We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th Wonder of the World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #139 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The universe, mankind has never seen or known such a glorious place as Journeys Within in Cambodia. Angkor Wat is not the only "Wonder of the World" in Siem Reap... Journeys Within is the "8th Wonder of the World". The team of people are modern day superheroes... superhuman. The owners, managers, chefs (guest chefs), tour guides, & entire staff are some of the greatest people who have ever walked the face of earth. I beg you, all of society, to please not deprive yourselves any longer and visit the immaculate Journeys Within.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had two nights at the Journeys Within Boutique Hotel in Siem Reap as part of our tour of Indochina which was organized by Journeys Within. We had a large modern room above the restaurant. It had everything you could need - nice comfortable beds, good air-conditioning (such a relief when it was 40 degrees outside each day!) and a good sized bathroom. The hotel also provided free wifi in the room, plenty of drinking water and free laundry which were both invaluable given the weather. The staff were absolutely fantastic - so friendly and caring - especially in the restaurant and in greeting you at all times, but particularly on arrival back at the hotel after an excursion when the key would be brought out to you as you exited the car.

We went on an afternoon trip to the village of one of the guides and it was a great afternoon - something I would thoroughly recommend. We walked through the village meeting the local kids and ended up at the guide's house where he collected some coconuts from a tree to provide us with a drink and described the life of a farmer and introduced us to his family. We provided some books and pens for the local school which were enthusiastically received by the kids.

We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening as we were pretty exhausted from climbing through the temples in the heat. The food, especially the stir fried chicken and mango dish, was excellent so don't hesitate to eat there if you're too tired to go out.

Overall there is nothing I can say by way of criticism. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed with anything that is on offer and it is all provided at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I just got back from a week in Cambodia, the first part of which we spent in Siem Reap. The whole trip was organized by Journeys Within, and in Siem Reap, we stayed at the Journeys Within Boutique Hotel. We had one of the upstairs rooms, very spacious and airy, complete with a balcony. Our very grateful thanks to Michelle and her team, Makara, Sareat, the lovely restaurant staff, our awesome driver Chandrith and one of the best guides we've had the pleasure to meet, Sina. We love the free laundry, the unlimited drinking water supply, the free tuk-tuk, the phone call from Narla, the Cambodia director of the tour company, who called when we arrived to welcome us and make sure that everything was to our satisfaction. There's not a thing they wouldn't do for us, and we can't think of anything they could have done better. They made us love and appreciate Cambodia. An enthusiastic, unconditional five stars to Journeys Within (we did not use the fitness center or spa and therefore did not rate these). After Siem Reap, we went on to Phnom Penh, that part of the trip was also organized by Journeys Within and was equally successful. If you go to Cambodia, look no further than Journeys Within.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvlwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Now that we are back into the swing of things, we can't help but miss our sun drenched afternoons by the pool after a rewarding morning visiting the temples. Why did we love journeys? Because they care and understand that customers are best when kept happy. They always welcome you with a smile, clean the rooms really well, help you with anything you might require. They organise trips, tuc tucs, dinner reservations, all with pleasure!
They also offer free laundry, how good is that!! And believe you me, you will need laundry after visiting the temples in the heat.
They do a turn-down service which includes spraying the rooms for mosquitoes and other bugs, very important in that tropical climate.
The rooms are spacious we stayed at the top bungalows overlooking the pool.
You will not be in the centre of town but they have free tuc tucs in the evening and it only takes under 10 mins to get there. And it's an adventurous experience to catch a tuc tuc, you get a real feel of the place. And if you need to catch a tuc tuc outside the free tuc tuc time, it's only Us$3.
We also used their services to get a driver and a tour guide for our visits to the temples over 3 days and they put a morning itinerary together for us which was really well planned. We enjoyed it very much. Also we had one day with nothing planned left and after chatting to Rama (sorry cant remember how to spell his name but he was one of the main local staff members at reception), he suggested catching a tuc tuc in the morning and visiting some temples we hadn't seen yet and his suggestions were very clever and an amazing surprise. He booked the tuc tuc for the morning which included the tuc tuc driver picking us up and taking us to a few temples and waiting for us and dropping us back for under Us$20 for 3 people.
Special mention to the lovely girl who served us breakfast every day and to Michelle who helped us out when we needed to scan some documents and email them. And to everyone who greeted us with a smile, ie everyone who works there!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite good as it is a small hotel, probably approx 10 rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband, Jason, and our two children, Sophia (9) and Cooper (7) and I spent the 2012 Thanksgiving weekend in Siem Reap. Like we do now with most of our travel, we relied solely on TA reviews to select a hotel and as usual, it lived up to the reviews.

The hotel is in a great location, only a short tuk-tuk ride to "downtown" and close to the airport. The rooms were perfect. We had two adjoining rooms - they were spotless, beautifully appointed with all the expected amenities plus a laptop for your convenience. The pool was the perfect size, and such a delight to come back to after a full day of sight-seeing. Also unexpected was the laundry service. Because of the heat, we blew through our packed clothes, so it was nice to have everything laundered at no charge!

But as most people say, the best part of JW is the staff. Rath was our very sweet server in the restaurant and pool area, and made such a genuine effort to get to know our family. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming - we truly felt like this was our home away from home. Our children would be upset if I didn't mention the resident dog, Tuna. They were kind of obsessed with sweet Tuna, and she followed them around the moment we returned. Every morning, she was the first thing they ran to (on the steps to the restaurant) and I admit the kids shed a tearful goodbye with her (as I did in general).

The food was also great and the tours they organized were just what we were looking for. If you're looking for a lot more detail, please visit our blog. The first day of our Cambodia trip is here: http://www.jason-ludt.blogspot.sg/2012/11/our-cambodia-adventure-day-1.html. We had a fabulous trip, and will NO doubt be back to Journey's Within. We also hope to help support their school for many years to come.

Please support this wonderful company. Kudos to Brandon and Andrea - just wish you were there so we could have met you!! Next time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer3998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Somehow I had a different impression about the appearance of the hotel and at first glance I was not impressed. But as we settled down we started to like the place. We stayed at one of the double storey bungalows called Ramayan, which was really spacious and had bathrooms on both floor. The hotel pool, just in front of our bungalow, was a real bonus after the temple tours. Being a small hotel with limited number of guests, most of the time we had the pool to ourselves.
The bungalow has one room on each floor with an open kitchen and a small bathroom on the ground floor and a bedroom and bigger bathroom on the first floor. The furniture was basic but functional and the kitchen, although we did not really use them, was well equipped. The only problem we encountered with the bungalow was the spiral staircase which was difficult to negotiate while taking up or bringing down our luggage. The bigger sofa at the ground floor room can be converted to a bed and the place can be used as a two bedroom unit as we did.
The hotel was clean, well maintained, calm and relaxing. The town centre is slightly away from the hotel and if you need to go there then the hotel provides free to and fro transfer on their tuktuk between 6 to 9 pm. As such there is not much to do at the town centre until and unless you are interested to experience “Dr. Fish” or try out the numerous restaurants available. So far we are concerned we liked the hotel restaurant food better than the town centre restaurants. In fact all the food we had at the hotel was really good and fresh and the service was outstanding.
Overall the service level and the staff attitude is the best feature of the hotel. The location was perfect for us as it is situated near to the temples, airport and town centre. It took us only ten minutes to reach the airport. We also used Journeys Within tour company for our temple tours over two days and have to say we are very impressed with their punctual and smiling service. I am happy to see that hotels like this are being favoured by travellers judging by the TA rating and hope this review helps someone in the future to try out this small and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just Little more than a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride from town, this small, neat, spacious, friendly and well-specced accomodation was an ideal place to stay for our family of 4. We had the family suite which was spacious, modern, tropical and so relaxing. Whether it be temple tours, or trips to town, or a day to the lake, its all so easy to arrange and runs like clockwork.
The staff are super friendly and hellpful, while owner Michelle or one of her very capable co-workers is there when you arrive to welcome you, give you a brief about the resort and any info you need regarding tours and Siem Reap itself.
The ambience of the resort itself is quiet, luxurient - thoroughly enjoyable. Lovely tropical gardens and a great pool with all the extras. Brekky is really nice, as is the coffee and the service in the restaurant is so good. We were very happy with the whole experience.
Thankyou so much Journeys Within - we will recommend you to all our friends.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank EdWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#124 of 386 in Siem Reap
283 reviews
15.4 mi away
The White Terrace Hotel
The White Terrace Hotel
#74 of 386 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#52 of 386 in Siem Reap
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#33 of 386 in Siem Reap
396 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#35 of 386 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £20 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing