We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden jewel with a well deserved top (#4) ranking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #120 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Le Lude, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden jewel with a well deserved top (#4) ranking”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Just the right size for a boutique hotel : 14 rooms and one family suite spread over 5 bungalows all looking out on the nice sized pool in the midst of a well maintained garden. Friendly and informative welcome by management (owner?). Smiling and very helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and well decorated in an elegant and spartan yet tropical and comfortable style. Good breakfast and possibility of getting lunch or dinner in the breakfast room, although JW claims to be only a bed and breakfast.

Best of all : a host of nice little attentions which made our stay a delight. A welcoming present of scarves laid out on the bed, a laptop available in the room, a complimentary straw hat next to the rolled towel (complete with hibiscus flower) on each unused poolside deck chair, free tuk-tuks into town and back from 6 to 9 pm, excellent recommendations of tour guides and city restaurants, flawless WiFi, glasses of ice water brought upon daily arrival at poolside, and more ...

There is even a free laundry service, although I would not mind paying if it meant decent ironing of the clothes....

Overall, a warm and cosy feel of subdued luxury which is the essence of true bliss for the well-seasoned traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
138
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Incredibly accommodating staff. Lovely poolside room. Everything that you want, they'll organise - trips, restaurant bookings. Good food whenever you want it - drinks by the pool - what's not to like?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiersStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I’m a procrastinator so writing my review now after staying at the hotel back in May 2012.
Journey’s Within Hotel exceeded my expectations in every way possible. Our stay at the hotel made our vacation. After sightseeing with two young kids during oppressive heat the hotel was a calm oasis to return to. The rooms were extremely clean, spacious, stylish and beds were super comfortable. I loved the art work in our room so much that we went into town to buy a few prints for our home. They even had toys at the pool for the kids to play with.
The staff was very helpful, friendly and really made us feel at home. The information book in our room included the names, pictures and other information about the staff that made it feel like it really was a family that you were staying with. So many personal touches that made our stay so amazing.
My kids are extremely picky eaters who usually live on buttered white rice and water when we vacation in Asia but they loved the food at the hotel. My husband and I thought the food was amazing - very fresh, extremely tasty and better than most restaurants that we eat at. Was really pleased since we knew we would be at the hotel during lunch while we spent the hottest part of the day longing around the pool. We even stayed for dinner most nights just because it was so tasty. Would go back just for the crepes and chocolate-peanut butter milkshakes alone.

Room Tip: If you have children, the adjoining rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephG282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked our stay and travel through Journey's Within from the United States and it was first class all the way. Our rom overlooked the pool area which was in a large garden set back from the road. The room was very large and had a king bed and shower with lots of hot water. Not only was there Wi Fi bit a laptop in the room. Breakfast was very good as was lunch. They provide transportation to town for dinner or we could have eaten on site. Staff was very helpful and found my luggage in Bangkok after a US airline had failed to tranfer it to our Asian connection in LA.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Lovely staff, excellent food, modern large family rooms - which consist of two rooms interconnecting - with two bathrooms and large deck. Rooms include breakfast daily, internet, minibar (except beer $1.50 a can), daily service, laundry also free, and free evening tuk tuk 6-9pm to town. Oil Massage also great $25 for 90mins. Nice restaurant for breakfast lunch or dinner. Journey within has its own tour company so we booked all tours with them private basis. Definitely recommend :) only 9 rooms - 2 of our days we were the only guests. Just loved this resort

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquetravelbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! The customer service was second to none, the staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful, they spoke great English. Location is a bit out of the main drag but it seems that most hotels are and they have free tuk tuks to the centre around dinner time. Rooms were big and clean, with lots of complimentary drinking water and free soft drinks in the mini bar. Pool is delightful, a great temperature and nice pool lounges each with a wide brimmed straw hat to protect you from the sun. The hotel runs heaps of projects to support the local community which when you see some of the poor children around Siem Reap is really lovely to see.

One other thing that I have never experienced before, our flight out of Siem Reap wasn't until 7pm and because no one was staying in the room the day we checked out Brandon, the owner, let us stay right up until we needed to be at the airport! No extra charges and no worries. We really appreciated it because it meant a swim and shower after spending the day out and about before our flight. This is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDHawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
235 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The hotel is a green oasis in the dusty landscape of Siem Reap. The guest houses are painted a pristine white, with black shutters, and set in a beautifully landscaped garden. Inside there are raw silk curtains, an aesthetic array of furniture and fittings, and a modern bathroom. I loved the bath stuff - very fragrant and great quality. The rooms are large with generous verandahs. I loved the ceiling fans - very tropical touch.

The pool area is very inviting, with trellises and flowering creepers, indigo urns, and a perfect turquoise pool. A woven hat sits next to the towel on each pool lounger.

Loved the free laundry service, as you do run through a lot of clothes in the hot weather.

Service is also a strength of this lovely resort. Staff are very helpful and the front office staff speak fluent English, which is very helpful.

Breakfasts are generous, although you have to order them the previous night. Lots of fruit, good coffee, and fresh waffles, pancakes etc.

This place would be perfect if:
1. The restaurant had more variety and improved the quality of lunch/dinner offerings. Sandwiches and burgers were fine, but the local cuisine was uninspired. We had much better Khmer food in town.

2. Tuk tusk are provided free from 6-9 pm, but you pay extra if you exceed 9 o clock. Restaurant also closes by 9 pm, which gets a bit rushed if you like to dine later.

3. Internet did not work in the room. Only worked in the common areas.

4. I tried one massage and decided not to try more, as it did not compare with massages I've had in Bali or Bangkok, and I could not communicate at all with the masseuse.

But these are little things, and there are dozens of restaurants and massage places in town, and tuk tuks come cheap. Internet? Now that does need to be fixed!

Definitely recommend it. The owner Brandon, and manager Michelle, are friendly and very knowledgeable about the country.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Been2Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.4 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
15.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
15.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#78 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#109 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Property: Community Residence Siem Reap
Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing