We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an endearing haven of peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #120 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“an endearing haven of peace”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just spend 4 days at the Journey Within with our 2 kids (6 and almost 1 year old). The owners and the staff are beyond gracious and attentive. The staff is genuinely happy to make your stay the best ever because the owners foster a very rewarding atmosphere there. they take care of the staff by ensuring their children have a better future since they send them to the free school they built right next door.
The hotel itself is very well built and the room are huge, with a gorgeous bathroom. The beds are more heavenly than the Westin.
They planned for everything while we stayed there (the trips to the temples, to the city and markets, to the airport). is was a hassle-free relaxing trip like you hope to have with 2 kids.
My son loved playing with the owner's kids and their dog. it was so friendly, we regretted to stay so little...
I will recommend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
138
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

i stayed here for 2 weeks as a solo traveler to get away from the usual hustle & bustle of a city life. the staff, facility & food was very good here. it's definitely a little of everything for all travelers. it is a very quaint place ran by very down-to-earth owners & staff. the room, bathroom, poolside, tropical outdoors were all very well-kept. my room was ALWAYS cleaned after coming back. the staff is very trustworthy, friendly & always wears smiles.

their community center next door is a treasure chest awaiting those who want to give back a bit of time to the country. with just a few hours of volunteering with children, adult students & other projects, this place is an absolute to visit.

i don't remember when i had such a great relaxing time at an inn such as this. the poolside was always a pleasure to enjoy. there really was no worrying & they also provide free tuk-tuk rides into town in the evening, your fridge is always stocked with soda & the rooms are replenish with bottled water everyday.

this is definitely a place to return & tell friends & family about: it was extremely safe, clean, friendly & very comfortable. what more is there to look for in a place? enjoy it as much as i did!!! :)

Room Tip: all rooms were well-cleaned from what i saw. the best part of it was that each room had it's own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have just returned to Singapore after a 4 day trip to Siem Reap. We had two aims one to visit Cambodia for the first time and also to run the Angkor Wat Half Marathon. As we were taking our children, aged 12, 9 and 7 our priority in finding accommodation was somewhere we could trust to look after the children whilst we both ran the race. Andrea and Brandon were both fantastic and organised a very early breakfast for us on race day 5am!, a tuk tuk to the race at 5.30 and then bought the children along for about 8am to see us both finish,this meant they did not have to get up so early as well. Not only did this part of the holiday go well, but the tour guide, airconditioned car, quad biking expedition were all fantastic. Plenty of cold water and cold towels in the car was most welcome as the temperature increased. The children absolutely loved their experience of Cambodia - and certainly staying at Journeys Within made it for us. They loved the breakfast and thought ordering it the night before was great fun, the pool refreshing, the play area, even the family dog! We ate out at several recommended restaurants in Siem Reap including the FCC but still found the food at Journeys Within to be the best and best value too! We also had a lovely relaxing massage the day before the race. The rooms were very spacious, tastefully and thoughtfully presented and finding interconnecting rooms is often tricky so that was great too as indeed was having a Netbook in the room. The staff were all so friendly, welcoming and could not do enough for you - bringing glasses of water out to the pool without even being asked. Our eldest daughter spent some time in an art class being run for the local children next door at the the Journeys Within Our Community and it was clear just how much Brandon/Andrea and their team have helped the local community. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Some might say it is a little out of the centre of town but actually we found this an advantage to get away from the hustle and bustle and it is less than 10 mins in a tuk tuk and the kids loved riding around in those anyway! I would recommend this hotel to all travellers/ages but it is excellent at catering for those with children and babies. Thank you so much for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SACHA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Our recent 3-night stay at Journeys Within probably would have been great if our room had been ready for hotel guests - unfortunately, it was not. We stayed in a new building where all the other rooms were still under construction and they really should not have opened the room we were put in (room #9).

Problems we encountered:
1. No hot water for most of our stay (apparently one of the construction guys kept turning it off)
2. In-room safe did not work (staff brought a new one after we notified them)
3. Came back to hotel one afternoon to find our door unlocked and open (someone from staff had come in to check something and left the door open)
4. Cleaning person kept unplugging mini fridge; we were trying to keep our drinks cold
5. Bugs swarmed around the door in the evenings and crawled under our door, so there were A LOT of bugs in the room
6. When we asked front desk to make a reservation for us at a popular local restaurant, they insisted we didn't need one; when we arrived at the restaurant, they were completely booked

The good:
1. Good location - away from the noise and chaos around the central city, peaceful spot
2. Staff is incredibly friendly, although not always totally capable of understanding and solving problems
3. Good breakfast included in room rate
4. Room was very spacious and should be nice when it's ready

If you decide to stay here any time soon, I'd recommend requesting one of the older rooms that is definitely ready for guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was our second visit to Siem Reap and Journeys Within. My partner and I like to book our holidays independently, but having stayed at JW before and experienced a wonderful stay, we decided to ask Andrea to plan our second visit to Cambodia, and we weren't disappointed. We stayed at JW for 6 nights. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely sized balcony. I can't say enough about the fantastic staff and the wonderful service that they provide. Although there were building works going on during our stay, it didn't impact on our enjoyment at all - we were happy that JW were able to expand in order to allow even more people to stay there in the future. Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before and served inside or out (depending on the weather) - always cooked to perfection. We occasionally had lunch there which was also lovely. One small point - proper 'English' tea bags would have made breakfast complete, but it's not even worth complaining about. We will bring our own next time!! We had pre-booked our tuk tuk driver and guide before the trip - they were always punctual, unfailingly polite, informative and friendly when on our trips. We were lucky enough to spend an afternoon at Journeys Within Our Community nextdoor to the hotel to help out at an English class for adults. We were so impressed with the work that Brandon and Andrea do for the local community and how it impacts on their life chances. Siem Reap is a truly magnificent place and we can't wait to go back to JW soon (August 2013 to be exact!) What stood out for us the most was the freindly welcome we received every time we returned from an outing - it sounds cliched but we honestly felt as though we were returning home every night, such was the warmth and kindness of all the staff. Do not hesitate to stay here when you are in town! You will have an amazing time. Guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We contacted Journey's Within a few months ago when we decided we wanted to take our 7 year-old out of suburbia to teach him how to really be grateful on Thanksgiving. What a marvelous trip! We simply told Journey's Within tour company our budget and a rough idea of what we'd like to see and they planned it all. For UNDER budget.

The hotel was immaculate and thoughtfully planned. We stayed in the new family suite. There were two rooms with a door between and two bathrooms. The kid's suite was huge. We could have slept at least 5 kids in there. Our room was well appointed and lovely. The furniture was handmade by local artisans from sketches Andrea had made. So beautiful, but durable enough for my son and some other kids not to destroy. The linens were divine after our long flight. The bathrooms, with rock floor shower and generous shower head, were beautiful.

There were thoughtful touches; Andrea, the hotel owner, got tired of wasting so much soap so she simply went to the factory and asked them to give her a large portions she could just cut. The shampoo and conditioner were not the regular cheap hotel crap. There was A/C in every room, mini fridge drinks were free. The staff did our laundry! When you arrive they greet you with fresh drinks and Cambodian scarves as a welcome present on your bed.

The hotel has a casual restaurant that has western and Cambodian food but really they will make you whatever you want. You can eat it in your room, under the fans on your private lanai or at the glass enclosed cafe. The kitchen staff are awesome. We taught them how to make chocolate chip cookies and they also let us use the kitchen to make pumpkin cake on Thanksgiving. Want coconut curry? No worries, someone just goes outside and CLIMBS A PALM TREE to get you some.

My son was desperate to try out the fish pond on the property and Brandon, the hotel owner, loaned him a pole, baited it and waited with him. When they caught a fish, the restaurant staff cleaned and prepared it for him and served it to us for dinner. That is SERVICE!!

The hotel also has a kids' club. I would not have imagined leaving my son in the care of strangers in a foreign country to go out to dinner, but when I met "D" and the rest of the kids' club team I was sure they were better parents then I am. The kids club also cares for Andrea and Brandon's children for some of the day so there are always playmates!

I know this is just a hotel review, but I'd be remiss if I did not also mention the tour guide and non-profit services Journey's Within encompasses. Using their tour guides was seemless. I can tell they handpick people they think are a good match. I never felt unsafe or nervous. My favorite moment was entering Angkor Wat thru the back way that other people didn't know about. It was empty and quiet. I felt like Indiana Jones.

We also spent an afternoon teaching children in an art class at the non-profit they run next door. Amazing.

Room Tip: Request the family suite, but really any room would do. Some of the bungalows have steep stairs whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spamgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely - clean and spacious and well thought out. The staff friendly and keen to assist. Being out of the main drag was a welcome relief. Tours were well organized with fantastic tour staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evnt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.4 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
15.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
15.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#78 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#109 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Property: Community Residence Siem Reap
Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing