We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a good but excellent hotel”
Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #170 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I and my friends stay in Royal Empire hotel in June and it was my amazing stay in there. Exhausted from visiting the temple and it was hot while we were outside the hotel but when we arrived back, Sokkol was there waiting us in the front to welcome us back and offered cool towels and welcome drink as we were surprised for that. We thought oh wonderful time and relax. The pool was fresh with clean salt water and the decoration in the room was ok with the good view of the room we were in and the pillow was really soft but they didn't the smaller one; however just the hotel doesn't have. Sokkol tried to apology us about that and he would talk about this to the manager. The lobby was huge. OH about the staff in the hotel are so friendly so nice smile all the time. MY god many more things I would like to say but experience yourself with this excellent hotel!!!!!!!!

Miss you Sokkol. Hope you remember us,

Bruno Jess....

Room Tip: A room with balcony at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We travel for work and pleasure, I have to say that this is one of the best hotels that we have stayed at in the past year. I would put this on the same level as a Marriott, etc. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, we were impressed. The price was amazing, due to off-season. We stayed 3 nights, were upgraded to a better room, and provided a free dinner (the food was 5 star quality). We are vegetarian, so the chef made a special meal just for us. The infinity pool is great, the service even better.

Nice, big, quiet rooms, great view over pool. Oh and did I mention the 5-piece master bath... AMAZING.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone from business travelers to families. You will not be disappointed. This is Cambodian hospitality at it's best. Also do not hesitate to book your tours with them, we found the prices even better than on the street.

Thank you again for a spectacular stay.

Room Tip: Look for promotions, we stayed 3 nights and received amazing perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A very positive experience especially as I stayed 4 nights. After day 1 it was as if I had been a long term guest. Nice big room, good pool, very friendly and helpful staff especially the young manager. The tuk tuk drivers out the front were great as well. Very helpful and I used number 8 for two days. He even told me I was giving him too much on the second day. We had agreed a price but he was so helpful that I gave him a bigger tip than I would have normally. The tuk tuk drivers pay for the privilege of being associated with the hotel. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room which faced the street and that was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal Empire Hotel for 3 nights and had an excellent time! The staff was thoughtful, friendly, and helpful with all our requests. The first night we had trouble with the air conditioner, but the next day when we mentioned it they fixed it quickly. The customer service rep was fantastic and always asked us about our day, our trips to the temples, and our stay at the hotel. We hired a car for two days (including one sunrise at Angkor Wat with breakfasts packed for us!) and were provided with bottled water and cool towels throughout the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahVandegrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I can't wait to say something about this hotel because all the time of the beginning to the end is excellent. First, airport pick up with Lexus, by a well performance driver with an informative and Sokkol, Guest relation. I can't forget this great experience at all.

Check in was very quick only 5 minutes and the most important is I was offered to check in very early in the morning at 8:30AM. The pool is so fresh and cool. All the time I came back from the temple, ask the staff and mention to Sokkol were waiting for us all the time offered cold towel, welcome drink so fresh. The room is cleaned and huge and breakfast is fantastic.

Transfer from the hotel to airport was free too. Sokkol also accompanied us back. Miss you. Who doesn't want to stay in this charming and wonderful hotel!!! I love you Royal Empire Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the pick up from the air port by a great smile and clear information from the GRO, Sokkol. He has a great communication skill that everyone can't be as him. Cool towels and welcome drink are offered not only the time I and my wife checked in but all the time you are back from everywhere outside the hotel or even you are in the hotel. Sokkol surely ask you how may I assist you please( cool towels, welcome drink, information related to this place)? Your stay must be perfect here, I am sure for the next tourists.

Great and amazing staff everywhere in the hotel, they smile to you all the time especially their words are so polite. The pool is more than what I expected with the very fresh and cleaned water. The room has flowers good smell everywhere in the room included the bathroom too. the breakfast buffet include with the room rate was amazing, many kinds of food you could select.
Oh my god what else I can say about this marvelous hotel!!!!!!!! Go go go go go Royal Empire hotel, definitely stay here here here again.

Room Tip: The room 137 is very good for the view with huge and beautiful pool and fresh air blow into your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was really impressed when I reached the siem-reap airport, because nice looking guy was waiting for my family. He was Sokkol Thun, staff of the hotel. His english was very good, so I had no problem about communicating. Also, he helped me to make a plan how to visit diverse places such as Angkor watt. Thanks to him, my family was able to enjoy the trip. Hotel's meal was wonderful. There were various foods and fruits, kind staffs. Room was larger than other hotels. Near the hotel, there was a market where I was able to buy many dishes and fruits such as mango, durian and so on. In the hotel. there was swimming pool. I spent a lot of time swimming. Water was really clear and pool was big enough. In my opinion, there are few, nearly few hotels better then Royal Emprie Hotel. I am sure this hotel is nearly best hotel in siem-reap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2074Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#172 of 384 in Siem Reap
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#52 of 384 in Siem Reap
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#31 of 384 in Siem Reap
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sakmut Boutique Hotel
Sakmut Boutique Hotel
#69 of 384 in Siem Reap
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Angkor Elysium Suite
Angkor Elysium Suite
#66 of 384 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Terrace Hotel
The White Terrace Hotel
#72 of 384 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Empire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing