We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We miss you Journeys!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #133 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Now that we are back into the swing of things, we can't help but miss our sun drenched afternoons by the pool after a rewarding morning visiting the temples. Why did we love journeys? Because they care and understand that customers are best when kept happy. They always welcome you with a smile, clean the rooms really well, help you with anything you might require. They organise trips, tuc tucs, dinner reservations, all with pleasure!
They also offer free laundry, how good is that!! And believe you me, you will need laundry after visiting the temples in the heat.
They do a turn-down service which includes spraying the rooms for mosquitoes and other bugs, very important in that tropical climate.
The rooms are spacious we stayed at the top bungalows overlooking the pool.
You will not be in the centre of town but they have free tuc tucs in the evening and it only takes under 10 mins to get there. And it's an adventurous experience to catch a tuc tuc, you get a real feel of the place. And if you need to catch a tuc tuc outside the free tuc tuc time, it's only Us$3.
We also used their services to get a driver and a tour guide for our visits to the temples over 3 days and they put a morning itinerary together for us which was really well planned. We enjoyed it very much. Also we had one day with nothing planned left and after chatting to Rama (sorry cant remember how to spell his name but he was one of the main local staff members at reception), he suggested catching a tuc tuc in the morning and visiting some temples we hadn't seen yet and his suggestions were very clever and an amazing surprise. He booked the tuc tuc for the morning which included the tuc tuc driver picking us up and taking us to a few temples and waiting for us and dropping us back for under Us$20 for 3 people.
Special mention to the lovely girl who served us breakfast every day and to Michelle who helped us out when we needed to scan some documents and email them. And to everyone who greeted us with a smile, ie everyone who works there!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite good as it is a small hotel, probably approx 10 rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband, Jason, and our two children, Sophia (9) and Cooper (7) and I spent the 2012 Thanksgiving weekend in Siem Reap. Like we do now with most of our travel, we relied solely on TA reviews to select a hotel and as usual, it lived up to the reviews.

The hotel is in a great location, only a short tuk-tuk ride to "downtown" and close to the airport. The rooms were perfect. We had two adjoining rooms - they were spotless, beautifully appointed with all the expected amenities plus a laptop for your convenience. The pool was the perfect size, and such a delight to come back to after a full day of sight-seeing. Also unexpected was the laundry service. Because of the heat, we blew through our packed clothes, so it was nice to have everything laundered at no charge!

But as most people say, the best part of JW is the staff. Rath was our very sweet server in the restaurant and pool area, and made such a genuine effort to get to know our family. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming - we truly felt like this was our home away from home. Our children would be upset if I didn't mention the resident dog, Tuna. They were kind of obsessed with sweet Tuna, and she followed them around the moment we returned. Every morning, she was the first thing they ran to (on the steps to the restaurant) and I admit the kids shed a tearful goodbye with her (as I did in general).

The food was also great and the tours they organized were just what we were looking for. If you're looking for a lot more detail, please visit our blog. The first day of our Cambodia trip is here: http://www.jason-ludt.blogspot.sg/2012/11/our-cambodia-adventure-day-1.html. We had a fabulous trip, and will NO doubt be back to Journey's Within. We also hope to help support their school for many years to come.

Please support this wonderful company. Kudos to Brandon and Andrea - just wish you were there so we could have met you!! Next time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer3998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Somehow I had a different impression about the appearance of the hotel and at first glance I was not impressed. But as we settled down we started to like the place. We stayed at one of the double storey bungalows called Ramayan, which was really spacious and had bathrooms on both floor. The hotel pool, just in front of our bungalow, was a real bonus after the temple tours. Being a small hotel with limited number of guests, most of the time we had the pool to ourselves.
The bungalow has one room on each floor with an open kitchen and a small bathroom on the ground floor and a bedroom and bigger bathroom on the first floor. The furniture was basic but functional and the kitchen, although we did not really use them, was well equipped. The only problem we encountered with the bungalow was the spiral staircase which was difficult to negotiate while taking up or bringing down our luggage. The bigger sofa at the ground floor room can be converted to a bed and the place can be used as a two bedroom unit as we did.
The hotel was clean, well maintained, calm and relaxing. The town centre is slightly away from the hotel and if you need to go there then the hotel provides free to and fro transfer on their tuktuk between 6 to 9 pm. As such there is not much to do at the town centre until and unless you are interested to experience “Dr. Fish” or try out the numerous restaurants available. So far we are concerned we liked the hotel restaurant food better than the town centre restaurants. In fact all the food we had at the hotel was really good and fresh and the service was outstanding.
Overall the service level and the staff attitude is the best feature of the hotel. The location was perfect for us as it is situated near to the temples, airport and town centre. It took us only ten minutes to reach the airport. We also used Journeys Within tour company for our temple tours over two days and have to say we are very impressed with their punctual and smiling service. I am happy to see that hotels like this are being favoured by travellers judging by the TA rating and hope this review helps someone in the future to try out this small and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just Little more than a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride from town, this small, neat, spacious, friendly and well-specced accomodation was an ideal place to stay for our family of 4. We had the family suite which was spacious, modern, tropical and so relaxing. Whether it be temple tours, or trips to town, or a day to the lake, its all so easy to arrange and runs like clockwork.
The staff are super friendly and hellpful, while owner Michelle or one of her very capable co-workers is there when you arrive to welcome you, give you a brief about the resort and any info you need regarding tours and Siem Reap itself.
The ambience of the resort itself is quiet, luxurient - thoroughly enjoyable. Lovely tropical gardens and a great pool with all the extras. Brekky is really nice, as is the coffee and the service in the restaurant is so good. We were very happy with the whole experience.
Thankyou so much Journeys Within - we will recommend you to all our friends.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank EdWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is my first trip to Cambodia. I booked a stay at Journey's Within due to the other positive trip advisor reviews. When we first got to the facility, it was at night and I didn't know what to expect, since it seemed to be off the beaten path, a little bit away from the other larger hotels. However the experience turned out to be one of the best hospitality experiences in my life. It is truly a personalized boutique hotel. You never need to leave the facility with your hotel key, since there is always someone waiting to greet you at your arrival back at the hotel. The restaurant facility is a beautiful, glass enclosed dining area where you can try some local foods as well as western comfort food all made fresh to order. The service is outstanding. The staff are truly friendly and anticipating your needs. We ordered room service several times, which came with the food freshly prepared, and with a smile. They have a complementary laundry service, which involves handwashing of your clothes, and line drawing of it prior to careful folding. They helped us get some last-minute laundry done even that evening just before our departure the next morning. I booked a tour with the journeys within tour company, and that was also a great experience. They pick you up at the airport and drop you off at the airport, and the drivers are timely and courteous. Another thing that I would like to add is that I had originally booked to stay for five nights, however arrived a day late due to a missed connection. The hotel operators did not try to bill me for the smithsonite, even though it obviously I missed the cancellation deadline. In summary, great experience, service that cannot be duplicated anywhere else except for a small well-run boutique hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Massarchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I found Journeys Within on Trip advisor and was not disappointed about anything. The staff is great, rooms are great, clean, comfortable. Very nice swiming pool, great restaurant, laundry service each. I can't say enough good things about this place. Tuna the resident dog was even great, extremely well mannered. My next trip back to Seim Reap I will 100% return and highly recommend. The drive to the heart of down town is a very quick 10 minutes if even that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is exactly what it feels during our stay from 3-Feb to 7-Feb-2013 in this cozy, clean and relaxing boutique hotel. From the time we arrived, the check-in process was literary an eye blink in duration; quick and efficient. The staff were pleasant, friendly and hospitable. They greeted us in their traditional Khmer greeting gesture with hands together on their chest and a head bow for respect as we reciprocated the gesture. They asked us how are trip was and asked if we needed anything at all for that moment. They then showed us to our rooms without any moment to waste and carried our bags. Upon arriving to our room, #3 Discovery Den, we were impressed by the huge area of the room. It was very neat, orderly and clean. The temperature was cooled by an air conditioning unit and the temperature in the room was perfect for a warm evening. There were 2 queen size beds, a closet big enough to store clothes, a safe, a work area with a wide enough desk, telephones, a laptop computer with WiFi in the room and throughout the entire hotel and an HD flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the work desk. In other words the room has all the gadgets one needs to be entertained and occupied. The bathroom was large and spacious enough and was very sanitary, spic and span with all the necessary modern amenities for ones personal hygiene. The beds were very comfortable and they seemed to have been customized for me. I slept like a baby through the nights and woke up very refreshed every mornings. After dressing up and our morning wash, we headed to the dining room that was a short walk through the perfectly tropical landscaped area with banana trees, tropical plants, orchids, etc. When we got to the dining room, the staff warmly welcomed us and they were very polite and friendly manner. They were extremely efficient and fast in bringing our orders. We tried almost everything on the breakfast menu that consisted primarily of both Cambodian and American choices and fresh fruits and everything was very delicious and tasty. We walked out of that dining room so stuffed that we did last until 3 or 4 in the afternoon for our next meal. They also offer lunch and dinner menus consisting again of Cambodian and Western entrees that were also delicious. Imagine being pampered like this during our entire stay... it really felt nirvana, utopia, heaven, etc., whatever you want to call it close to perfectness. In our case, there was a minor hitch with our air conditioning unit on the second day but the staff handled the matter so efficiently and conscientiously always regarding our comfort that we were very satisfied in the way they handled it. They kept apologizing for the inconvenience but I kept telling them there was no need for an apology because we were not inconvenienced. The location of this hotel was also close to the center of town and they do have complimentary tuktuk rides from 6 to 9 in the evening that was also very helpful to us when we went to town for dinner, shopping, etc. We had the opportunity to meet the administrative staff and Brandon, the owner, who was very friendly and showed concern with our total comfort by asking us "how everything was" in the hotel. Our reply, one word, "Perfect"! All-in-all that sums up our experience at this boutique hotel. From the time we were picked up by Mr. Leing, a driver, in the airport during our arrival to the time we went on our daily tours with our excellent Guide, Hoeum Vanith and to our departure, everything was "Perfect". We'll miss the place, we just wish we have the same experience here in New York, but that would be asking a bit too much! In goes without saying and unequivocally, we feel that we will return to Journeys Within Boutique Hotel during our return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecbmdpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#38 of 374 in Siem Reap
354 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#42 of 374 in Siem Reap
725 reviews
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#117 of 374 in Siem Reap
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#59 of 374 in Siem Reap
463 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#58 of 374 in Siem Reap
219 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#27 of 374 in Siem Reap
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £36 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing