We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok rooms, but doesn't match Lonely Planets review”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #166 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok rooms, but doesn't match Lonely Planets review”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked online because this place was recommended by Lonely Planet as having very friendly staff and "spotless rooms." We stayed here over the holiday period and things were really booked up so we wanted to reserve in advance.
Pros: The booking emails were handled very professionally. A free tuk tuk was sent to pick us up at the bus station which was very nice. Laundry service at the hotel is good. The rooms have comfortable beds and are relatively peaceful. Location is pretty good. Water was hot. AC worked. Fridge in room.
Cons: Room was definitely not particularly clean, dusty in corners and bathroom not so nice-- fresh linens and towels, decent cleanliness for SE Asia but definitely, definitely, do NOT expect spotless like lonely planet says! TV didn't work (we didn't care about that). Staff were a mixed bag-- sometimes friendly, sometimes rude. At one point they gave us the run around when we asked the simple question of whether we could stay one extra night. They offer a lot of tour services but also a lot of pressure to book their services. Bathroom toilet was difficult to flush and the faucet was partly broken. Room was small but this isn't necessarily a bad thing.
Overall, an ok value. Good location and we felt safe. If you have your pick of place better value can be had elsewhere in Siem Reap, but it's certainly not a bad place to stay, if the rooms were a bit cheaper it would be a better value....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefwithapassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    66
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
174
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Good location, helpful staff and clean room. We used the room only to sleep and used the bathroom. Rest of the time was spent outdoors at temples or pub street.

Only bad part was bed and pillow is very uncomfortable. Very close to pub street and old market.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cosmicw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Staff extremely friendly and helpful with organising excursions. Rooms a little old but clean and spacious. Fantastic location 2 minute walk to markets, bars and restaurants including pub street. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Unfortunately we've got quite a small room for 3 pax of us.
The room is so small yet we can't move around in the room and space to put all our bags.
About the pillow and bed, it is too soft, so i need to double up my pillow else you'll have neck ache in the morning.
The room is simple with tv's and fridge.
Also, the toilet was clean.

The good thing that i liked about this place is they had free refill water.
The architecture and design of the guesthouse is also very unique.
It was nearby to all attractions area, around 5-10 minutes.
For the foods, you can easily find nearby one, convenience store also nearby the guesthouse.
During the night, you will had a good sleep, since it was very quiet in this area at night.

Not too forget, their receptionist also very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a place round the corner the first night had to get out of there - walked to the Mandalay Inn and found very friendly helpful staff and clean reasonably priced rooms - everything worked. Great location, very close to markets and everything you need. Will stay here again...

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nicknz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for the price. The room was clean and you can't beat the location, just a block from pub street. Nice flat screen TV and hot shower. The staff is helpful and nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

While the place is a bit old, it's homey, clean and very near pub street. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. The single beds were big! It's a shame we only had 1 day to spend in Siem Reap. We will be back though and we will certainly stay again at Mandalay Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#189 of 343 in Siem Reap
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#212 of 343 in Siem Reap
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#165 of 343 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#107 of 343 in Siem Reap
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#128 of 343 in Siem Reap
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#126 of 343 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing