We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #148 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights in Siem Reap staying at the Royal Empire Hotel. The service was great. Very polite and helpful staff! Only complaint was the wifi was not strong enough to get service in the room.....had to go to the lobby for good wifi. Hotel was very clean and the food was good. Would recommend this hotel to stay at when going to Siem Reap!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cdnmuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    202
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
103
189
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

All our requests were met by the team lead by Mr. Sokmono Lim. Our booking included complimentary airport transfer and our room was upgraded as promised. Upon arrival at the airport, we were met by the friendly and helpful representative of the hotel who came with a driver.

At the hotel, while waiting for our room to be ready as we arrrived very early in the morning, we were met by Mr. Sokmono and welcome drink plus cooling towelletes to freshen us up. 3 huge super single beds were ready for us and our room was on higher floor facing the pool just as we requested. We can't tell the difference between the existing 2 single beds and the added extra bed as the latter was as comfy and plush as the other 2 beds. The room was spacious, neat, the bathroom was clean has separate shower and bath tub. There's a mini bar, kettle and tea/coffee making facility, flat-screen tv with several channels. 3 bathrobes, 3 slippers and 3 sets of towels were prepared for us which means they really looked into details unlike some of the hotels I have checked in before.

Transportation was not a problem as there will always be tuktuk waiting outside the hotel. We took tuktuk everywhere while in Siem Reap - to Tonle Sap, to Angkor Wat, to the town, etc. Mr. Sokmono and the staff will be more than happy if you would like them to plan and arrange itinerary for you. The day we left for Angkor Wat which was before the crack of dawn and obviously had to miss the complimentary breakfast, we were given packed breakfast by the hotel which had a few types of buns, pastries and cakes, hard-boiled eggs, bananas and mineral water.

We took a dip in the huge pool which was beautiful. There's a spa in the hotel and I must say the price is value-for-money and can rival those in town.

All-in-all, what I can say is we were very satisfied with our 3 nights stay at this hotel. All the staff we met were all smiley, gentle and helpful.

I have a few nice photos of this hotel to share here but too bad after a few attempts to upload them here, it failed.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor facing the pool and request gently for your room to be upgraged. Early check-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 25/02/2014-02/03/2014 (6 nights)

The hotel is located nearer to the airport and abit further from the markets.
However, tuk-tuks are available at all time just outside the hotel (assigned by the hotel) and travelling to anywhere was simply very easy.

Luckily for us, we visited Siem Reap during the somewhat off peak period so its easier to bargain and I would say we never go more than 2USD for each one way trip.
(Equivalent to 1USD per person).

Hotel transfers were very easy and prompt.
They picked and dropped us off at the airport upon our request.

Hotel room was very spacious however our balcony is "not accessible" at night as there were insects sticking and flying on the door just outside it.
Just to be safe, we would stop accessing it nearing to dawn.

Per room was only given one key card and no other card will be given even upon request (we tried).
Although on this visit we called for the room mechanics twice:
one - due to aircon malfunction
two - no signal on tv

I would say the hotel responded quite fast and tried to deal with it as much as they can.
As this is a developing country, we do understand failures tend to happen at times.

There is actually lots to do in Siem Reap.
Just drop by any of the travel guide/tours and look through their itinerary.
Quad Ride is a must. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

As we are muslims, food are our main concern, however we have no problem looking for one.
In fact there was one just opposite our hotel, a newly located restaurant, called "D' Wau Restaurant" (in one of the new building). It serves Malaysia and Cambodian dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1987_24082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Don't know where to start. We stayed here for 2 nights 1st and 2nd March. From the moment we were picked up from the airport it was fantastic. As soon as you walk in the door the decor of the hotel is beautiful and the juice we got on arrival was delicious. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was big, airy and spotlessly clean as was the entire hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful with all our questions and queries. We treated ourselves to a car and driver for the next 2 days to Angkor Wat (were we glad with that heat i can tell you) and the hotel organised it all. We had to do nothing just mention something and it was sorted. We had a traditional Khmer meal in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. Pool area was beautiful and relaxing. Even though its on the main airport road you'd never think it while in the hotel. We were not expecting this part of the trip to be relaxing and indulgent so huge thanks to Mr. Lim and all his staff for making our stay here unforgetable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here in the month of March 2014. Very nice hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, Since we had to leave early for our tours, so we got to the breakfast area early and had no problem finding a table. Staff are very friendly. Beautiful swimming pool. The rooms were large, clean and no complaints there.

Internet worked very well and we had no problems so i would most definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were here with the tour in Feb. 23rd and 24th. The staffs were very friendly and more than willing to help. The breakfast was very crowded depending on the days whether there are lots of tourists are in the hotel. Lines can be very long and even though the breakfast room is big, all the tables can be fully occupied and foods are gone and have to wait for the next round or whenever they refill it. Unfortunately, we had that situation and took a while for us to find a table and waited for the foods. Otherwise it was okay and lots of varieties, mostly cater to Asian varieties. WiFi signal in the room was weak sometimes and have to go to the lobby to make an emergency call via the internet. Otherwise just checking email maybe okay.
The hotel is near Angkok Wat and around $3 to the town for shopping or dinner.
The room were big enough but could not lock the terrace slighting doors and the room safe was not working and they have to change another one. Only one small chair in the room and no socket by the desk. There is a swimming pool but we didn't use it as we were so tired after walking the whole day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment I walked in, I knew this was going to be one of the best two night stay I would have in SE Asia. I was right. We were greeted with refreshments at the front desk and quickly given our room keys. My room was beautiful! Loved the big, firm bed and modern comforts of the room. My view from the room, was the poolside. It felt luxurious to be able to go for an evening swim after a days worth of touring. I think the pool closes @ 9 p.m. There was also a Jacuzzi, but it was to hot to be in use. Guest robes and flip flops were provided in the room to wear and guest towels at poolside. They all were of good quality. Surprisingly, the pool was not crowded considering the number of guests that appeared to be staying at Royal Empire. If I would complain about something, it would be some of the seemingly rude behavior of some guests. The breakfast buffet was substantial including delicious fresh fruits. We bought our beer next door, as it was much cheaper and brought it back to the room. Yes, life is good. There was internet access for those travelling without their mobile devices. Don't forget to turn in your room key, as it will cost you $20! As a side note, I do recommend a boat tour of Tonle Sap Lake, in addition to the mystical and magical temples of Angkor Wat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank open_to_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#183 of 356 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#84 of 356 in Siem Reap
854 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#206 of 356 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#79 of 356 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#318 of 356 in Siem Reap
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#34 of 356 in Siem Reap
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Property: Royal Empire Hotel
Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Empire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing