We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angkor Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #73 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

My first impression was not positive (airport pickup wasn't there, turns out driver was off in corner talking to friend for 10 minutes), so I had pretty low expectations for this hotel. Everything changed once we set foot on the property. It is a resort setting off the main road leading into town with a large central pool complex. Pool is very nice & relaxing; rooms are nice & spacious. Free breakfast buffet was spectacular, very nicely done.

Service was extraordinary, from check-in to departure. Asked for mayonnaise while at the pool bar. The waiter said they didn't have any, but to wait a few minutes. Lo & behold he comes back with a bowl of homemade mayonnaise. Had some problems with the A/C in my room & they tested 8 different rooms at 10:30 at night to find one that was satisfactory. Sogheap, the am dining room captain, was truly outstanding. The rest of the staff helped out with some unusual requests.

Hotel is not in the center of town, but didn't find it to be an issue whatsoever. Had a driver during the day & took the free shuttle bus into town. Also, it only cost $2-4 for a tuk-tuk.

Definitely would recommend to anyone visiting SR/Angkor Wat, a very good value & great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngkorPalaceResort, eCommerce Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2010
Dear Nyctravelr,

Thank you very much for your time in providing such valuable feedback to our resort. Your valuable feedback helps us to look at areas that we need to improve in, especially areas where only discerning guests like yourself will be able to notice.

We are truly sorry to hear that the experience you have had upon your arrival at the airport did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we will certainly review with our operation team in order to provide the outstanding service to all our patrons.

It is gratifying that the Angkor Palace Resort & Spa played some part in your enjoyment of Cambodia and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back, we remain.


Best regards,

Hang Vannak
eCommerce Manager
Angkor Palace Resort & Spa – A SUMMIT Hotels & Resorts
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    330
    72
    27
    16
See reviews for
288
469
72
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Our hotel room was spacious and luxurious. The service at the hotel was excellent especially the staff and management at the breakfast and lunch service. Kong Heng did an outstanding job. The pool and surrounding areas were relaxing, secluded and tropical. The spa was very professionally run and the facilities were excellent. Great steam room. A good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Free shuttle service into the town was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

My wife and I spent four nights at the Angkor Palace in Sioem Riep and found it to be excellent in every way.

The entire resort was first class and so was our spacious room with a very luxurious barthroom and a balcony overlooking the pool.

The pool is very large and and the grounds are very well landscaped and maintained.
Massages at $ 35.00 are a bit high for S/E Asia standards.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and very good. Every employee we dealt with was super friendly and helpful. We, especially, liked our dinner waiter Leaf Louem.

If there is one thing I'd prefere that would be that the location be closer to the city.

Great hotel, great managment, great service !

We'd go back any time.

Fred and Jane

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We chose Angkor Palace Spa and Resort based on Tripadvisor reviews and price. It was good value (when booking directly via the hotel website) compared to other 5* hotels in siem reap.It fully lived up to our expectations. The Premium de luxe rooms were clean and spacious and had a nice modern bathroom with separate shower. There was a patio outside looking on to the garden beside the wonderful swimming pool. Breakfasts (included in the price) were outstanding with an excellent choice to suit every nationality. It was a short tuk-tuk ride from the hotel to Siem Reap centre (3$). Free internet in the business lounge and very helpful., polite and attentive staff. Be sure to book via the hotel web site for the best price - we saved about 35% by doing this vs the original booking we made via one of the worldwide hotel booking sites.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed here for 5 days in February. The hotel is truly luxurious, from the huge lobby with it's teak floors and sofas, to the beautiful gardens in which it sits and onto our room with kingsize bed, fresh fruit, more teak and a good sized bathroom and shower, (not the miniscule efforts we get in Europe). There is a good size, (and very clean) pool with pool bar and plenty of sun loungers, (try the watermelon or mango smoothies), there is a spa where you can have nice treatments and massages and there is even a golf range/course although we didn't try it. The food in the restaurants was delicious and breakfast, which was included in the price, was, to say the least varied. Everything from pancakes with maple syrup, to omelettes, fresh fruit or beans on toast. Delicious! The staff were brilliant also. Always friendly, always available to help and so polite. The location of the hotel is fine for getting to Angkor or into town for an evening and they provide a free minibus services for the latter and can arrange tours with a guide for the former. We have stayed at many hotels and we really felt like we were being treated like royalty here. Service, cleanliness, rooms and food all get top marks.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

This is a very large hotel set in beautiful grounds, just a few kms West of Siem Reap on the road to the airport.
The rooms are large and very comfortable as are the bathrooms. The pool is simply stunning. The whole property is very clean and well maintained.
However, if like us you happen to get one of the rooms located towards the end of the West wing prepare for a long walk back to the reception.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel does seem to cater primarily for large groups. As a couple travelling independently, we felt that service was rather slow in the restaurants.
While the food was good, it was nothing special by Siem Reap's high standards. We found breakfast particularly uninteresting. Firstly, the choice of cheeses, cold meats, breads and sweets is rather limited. Secondly the breakfast room on the ground floor is dark and seems oddly small for such a large hotel.

Another annoying feature is the fact that the tour desk obviously has very little to do. Therefore, upon seeing any unaccompanied tourists in the lobby area, there's a tendency to go and try to sell something.

While the Angkor Palace is a very comfortable base to explore the marvels of Angkor and I'd have no problems staying there again, I feel it lacks the charm and attention to detail needed to make it a truly great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the pool is to die for. They have a great staff and a great breakfast spread. The only issues I had was that the beds are unusually hard. I know Asia like a stiff mattress, but this was a little crazy. The water never got hot enough for me when taking a shower. And the hotel is set back down a private road, so when you are at the hotel, you don't even realize that you are in Cambodia. But for that reason the hotel can be very romantic. It was def worth the price they charge.

AMENITITES:
The rooms are very spacious. Not only do you have a large bathroom, bedroom with desk and TV and a bed (with a very hard mattress), but you also get a little tiny patio for when you get back from the pool. And the grounds are so green and lush with frogs that it's nice just to sit outside.
The pool is the best pool in Siem Reap. It has a swim up bar and is huge enough to swim around all day.

LOCATION:
This hotel is down a private road. You will not see or hear anything that isn't hotel related. And if you need to go to the store, pub street, or sightseeing, you will need a cab.

RECOMMENDATION:
I would recommend this hotel to couples who are looking for a quiet romantic getaway.

PROS:
- Pool is huge and amazing
- The hotel and the grounds are beautiful
- Quiet and Romantic
- Buffet Breakfast was great

CONS:
- Extra firm bed
- Hot Water never got HOT

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronessEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.6 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#61 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Residence & Villa
Palace Residence & Villa
#134 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Angkor Palace Resort & Spa
Address: No. 555, Phum Krous | Khum Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17200, Cambodia (Formerly Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#21 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Angkor Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, the perfect base to explore the legendary Angkor Temples and undiscovered treasures in Cambodia. The only international 5-star resort designed and built by a Cambodian architect, its décor and furnishing reflect the finest in Cambodian architecture, befitting royalty and dignitaries. Nestled invitingly within a spacious 11-hectare estate, the lush resort offers you the serenity of a secluded retreat whilst ensuring you are provided with every possible convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Angkor Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace, Resort And Spa
Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Palace Hotel
Angkor Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing