.
The hotel room and facilities turned out being potentially good but poorly cleaned and maintained. Breakfast was not attractive at all and the restaurant poorly organized in general.
On the other hand, staff was very friendly (in particular the manager who continued to help and advise through our stay) and pricing reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilbert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin-ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Dilbert,
Warmest Greeting from Royal Empire Hotel!

Thank you so much for your choosing our hotel to stay. We are really appreciate for dropping your feedback about our hotel while staying with us. Whilst we always endeavor to provide efficient and quality services to our customers, we are much disappointed to learn that our services fell short of your expectation on this occasion. To forestall recurrence of the same kind, we have reminded the staff concerned to handle the customers with proper care and efficient.

However, we are the management of the hotel, deeply apologize for the frustration you came across over the accident and thank you so much for your bringing this matter to our attention, which enables us to evaluate our service more effectively.

We do hope this isolated incident will not impair your confidence and looking forward to serving you better in future.

Best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Royal Empire Hotel in Siem Reap. The Hotel has good and friendly service, but the building where we stayed is not maintained well. We had problems with locking our door, the bath tup was partly broken, air condition is noisy. It wasn't always clean. Very bad was the fitness room, which has no AC, has very old devices and only a few were working. I complained but during our stay they didn't change anything. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin-ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Andrew,
Warmest Greetings from Royal Empire Hotel!

Thank you so much for your dropping your feedback, first of all we would express our profound to thank for your choosing our to stay during your vocation.

Please accept our sincere apologize for any inconvenience cause. We are much concerned to learn of the happening and would like to address your concerned further. Whilst we always endeavor to provide efficient and quality services to our customers, we are much disappointed to learn that our services fell short of your expectation on this occasion.

However, we are the management of Royal Empire Hotel, deeply apologize for the frustration you came across over the accident and thank you so much for your bringing this matter to our attention, which enables us to evaluate our service more effectively.

We do hope this isolated matter will not impair your confidence and looking forward to serving you better in future.

Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Big hotel located 10 minutes by tuk-tuk far from the city center.
Our room was big, silent, clean; bathroom with shower and bath-tub; kettle available for tea/coffee.
Breakfast is good, offering a huge assortment of everything (especially Asian food).
We tried the restaurant for dinner and must say that the food is great and the staff is really professional and extremely kind!
The swimming pool in the garden is a good spot to relax after the long days in Angkor.
Free wi-fi is working irregularly.
The hotel caters to big groups: they can be noisy in night-time and it can happen that they occupy the restaurant at the same time, making it difficult to find a table for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taccola70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel provided a very warm, friendly atmosphere and had excellent staff who were both welcoming and very helpful. The rooms that we stayed in were topped off with a beautiful balcony view of the hotel and city. The location was pleasant at it was within close proximity to the airport ($5 tuk tuk), Angkor Wat Temple area ($2 tuk tuk) and marketplaces. However, it is recommended that you organize your own tuk tuks/transport rather than organising them through the hotel, as prices are unreasonable and non- negotiable if the hotel organizes tuk tuks for you. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and good choice hotel!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Paddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel caters to large tour groups. The tour buses were constantly coming and going. Large group of tourist were quite noisy. We booked on our own - not as a part of a tour - and felt overlooked. Overall clean and nice decor. Not near the tourist area.
We had major problems with our room. The electricity went on the fritz twice in the middle of the night, cause the AC to stop and lights to come on. We called and had people in our room at 2am to fix it. But it happened again at 4am. There was a loose wire we had to keep jiggling it. We lost a lot of sleep. Also had a very poor quality shower head (crusted over and water spraying 10 different directions) and poorly designed shower (door allowed large amounts of water to pool on the floor). Our friends in a room down the hall had the exact same problems with their shower. After talking with the staff the next day at length (no manager to be found) we had no resolution and no offers to make up for our terrible experience. There are so many other good hotels in Siem Reap - skip this one!

Room Tip: When booking over holidays, especially new year and Christmas, book a room facing the opposite direc...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin-ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
Greetings from Royal Empire Hotel! Siem Reap Cambodia.

Thank you so much for your choosing our hotel to stay during your vacation. We really appreciate for your review of our hotel, but it sound very hard for us to accept while we tried our best to solve the problem but it happen again.

You said that the large tour group in the hotel, we are running more than 100 rooms it should be many people and buses at the hotel. Just to inform you that during the peak season, there must be the large tour group and many people back and forth in every hotel, as long as you stay in boutiques that you will see less people.

Anyway, we are the management of the hotel really sorry for what happen to you and your friends while staying with us.

Best Regards,
The hotel management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#185 of 361 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#86 of 361 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
2.1 mi away
Starry Angkor Hotel
Starry Angkor Hotel
#216 of 361 in Siem Reap
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#184 of 361 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Angkor Resort & Conference
1.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#77 of 361 in Siem Reap
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £26 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Empire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing