We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic satisfactory accommodation”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #166 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic satisfactory accommodation”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent two nights at Mandalay Inn. Free with the booking was transportation from the airport, which was a nice perk. The tuk-tuk driver met us and we had an easy ride to the hotel. We got the VIP room, which I'm not sure was better than any other room, although I didn't see other rooms. It was a basic room, with bed, tv, dresser, closet area and safe. Strangely, although it was July and quite warm, the bed had flannel sheets on it. The shower is just on the wall in the bathroom - so floor is wet for using toilet or sink for awhile after the shower and it is hard to keep water from getting on the towels and toilet paper.

We rented bicycles from the Inn to ride to Angkor Wat to see the sunrise and explore for the day. Prior to leaving at 4:45 am, we told the dozing desk clerk that the back tire of one of the bikes seemed low. He felt it and said it was fine. Unfortunately, it was not. The back tire was essentially flat by the time we arrived at the temples and even though we refilled it with air once, it was quickly flat again, which made for very difficult riding. My husband and I had to trade bikes because it was too much to do for long. We ultimately had to take a tuk-tuk back to the hotel because it was just too difficult to bike that many kilometers on a flat tire (the tire looked cracked from age).

We used their travel agency to book a bus on to Phnom Penh, which was convenient. They picked us up from the hotel and took us to the bus. That said, Mekong Express, the "limousine of buses," had dripping windows when it rained. No other buses to compare though.

The breakfast was good. And we used their laundry service, which was also good. Overall, a solid place to stay if you want cheap and no-frills and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    66
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
174
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were all friendly, accommodating. One staff even invited me for a tour around the city when he gets off from work. They have free coffee and tea 24/7. I booked a non-air-conditioned room for about 600+ pesos. It was a comfortable stay, their shower room need to be fixed though hot shower not working. But all in all it was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here two nights and were happy with our choice. Small hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Good AC, wifi and breakfast. Slightly off the main drag but that made it quiet. It was extremely hot when we were there so the AC was much appreciated. We did have a small bathroom issue but once advised, the staff dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friendly staff, clean and comfy room, TV and WiFi. $16 per night for a double. Was just what we needed after a long journey from Bangkok. A few minutes walk from all the restaurants and pub street.
Always felt welcome there, the staff were really nice, and the tuk-tuk driver they use is a cheerful man who gave us a good tour of Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghughes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning was wonderful, the amenities were good, they had free all day coffee and tea, and also sold water and other beverages. The staff was great and very caring and set up all of our outings (Angkor Wat, other temples, picked us up from airport, arranged day trips) and where very nice. The food was alright, I only tried scrambled eggs and the beef loclac but both were very good and reasonably quick by Cambodia standards.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean and decently sized room for the price, beautiful meals and a wonderful location. But what made our stay even better was the amazing staff. They went above and beyond for us, organising transportation and even taking it upon themselves to exchange some money for me because it was likely that I would be scammed because I am a Westerner.
PS. try the banana pancakes (you won't regret it).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here in February with my finance during our 3 day visit to Angkor Wat. The hotel provided free pick up from the Siem Reap airport. The hotel is located about a 20min bike ride to the main entrance of Angkor and it’s a nice easy flat ride. You can rent a bike from the hotel for about $2US a day. **side note: I would def recommend getting the 3-Day Ankor Pass for $40US vs getting a daily pass for $20/day**

Pub Street is a short 10 minute walk away and there you can find all the Western food you can ask for… burgers, milkshakes, etc.

For a budget hotel, everything met expectations so I’m giving it 4 stars. For $16US, wifi worked, shower worked, hot water, clean beds, good location. Can’t go wrong!

We also booked a bus to Phnom Phenh via the hotel and it worked out fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#189 of 343 in Siem Reap
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#212 of 343 in Siem Reap
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#165 of 343 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#107 of 343 in Siem Reap
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#128 of 343 in Siem Reap
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#126 of 343 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing