We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would give six stars if possible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #115 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Would give six stars if possible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights in January, 2014 in an upstairs deluxe double room. This was the BEST hotel experience of our SE Asia trip. The hospitality was topnotch and we felt so at home and welcome here.

This small 10 room hotel has modern, spacious, and beautifully decorated rooms in a quiet, lush setting. The staff were all genuinely personable and helpful. The restaurant serves excellent food. We enjoyed the food and talking with the friendly waitresses (Rath and Bowrai) so much that we ate almost all our meals here as for us it was like eating home-cooked food. The helpful and enthusiastic front desk staff, Makara, arranged an excellent guide (Mr. Soeun Sen) and driver for us for three days. Mr. Sen scheduled our visits to the temples so that we were able to avoid the worst of the big bus Asian tourists crowds. Best of all, this hotel works to improve lives of the local population by running a school for children next door.

Tips: 1) Hire a guide and driver through the hotel for a tour of the temples, 2) Get a massage by Nan, and 3) Order the sweet popcorn for an after dinner snack.

Pros:
- Super friendly and personable staff; some speak more English than others
- Oasis in Siem Reap with lush landscaping
- Restaurant on site with excellent food
- Delicious breakfast with many choices
- Modern well-decorated room
- Arranges excellent guide for tour of temples
- Relaxing massages by skillful massage therapist, Nan
- Free laundry service
- Free evening tuk tuk service
- Socially conscious hotel works with the local community
- Extremely generous supply of complimentary water and soft drinks in room fridge

Cons:
- Can be noisy in afternoon with kids playing at the pool
- At dawn and dusk, lots of mosquitoes so come armed with your repellant

Room Tip: For a couple, choose the upstairs deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFinches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
138
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We took our two children (aged 10 & 12) to Cambodia for a week and our experience with Journeys within was brilliant. A really good balance of flexibility and diverse experiences. The staff were lovely and our guides spoke great English and were very informative. We loved our trip and were very sad to leave, The hotel was small and very comfortable and the food great. Thanks for a memorable time, we wont forget our time with the school, seeing the village and the work in providing fresh water and passion which education is delivered. We were very pleased to know our tourist dollars were directed to help on the ground. We would recommend this to any family and will hopefully be back one day.
Only one small negative, TUNA the dog needs to not bark and howl at night.. yep that's all the negatives I could find.

Room Tip: We had a family room which we well equipped and very clean. All really close to pool and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeyreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 4 kids) stayed in the family suite January 2014 and it was perfect. Great location, brilliantly beautiful hotel with fantastic service. It was perfectly centrally located next to major tourist sites (walking distance to Angkor Wat- my husband went every morning to watch the sunrise!) and the food and amenities and service were so good (with a gorgeous pool) my kids never wanted to leave (truthfully neither did I). It was very clean (even according to western standards) with little extra touches all over that were appreciated (flowers on my bed!). I loved the adjoining rooms because the kids were very close but could be locked out also. Spa services were great and you could book at last minute- every need was met by staff and they even booked extra attractions for us, always had the tuk tuks ready to go. Volunteering at JWOC next door on Sunday was also a highlight, I will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the family suite downstairs and the only noise we heard was from our kids! It was fun getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family and I stayed at JW Hotel for 4 nights from Dec 20-24. We were a large group of 7 (4 in my immediate family including 2 kids, and 3 in my extended family.) JW staff saw to our every need and provided 5 star service and accommodations. We booked the family villa, with our two kids sharing the adjoining room. Our rooms and that of my extended family members’ were tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. (I am very picky about clean hotel rooms.) We were happily surprised to find that daily laundry service was included. The onsite massage services were good and reasonably-priced. The restaurant had a wide variety of food which included kid fare such as burgers, pasta, etc., all cooked to order and delicious. I can’t say enough about Michelle and the staff who were attentive without being intrusive. They helped get tuk tuks, made good restaurant recommendations, arranged dance show reservations, pedicures, etc. Narla did a great job with arranging our guided tours, which included Angkor Wat at sunrise, an elephant ride at Angkor Thom, a tour of Ta Prohm Wat, an ATV ride at sunset, and tours of the Angkor Silk Farm and our guide’s village. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable, dependable, patient and personable. We also appreciate how the JW owners, Brandon and Andrea Ross, have invested in the local community through their non-profit organization, Journey's Within Our Community, which is right next door to the hotel - although you wouldn't know it as the facilities blend in and are very private. They have created a true oasis for visitors to Cambodia while supporting the local community with language education, computer literacy, and after-school programs, just to name a few.

Thank goodness we had the foresight to have JW also arranged our transport from Siem Reap to Sihanoukville, then to Koh Chang, Thailand, and then from Koh Chang to Bangkok for our return flight home. JW also booked our hotels in Sihanoukville and our last night in Bangkok before departing for home. All these arrangements were smooth and efficient, and our drivers were timely and very dependable.

Andrea, Courtney and the other staff at JW helped make this a trip of a lifetime. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I spent five days/four nights traveling with Journeys Within in Cambodia. We spent three nights at the hotel in Siem Reap, and one night in Phnom Penh. The hotel in Siem Reap is lovely: small and intimate, with beautiful grounds including a pool. Very convenient to both the temple sites and to downtown Siem Reap with its fun restaurants and shopping. The breakfasts were very good; we had one lunch at the hotel which was also very good. We recommend the hotel, and also Journeys Within more generally. The arrangements they made for us in both SR and PP were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our 3 kids aged (1, 4 and 6) back in October. We loved it. The rooms were spacious and clean. The service was outstanding and the food was all excellent. It was excellent value and the tuk tuk drivers incredibly helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691DanielB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 5 nights here in a family room with our 2 kids at the end of a 4 week trip around Vietnam. Siem Reap is a magical place, and Journeys Within is a small and very personalised hotel in a quiet location. The pool was lovely, the beds the most comfortable we slept in for the whole trip and the rooms were enormous. The laundry service was great, and necessary as we spent quite a bit of time exploring the villages around Siem Reap, which were quite dusty. Michelle was very easygoing and friendly, and leads a team of great staff and drivers. Tuna the dog was also very much loved by our girls, who were missing our dog at home.

We would love to return to Siem Reap (5 days was not enough), and we would definitely stay at JW again.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.4 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#34 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
15.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
15.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
#99 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#24 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Property: Community Residence Siem Reap
Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing