We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #138 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 1 April 2008

This is a one of a kind getaway....beautiful rooms, friendly staff and fellow guests, and excellent service. This is a must if you like good conversations and new experiences. Leave the hotel style accomodations for another trip!

Staying here is really amazing for the unique "off the beaten track" experience. I would highly recommend talking to staff about the Journey's Within Our Community non-profit organization-these were some of the most memorable experiences of my trip to south-east Asia.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank VaticanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

My wife and I were on our way to Vietnam, but when we heard that VN was already getting a bit spoiled with foreigners we decided at the last minute to go to Cambodia. Were we amazed!!!! Everyone at home (US) asked us the question....isn't Cambodia dangerous? Well I can't say for sure if there are not dangerous places in Cambodia, but we did not experience any issues. We think a lot of this was because of the great staff and careful attention to detail they provided us at Journey's Within.

The B and B was comfortable, everyone there was helpful and courteous and the meals (small price but big value), laundry service everyday (free) and the easy access to tours/drivers (20$/day)/Guides (25$/day) made it one of the most "luxurious" experiences we have ever had for the dollar (and we have lots of experience staying at the best hotels for both work and fun).

The US Ex-Pat couple who runs the business also support charitable causes and have a foundation where they provide financial support to local upstart business' and individual education. They can also hook you up with volunteering your services around the area, if you are so inclined. We ran into quite a few folks who were doing these types of activities and they seem to be quite fulfilled at the end of each day.

We would HIGHLY recommend JW for your stay in Cambodia!

Sal and Dave C

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fab40traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We didn't want our stay in Cambodia to be another 5* hotel experience where you could be almost anywhere in the world and yet we didn't want to compromise on quality. JW was chosen after reading reports on tripadvisor. The place was perfect.
After being collected from the airport we were met by Brandon (co-owner with his wife) he is a wealth of knowledge and talked to us about our itinery and possible choices for the rest of the day . We chose to go to a newly opened museum - a perfect pre-amble for our visit to the temples planned for the following day. We also visited the Artisan centre to see students at work making crafts which are sold to support the projects there.
Our room (rattan bungalow) was a lovely very spacious, sunny, calm, clean with king size comfy bed and every amenity. It overlooked the large and also very clean pool. It had a contemporary style bathroom with fantastic shower!!.
It was a treat to put laundry in the basket and it came back laundered the same day. The staff were always smiling and attentive never intrusive - the food excellent (no MSG).
Breakfast cooked fresh and plenty of choices and lots of lovely fresh fruits.
Our guide Sina deserves a special mention a very knowledgeable guide with good english who was very patient and attentive.
On our last night Brandon invited all the guests for drinks in family part of the house (His wife Andrea and 2 children were back in the States visiting family) it was good to meet the other guests and hear their experiences of their travels.
We would have no hesitation recommending JW to anybody and plan a return trip to explore more of Cambodia and will certainly trust the JW tour company to help plan our next trip. As a non-profit making organisation we wish them well to continue their good work.
catherine and barry leeds UK

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CandB_Leeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Stayed for 2 nights. great place, great room, great breakfast and the personal is fantastic (just found the boss a bit "vacant").

Stayed: March 2008
Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2008

The staff & accommodations were wonderful. A great swimming pool. The tours & the guides were outstanding. Jim & Ann Omaha, NE

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Teddy-Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I stayed there for 5 nights as a single traveler and cannot rave enough about how wonderful everyone in the organization was to deal with from the travel agency based in the USA to the people working at the B and B. The entire B and B is well decorated and simple, making for an uncluttered serene experience. It feels like staying at a luxury resort - not because of the way the place looks (and it is lovely) but because of how kind and earnestly attentative everyone is. They take your breakfast order the night before and no matter what time you head out (I was leaving at 6 am to avoid the masses at the temples and the heat) there is a cheerful person at 5:30am serving you your coffee with a smile. During the days when I hung out by the pool someone would bring a cool glass of water and iced face clothes to help beat the heat. The room is set up for total comfort with air con and fans. There was a DVD player, satellite TV, a kettle, and a safe. Laundry is included for free and they wash everyday. They were in the process of setting up wireless but meanwhile had a computer set up in the front house to access personal email at no charge. Every evening when I returned from the days adventures someone would come to the front and greet me and review the next days schedule so I quickly stopped having to think abot the schedule because they were so on top of it. But I think that what impressed me the most about this B and B was how much of a family feel it had. The style caters to bringing the traveler into the community they are visiting and everyone is always greeting you with a joyous smile (I live in China where it is truly the opposite so this was a breath of fresh air) and a willingness to share their personal stories with their guests. This holiday was so special simply because I stayed at Journey's and would recommend it to all from all walks of life - single, honeymoon, senior, families etc.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HappyTravelerEAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

i cannot recommend Journeys Within highly enough. The B&B is simply the best: large, clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms with gorgeous bathrooms , fabulous food, exceptionally good service, beautiful pool & gardens. As a matter of fact, food was so good, the beer so cold and the setting so lovely, that we ate many evening meals on our patio outside the room. Andrea & Brandon Ross and their staff truly make every effort to make you feel at home in their home.

We stayed in the bungalows for the 1st week of a 2-week tour of Cambodia arranged for us by Andrea. It was very easy to work with Andrea via e-mail to arrange this tour which included accomodations in Siem Reap, Battambang & Phnom Penh, sightseeing, boats & vans, drivers, guides, most meals - an affordable way to gain a real insight into Cambodia. I highly recommend using Journeys Within for a memorable visit to Cambodia.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#123 of 384 in Siem Reap
283 reviews
15.4 mi away
The White Terrace Hotel
The White Terrace Hotel
#72 of 384 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#52 of 384 in Siem Reap
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#34 of 384 in Siem Reap
394 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#33 of 384 in Siem Reap
536 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £20 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing