We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place - Great Staff!”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #166 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place - Great Staff!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in Mandalay Inn and it was great. We arrived without reservation, and therefore got a twinbed instead of a double. The staff however was very helpful, and offered us our own pick of room the day after and moved all our stuff for us.

The rooms were nice and clean with small tv's and refrigerator and AC (16 USD). The only issue could be that the mattresses are foam, which can trouble some backs!

The staff was a great experience. Always there, always smiling, always heloful. They offered tour booking at the hotel without pushing anything on us. We were so happy with them, that we booked both a guided tour of Angkor, a in-house Tuktuk-driver and the bus to Phnom Penh from there. Especially their Tuk tuk driver was great - with good english skills and perfect manners and was able to tell us both about the temples but also Cambodia and life in general.

We really recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    66
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
174
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

While travelling on the cheap around SE Asia we booked this place before we got to Siem Reap and although a little more expensive than the usual dives we were staying in it was definitely worth a few extra pennies. The room was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurnt was excellent - try the Burmese Curry!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I enjoyed my stay very much at this hostel!

It rate was very reasonable, and they provided free airport pick-up! (Note they will charge you when you go back to the airport but it was quite cheap) Our flight was delayed for quite a few hours but the tuk-tuk driver was still there waiting for us.

The room was clean but it had a bit of weird smell. It was spacious and the beds were big. Unfortunately they didn’t have a lift so if you have heavy luggage, it might be a problem.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us quite some useful information about the town and Angkorian temples. We also hired our tuk-tuk driver for our temple trips from the hostel. It was a little bit overpriced but he was very friendly and helpful. We planned our own routes and made frequent changes, and he could do it. And he also recommended some nice places that was not on our list.

The breakfast was expensive for Siem Reap standard and it tasted ok. It was more expensive than the food in the old market but definitely cheaper than the stalls outside the temples.

I would recommend this nice hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Actually every guesthouse in Siem Reap offers more or less the same. Rooms with or without aircon, food, wlan and tour bookings. So the only way to make yourself unique is the service. The owners and staff of this hotel realized that and this is how they act. From the moment I stepped in I received top notch service and felt like I have checked into a 5-star hotel. Example: I was walking down the street towards the hotel. The bell boy sees me coming and as I reach the entrance he already has the room key ready for me. So they really know you and they do always check that you feel absolutely comfortable at all times. You do not get this kind of service in a 4 star hotel and most of the time in a 5 star hotel neiter.
Location: just a short walk to pub street and the markets.
Food: nice
room: I had a aircon room on the first floor. Clean with towels, complimentary bottle of water, tv-set...
I think they even have a gym on the top floor but I did not use as one is sweating all day long anyway.
If I ever return to Siem Reap I will not look for any other place.

Room Tip: Aircon-room, not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magmax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Mandalay Inn was a great place to stay in Siem Reap. It was just a 5 min. walk from the day market and pub alley. The staff was very helpful and even came up to help us chase out a small gecko that had wandered into our room (they're everywhere in cambodia, the rooms were perfectly clean). There was consistently warm, if not steaming hot, hot water which is a major plus for accommodations in the price range in siem reap. They cleaned the room every day and the cafe downstairs offered a good selection of both western and asian food. Some downsides are that the road it is on is not quite as picturesque as some of the places along the river and the rooms are rather sparse, just beds with a nightstand and a tv on a dresser (also a fridge) but those downsides were more than made up for by the convenience of the hostel and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mec224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This guest house is definitely worth a review for the lovely service they provide. The staff here made us feel so at home and make you feel welcome. Would highly recommend staying here for backpackers, 'flashpackers' and for longer stays in Siem reap. Its great also if you dont require air-con its half the price! Very much enjoyed our stay, thanks Mandalayinn!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in January you might not need air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniemccarthy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If want a budget hotel in Sien Reap and meeting nice people, stop looking for it. I have never met so charming people in all the countries I have visited. The rooms are nice and perfectly clean. I would never think about staying in other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El Cuco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#189 of 343 in Siem Reap
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#212 of 343 in Siem Reap
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#165 of 343 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#107 of 343 in Siem Reap
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#128 of 343 in Siem Reap
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#126 of 343 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing