We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff,clean rooms,good location,best value”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #188 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We came to this gh after reading tips on tripadvisor,all true- good rooms,friendly staff,clean,good location. Best budget guesthouse in siem reap,stayed there for 3 nights(air con,double bed,tv 14usd)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitsan2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here last year and the rooms are clean. But don't expect a 2-star facilities in this Inn because everything are just basic. For a cheap amount and a good place to sleep, this is just fine. The staffs and owner are very accommodating, polite and friendly. They served delicious food too. We even arranged our tour in Angkor Wat with them and our shuttle ride to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbles2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed one year ago and again this year. The hotel is still good value and the staff are excellent, although like many smaller establishments they smile when they want (which is a lot but not all the time) rather than by corporate policy and this confuses some reviewers who are more used to the western way. The hotel is showing some signs of wear. There was no hot water in my room, was told it is permanently unavailable due to wiring problems, so why is the room advertised as having hot water? One morning there was no water at all. It came back after a couple of hours. The restaurant food is excellent.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frannk982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for nearly a week and the staff was so helpfull and very friendly. You can book Angkor trips and bus tickets here as well, no complaints. The room was very clean and great value for money.
Only 5 minutes walking to pub street and most of the night markets/restaurants area's. Could recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

A single room with a very powerful fan, equipped with cable television and a safety deposit box and a private bathroom is a steal at $7 a night. The one with the air-con comes for $16.
I chose the $10 one, and had the option of choosing twin beds or a queen sized double bed. The room's as clean as clean can be. The toilet though a little small is clean and does the trick. Soaps and towels are provided.
It's walking distance from everywhere.
I strongly recommend Mandalay Inn to anyone on a budget. It's one of the best budget hotels I've ever stayed at.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank rohit w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The value for money was excellent, room size was good, shower powerful and tv with loads of channels. They do say they have a gym on the roof but this is bending the truth quite a bit as none of the machines work and the owners basically cant be bothered to fix them- there are some ancient dumbells to use though. Im not sure why one of the women behind the counter is even in the hospitality business, didn't see her smile once or try to be helpful to any customers in our 5 days there.

Those were the downsides and if your on a relatively low budget I cant believe you'll find much better value for money than this place, the location is alos good, just a 5 minute walk to pub street and the market.

They do sell onward bus tickets to other locations but charge quite a bit extra so its worth walking 5-10 minute to the Mekong Bus office to purchase tickets there if you are travelling on to Phonm Penh or Ho Chi Min City.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

On first impressions Mandalay Inn was very nice, the staff were welcoming and the breakfast was good. We chose a fan room which was a bit too hot for us traveling in April. The location is fantastic within walking distance of the night market and pub street. However, one major downside for myself and my partner was the lack of gym quality. The gym is situated on the roof of the building with a great view, but out of the machines only the treadmill work - and this lasted for only 20 minutes and then broke. I informed the staff straight away as we had another four days here. They said they would look into it, everyday I reminded them and they said they hadn't had time. However if you are not bothered about a gym, I would recommend this as a good place to stay when on a budget.

We chose to cycle to Angkor Wat each day which takes around 30 minutes on a flat road and costs two dollars to hire a bike - I would recommend this to those on a tighter budget.

The lady next door does laundry fantastically and for a cheap price! Her and her family were very friendly and always got laundry back efficiently and by when we needed it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#203 of 378 in Siem Reap
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#238 of 378 in Siem Reap
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siem Reap Riverside
Siem Reap Riverside
#172 of 378 in Siem Reap
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.9 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#338 of 378 in Siem Reap
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#152 of 378 in Siem Reap
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Address: Psar Kroung Road | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £9 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing