We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and clean, near pub street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #164 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent and clean, near pub street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I see a few negative reviews but don't be fooled. This place is awesome! If you're on a budget and need a clean and safe place to stay this is it. It's walking distance to the night market and pub street. You can't beat the price for an airconditioned room with wifi and the staff is super helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We stayed 4 day and 3 nights. the staff was super friendly and helped us out with whatever we needed. free cable tv and we got to watch the pacquiao vs rios fight live for free!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    162
    66
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
173
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

In July 2013 I stayed for 7 nights and was very happy with the location, cleanliness and attentive confident English speaking staff.
My 6 night stay in November was also excellent,
The room, while a bit old was clean, tidy and well serviced by house staff. The water was hot, the safe was reassuring, the air conditioner very efficient and the 2 house computers proves very convenient.
The desk staff made all patrons feel like family, were knowledgable and great problem solvers.
I was impressed when staff correcting me after I overpaid my laundry bill.

I'll return in February 2014 and again the Mandalay will be my first choice - I'll be sure to book well ahead so I not miss out.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrHappyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at Mandalay Inn for four nights. The staff were friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. They were able to arrange a complimentary tuk tuk to pick me up when I arrived at the lake via the boat from Battambang, and arrange a tuk tuk to see the temples ($15). The location was great, just a short walk to the center of town. The room was basic but clean and the TV cable was excellent (not that you go to Siem Reap to watch TV, but many places I've stayed at have few channels and/or poor reception). They don't clean the room everyday, unless requested. All in all, this place was a great value and I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_L_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 8 days total and must say i was very happy with everything.

Very good value for a nice room in a nice building.
Good location close to pub street and old market.
Wifi was on a slow side but was working well enough for email and for my work online.
Helpful staff with decent english.
Food was good but the menu was somewhat confusing to me so one yime i ended up with some pieces of deep fried chicken and dry rice. Soy and chili sauces saved the meal though.

Only negative and not their fault really was that aircon started leaking at one point and so created a small puddle of water on the floor. It was behind the bed though and i only noticed same morning i was checking out.


Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Toomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days, and I love their affordability with basic needs in their room (we used room 1002). The building is quite dark though, but I guess most hotels/inns in Siem Reap are. The toilet bowl needs replacement though but still functions normally (the wooden toilet cover and stained ceramic needs an upgrade). Overall, I'll recommend this place!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in a 3 person room. Very small room for 3 people, clean bedsheets but uncomfortable blanket and high pillows, functioning A/C , clean attached bathroom with hot shower but water has rusty smell, a wardrobe with a safe, a TV and a mini fridge in the room. Room is not noisy at night even though facing main road. Inn is quite dark though, maybe save on electricity? The location of the inn is very very good. Walking distance to Siem Reap Night Market, art centre, Pub Street, etc. Local eateries around, bakery nearby, 24 hour mini mart, pharmacy and other various shops. Staff is helpful and friendly. Communication for English speaking travellers not a problem. But price for Angkor Wat transportation by tuk tuk not negotiable. However, the tuk tuk driver (Mr Phirun) assigned to us by the hotel is a very kind man,very very helpful, friendly, considerate, safe driving, English moderate and understandable, good story teller, knowledgeable about Angkor Wat, history and the surrounding temples and even current affairs, introduce us to nice and cheap Khmer cuisine.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The place was clean, affordable and close to everything! The market & pub street were within walking distance, the restaurant offers a good selection of foods if you are too tired or too hot after a day of sightseeing. The staff is friendly and again the place is clean and the beds are comfy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#177 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#306 of 337 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#130 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#157 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#136 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#214 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing