We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and near Pub Street”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #179 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in a 3 person room. Very small room for 3 people, clean bedsheets but uncomfortable blanket and high pillows, functioning A/C , clean attached bathroom with hot shower but water has rusty smell, a wardrobe with a safe, a TV and a mini fridge in the room. Room is not noisy at night even though facing main road. Inn is quite dark though, maybe save on electricity? The location of the inn is very very good. Walking distance to Siem Reap Night Market, art centre, Pub Street, etc. Local eateries around, bakery nearby, 24 hour mini mart, pharmacy and other various shops. Staff is helpful and friendly. Communication for English speaking travellers not a problem. But price for Angkor Wat transportation by tuk tuk not negotiable. However, the tuk tuk driver (Mr Phirun) assigned to us by the hotel is a very kind man,very very helpful, friendly, considerate, safe driving, English moderate and understandable, good story teller, knowledgeable about Angkor Wat, history and the surrounding temples and even current affairs, introduce us to nice and cheap Khmer cuisine.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

The place was clean, affordable and close to everything! The market & pub street were within walking distance, the restaurant offers a good selection of foods if you are too tired or too hot after a day of sightseeing. The staff is friendly and again the place is clean and the beds are comfy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The good side: Very near to the Siem Reap night market, Pub Street, and Art Center; Good service; Handsome staff; Economic.

The bad side: Can't bargain for the travel package offered (however, the tuk-tuk driver called by the hotel is super nice! He's middle age, polite, love to tell stories, put priority to the customer, and will introduce cheap and nice dining stalls); Dark reception area (i guess they were saving the electricity cost?); Twin Room was small and the bed & blanket were uncomfortable; No mineral water provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry_Ching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We traveled 6 month through Asia now and we stayed 17 nights in 10 week time in this hotel. We enjoyed it! Clean rooms and nice people! Nice price and only 2 minuts walk from Pubstreet and Nightmarket.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derk112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I should have read the reviews more closely. I expected more than just a basic room. On the plus side the hotel was clean, safe and in a good location. The room cost was an exceptional bargain. On the down side it was difficult lugging baggage up three flight of stairs. The 4 x 5
bathroom contained the toilet, the bathroom sink and was also the shower (no stall). Staff was friendly. After a long haul from Phnom Penh I would have liked a little more luxury. If I visit Siem Reap again I would spend the money on more comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay here was great. The staff were incredibly friendly and the room was lovely and clean. Only two complaints, in spite of the fact that the room had a fridge (which seemed great) the staff turn off power to your room when you're out thus making the fridge a little redundant! Rotten watermelon was the result of this! Secondly the water coming out of the shower smelt of rust which was a bit unpleasant, but there was no sign it was actually dirty! Overall a very positive experience. And the son of the owner is the most adorable little toddler who is the happiest little man I had seen in a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The place is affordable (10USD) per night for a two bedroom room with fan. the staffs are accommodating and knows how to speak english so you understand each other. You can also booked for the tours around siem reap. Also you can buy tickets here for your trip back to bangkok via poipet or direct travel to bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lezeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#202 of 365 in Siem Reap
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 365 in Siem Reap
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clay D' Angkor Hotel
The Clay D' Angkor Hotel
#261 of 365 in Siem Reap
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#116 of 365 in Siem Reap
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#328 of 365 in Siem Reap
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Address: Psar Kroung Road | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing