We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandalay Inn is so dishonest!!”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #166 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mandalay Inn is so dishonest!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stayed in Mandalay Inn for 1 month. Before I left I stored three bags of my stuff there and gave the exact date when I would come back.
But when I came back, they denied everything and just said, "you dont have any proof!"
At that moment I was so angry, but they didnt care. The boss just said, "I dont know this matter. Dont ask me!"
So bad!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie_zhou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandalayinn, General Manager at Mingalar Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for review and for choosing to stay with us. I was very upset to read above review and would like to take this opportunity to give my account of what happened.
The phenomenon was mentioned as follow; Guest has been asked to owner, whether she could leave something behind? Owner’s answer is YES but nothing has been kept.
But she(Guest) have claimed that have left 3 small plastic bag with Artism’D Angkor Logo on it and give it to the owner. But owner did not receive anything then she(owner) asks very details to guest again then she was not sure the items and who. Then the owner show each and every staff whether she kept with one of those staff. After a while, saying that could not remember who (the staff) Guest had handed over to…

I do not understand why complaint to owner, we are always keep customer right and try to tell nicely and explain. We do even accuse her anything either “she may left somewhere or tell us that at Mandalay Inn” or “she may really left but our staff unattended”. Even we do not get clear figure given by guest, always think positive and search the whole store and the whole building by full of our team including owner (lady), Manager, Receptionist and Room maids but no positive result.

We normally applied this Procedure for Guest left things behind are;
1) Guest shall hand over the items to Reception counter. (24 Hrs receptionist stand by)
2) We asked “What kind of items inside?” (Do not accept food, Dirty and smelly items & Precious items)
3) When you will be back? (Do not accept more than 1 month – applied from 1 Jan 2010)
4) Then we wrote on piece of paper “Rm. No, Name and total items” then handed over to guest to collect when they check in again..
5) Then informs to the guest “Please keep this to collect OR mention your name and the last room number after you check in again to collect things”.
6) Then, we put last stayed room’s number and guest name on luggage. Kept in Store room.
She has not passed any of this process and nobody has been received or aware of it.
Just summarize, we have operate for more than 7 years and handled 4000 + luggage and items that guest left behind and no one have been lost a things. Presently, we keep 1 bag left for a month but it is remain in our store for 1 year and we still keep it even we clear our store monthly. Means the items that guest left inside the rooms and not reclaim items, unattended items (non registered with us items), non-valuable items, dirty and disgusting items will throw away during store clear day due to most of the guest left behind things are not really useful and not valuable for us.

We are always taking responsibility for any of our guest belonging which taking care by us. And does not care about any amount of cost compare with our name.
Even someone has forgotten in the room by unawareness but we have successfully returned. Do not need to mention about the guest stored luggage.
However, we are sorry about this matter and believe that our team would learn by this.

Once again, thanks for taking your time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us.
We wishing you well and have wonderful day!!!

Best Regards,

Peng AN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    66
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
174
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I stayed in Mandalay Inn from Sep 28th to Oct 2nd for 4 days and truly lovin it.
It costs $6 per night for a twin room with fan, for there're no single room available at that time.
I really enjoyed everything there, the friendly staff, the economical price, the clear room, the hot water, the lovely living room, the nice boss, the in-room wifi.
And the location is great also, it's near the old market, just 2 mins walk.
Highly recommend Mandalay Inn for your choice in Siam Reap, if you just want some place clear, hot water available, well located like me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sale,manchester,uk
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Very well located to town centre-10 minute walk.rooms clean and staff helpful.This is a very cheap place so you cant be expecting luxury.Great value for money.In Siem Reap you are more likely to be out most of the time instead of staying in your room.Other bonus is you can sample Burmese food here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This hotel is decent with good location, good value for money with more than willing to help staffs especially the hotel manager.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mela008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The Mandalay cost me $7 per night for a single bed with a fan and hot water. The staff are absolutely fantastic and the rooms are neat and clean. Nothing is too much trouble, they have a restaurant with reasonable prices.
They also have a roof top gym and the equipment is fairly new and there is a variety.
I would highly recommend this palce if you are staying in Siem Riep!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The price for the type of family room we got (w/ Air-con, TV, warm & cold water, etc) was really cheap. There's not much space for a big luggage so it's important that you bring a small bag when traveling to Siem Reap. There is no separate compartment for shower, so the floor and toilet bowl will become wet if you're not the first one to use it, but this did not really cause a major problem.

The staff were hospitable and very accommodating. When we had to check out very early in the morning, our request for hot water so we can have some coffee in our room before we left for the airport was readily granted.

Their in-house restaurant does not really serve good food, but the place is close to Pub St where you can have a wide choice of restaurants to have lunch or dinner. The Old Market is also nearby in case you want to buy souvenirs of your trip to Siem Reap.
Although there is free internet use, the computer is quite slow.

There might be instances where some staff might have difficulty understanding your requests, but their eagerness to please their guest is very commendable.

In general, this is a good place to stay during your visit to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AletaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed a few times and was looked after very well. It was nice to use a gym which though basic, did the job. In terms of price, it was quite reasonable and while slightly cheaper alternatives are available, they aren't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#189 of 343 in Siem Reap
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#212 of 343 in Siem Reap
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#165 of 343 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#107 of 343 in Siem Reap
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#128 of 343 in Siem Reap
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#126 of 343 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing