We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELPFUL STAFF, AVERAGE ROOMS, GREAT FOOD”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #177 of 360 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is very central, close to the markets and to the Pub street.
It is quite clean (could be cleaner, but I got a private room with double bed, with private bathroom, fan and aircon for $16.
When I was there, there was no electricity in the city, but the hotel owner was great and fast and bought a generator - so half of the hotel could have the electricity again!
the wife books tours, buses ad tuk tuks, she is lovely and kind.
The food at the restaurant is great and cheap- try the chicken amok!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anninafe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we found our feet in Siem Reap.

PROS:
Awesome cable channels, clean rooms/beds, good air-con, centrally located. What more do you want from budget accommodation?

CONS:
The electricity dropped out several times for several hours. Although this wasn't the Mandaly's fault - there was no generator for back up, which meant there was no air-con = HOT ROOM!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Giles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I am staying here long term and had never had a problem that couldn't be fixed, all the staff are very attentive and there is always a warm welcome everyday when I return from work. As far as guesthouses go, this one beats all, everything is clean and well kept, free water re-fill is great and the slightest problems are dealt with immediately (taking big spiders out of my room!) Love staying here and will miss it when I leave!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateCawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a find in Siem Reap! We stayed in a "VIP" room for five nights in February 2013. Our room was clean and comfortable, the hotel was located conveniently close to the Night Market/Pub Street/ etc., friendly staff, and breakfast was tasty. Mandalay also offered some key things not always available at this price point: showers with reliably hot water/good water pressure, a TV, and one of the fastest Internet connections we found in Siem Reap!

But what prompted us to write this review is an amazingly kind act from the owner. We had booked two bus tickets to Phnom Penh through Mandalay. There was a mix-up on the bus company's end, and they oversold the bus. It was late in the day, and we needed to be in Phnom Penh the next morning for an appointment at the Indian embassy. Frankly, I was expecting to be refunded our money and sent on our way with a "good luck." Instead, the owner drove us the six hours to Phnom Penh himself! Talk about above and beyond the call of duty -- we were so grateful! Thank you!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The location of this guesthouse is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the tourist centre of Siem Reap and its restaurants and bars.

Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The road outside has some traffic but our room was not one of the ones at the front and had a window that opened onto a small alley so was very quiet.

The staff were brilliant, all smiles and as helpful as you could possibly wish for. The staff arranged a tuk tuk for our visit to Ankor Wat and our driver, Map, was so good we booked him for a further 2 days.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at the Mandalay Inn in mid-December 2012 with a school group, and found it quite wonderful. The staff were helpful and always offering a smile, and the little boy toddling around at the time was just precious!

The room was reasonably comfortable though it was small enough to make finding space for suitcases difficult; and the 'wet room' bathroom was initially a shock! It would have been fine, though the drain didn't work well which, with two people sharing the room, made things difficult -- however, as far as I know, nobody else in the group had any issues with their bathrooms. My pillow wasn't the most comfortable, but the mattress was fine. There is a safe and cable TV in the rooms, and we had decent air-con. There is also a rooftop gym, but be prepared for how hot it will be up there!

Mandalay Inn also provides free WiFi, which worked very well at the time, and there are computers available for use if you do not have your own device. Though they offer no laundry service, there are plenty of places on the same street that do -- I used a hotel service a few meters down the road with same day wash and return. It is also in an excellent location just a few minute's walk from the bustling nightlife of Pub Street and several markets, including the Old Market. The staff can also organise tours of Angkor Wat and other incredible areas for you if you need some help figuring things out.

I definitely recommend Mandalay Inn, and will certainly stay here again if I am lucky enough to return to Siem Reap some day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It is very freandly staff here. We didn't have small money when we arrived this guest house, so the stuff payed for us and then offered us free water. You can buy a ticket to sleeping bus here and it will be a good bus and adequate price.
The location is good - 5 min to night market and not so far to Angkor wat.
The only one bad thing here is that you will hear a noise from road in the evening and early morning.
If you check out in the morning but your bus is in the evening you can leave there your bags, go siteseeng and then come back and take a free shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#113 of 360 in Siem Reap
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#196 of 360 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#142 of 360 in Siem Reap
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#190 of 360 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#155 of 360 in Siem Reap
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#274 of 360 in Siem Reap
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing