We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, beautiful, peaceful, gracious boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #119 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Guttenberg, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic, beautiful, peaceful, gracious boutique hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Journey's Within Boutique Hotel for 4 nights when we were in Cambodia. The owners of the hotel made our stay a wonderful experience. The staff is super friendly and gracious attending to our every need even before we asked. The room was gorgeous,.Flower pedals were scattered on the bed and the bathroom was like a spa bathroom.
We also used Journey's Within to plan our customized 4 week tour for the two of us. We were treated like VIPs wherever we went. We found them to be extremely conscientious and planned a beautiful and memorable trip for us that spanned Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos. I highly recommend them as a tour company and to travelers who are visiting Cambodia. There guides promptly showed up at each airport to meet our plane when we arrived. Took us around to all the sites we wanted to see or they suggested. They were flexible when we wanted to change the agenda. And accompanied us to the airport when we were moving on to the next country. Their agents helped us get through customer with speed and in general made our experience seamless.

Room Tip: Every room here must be a good room. Individual bungalow type accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
138
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

When we told people that we were bringing our three- and two-year-olds to Cambodia the reactions were almost universally of disbelief. Wasn't it unsafe, how would we entertain the kids, etc.

having now been to Journeys Within, I have to say we would come back to Cambodia any day: and it's largely due to the hotel.

We stayed in the family room - everything that has been said so far is right, the house is great: we slept upstairs and the children slept downstairs, we had breakfast delivered to the room and at night we had dinner delivered to the room for the kids. The pool is great for kids (they have pool toys), they have a great playground and a play room. One of the staff members kindly volunteered to babysit at night so that we could go out and explore Siem Reap by night. All in all it was super.

The hotel also organises tours... But we found them quite expensive, so we hired our own guide through recommendations on trip advisor and that worked fine for us.

All in all I can't recommend this hotel highly enough to all families with small children.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We spent one month touring Cambodia Vietnam Laos and Thailand with Journey's Within. Andrea and Brandon and the team provide seamless, reliable and top of the line care. They help support education and job training for youth in every country. Every hotel and restaurant or tour package they suggested was terrific. We felt taken care of all the time. We rode elephants, went to cooking classes, were in sanpans in the Mekong Delta and slept on a Chinese style junk in Ha Long Bay. The boutique hotels are beautiful and the breakfasts are to die for. Without one doubt we recommend Journey's Within and we are world travelers. You make your own individual tour and our met at the airport by their rep. from the hotel you will take your own day trip and have your eves free. They are the best. Do not look any further for a tour. Ken Ludmer

Room Tip: in Siem Reap any room at the hotel is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kclud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at Journeys within for a week during our friends recent wedding in Cambodia. We stayed in a beautifully presented bungalow style adjoining rooms as we were travelling with my mother and 2 young children (1 year and 3 years). I can not be more profuse in my praise for the team at Journeys Within for the exceptional experience they gave to every member of our family - it was literally a tailored one complete with complimentary 1 hour massages for each of the adults (day spa on site!), pool side drinks (unprompted!), the kids club - the 3 year old tells all friends this was the highlight of his trip to Cambodia and he can't wait to go back!!, an ever willing, loving set of hands ready to cuddle our baby or take care of her while we swam, ate etc! The rooms are beautifully maintained and the food exceptional. Having spent 2 weeks in Cambodia for a friends wedding staying at Journey's within and eating their food was literally the only time we didn't have upset tummy's - food preparation is obviously impeccably managed!! The owners are the most beautiful, interesting and genuine people you could hope to meet making a significant impact on the local community with the education they are providing locals through the Journeys within school, health- through the fresh water scheme and micro finance. Our children participated in some of the activities at the school with the local children - it was an incredible experience for us all. If I haven't ensured you book straight away and you are looking at other options - I can give a comparable recommendation against the other accommodation we stayed in during our time in Cambodia and say Journey's within was by far the best of the 3 places we stayed: Hotel de La Paix (beautiful but not at all authentic, over the top and not relaxing - food not well prepared with upset tummy's non stop for all), Hotel Himawari - just a big hotel that could have been anywhere in the world. Take our advice and book Journey's within today - you will have a magical and relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuttOnfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at the Journeys-Within Boutique Hotel for three nights and four days. Our every wish of a place to stay in Siem Reap was answered at this property. It is well situated, a short tuk-tuk ride (provided free round-trip by the hotel in the evening) into the heart of town, bordered by fields and local homes, it feels like an oasis amidst the mixture of nature, poverty and development that defines Siem Reap. From the moment we stepped off the shuttle van, to the moment we departed for the airport, we felt a genuine sense of care and attention provided by each and every staff person at the hotel. We were greeted with cold water and delightfully scented washcloths, our bags somehow disappeared from our hands and whisked their way to our rooms. The main lobby has a bookcase containing both books you can borrow/take (a godsend for our son who was hungering for more Harry Potter, a book we just couldn't justify lugging all over SE Asia and here it was for the taking!), plus a veritable treasure trove of tour, guide and narrative books available for borrowing only. I could have spend weeks in that lobby alone! The staff greeted us with smiles any time of the day and went out of their way to help us. The restaurant on site serves scrumptious Cambodian and western dishes, we never ran out of options for our very picky eater child. The pool onsite is wonderful, perfect temperature and a great sun deck surrounding so you can get sun or shade as you prefer. Cold water appeared at our sides whenever we visited the pool, another sign of remarkably attentive staff. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathroom is well appointed with a wonderful rainfall style shower head. Great environmental controls in the room with both fan and A/C and porch screen doors to allow any combination of air comfort desirable.
Next to the hotel is a school that is part of the Journeys-Within community service commitment. We spent an hour (two parents and our 11yo daughter) volunteering in an English language learning class. If you can find the time to do this, definitely offer your help, it is quite rewarding and enriching to give back to the Cambodian community.
There is a massage service on site as well, we booked both a full massage and a head-neck massage, both very enjoyable. Just remember that Cambodian massage is very similar to Thai massage and employs deep pressure points rather than sweeping muscles a in Swedish massage.
The hotel has a kids' space where our kids spent several hours playing with the owners' kids as well as other hotel guests. There are toys and games appropriate for early school age through preteen, our kids would probably still be there if we didn't require their presence for the rest of our trip. The kid space was well supervised, we allowed our kids to explore the property on their own and felt very safe with not providing our own direct supervision.
Only advice we want to offer is consider bringing ear plugs in case the local dogs or roosters decide to wake up early. We experienced these animals one early morning, forgetting that the rural animals live on a clock quite disparate from our own.
We will be back to this wonderful community, I only wish they could clone themselves over the world!

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the central courtyard, all rooms are perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTW-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just spend 4 days at the Journey Within with our 2 kids (6 and almost 1 year old). The owners and the staff are beyond gracious and attentive. The staff is genuinely happy to make your stay the best ever because the owners foster a very rewarding atmosphere there. they take care of the staff by ensuring their children have a better future since they send them to the free school they built right next door.
The hotel itself is very well built and the room are huge, with a gorgeous bathroom. The beds are more heavenly than the Westin.
They planned for everything while we stayed there (the trips to the temples, to the city and markets, to the airport). is was a hassle-free relaxing trip like you hope to have with 2 kids.
My son loved playing with the owner's kids and their dog. it was so friendly, we regretted to stay so little...
I will recommend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

i stayed here for 2 weeks as a solo traveler to get away from the usual hustle & bustle of a city life. the staff, facility & food was very good here. it's definitely a little of everything for all travelers. it is a very quaint place ran by very down-to-earth owners & staff. the room, bathroom, poolside, tropical outdoors were all very well-kept. my room was ALWAYS cleaned after coming back. the staff is very trustworthy, friendly & always wears smiles.

their community center next door is a treasure chest awaiting those who want to give back a bit of time to the country. with just a few hours of volunteering with children, adult students & other projects, this place is an absolute to visit.

i don't remember when i had such a great relaxing time at an inn such as this. the poolside was always a pleasure to enjoy. there really was no worrying & they also provide free tuk-tuk rides into town in the evening, your fridge is always stocked with soda & the rooms are replenish with bottled water everyday.

this is definitely a place to return & tell friends & family about: it was extremely safe, clean, friendly & very comfortable. what more is there to look for in a place? enjoy it as much as i did!!! :)

Room Tip: all rooms were well-cleaned from what i saw. the best part of it was that each room had it's own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.4 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
15.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
15.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#77 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#111 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Property: Community Residence Siem Reap
Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing