We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfy rooms and a great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #128 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Six adult friends stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely friendly, even Tuna the dog. Michelle and her staff helped organize our trips to Angor Wat for sunrise and sunset and recommended restaurants in town. It's a great location for exploring Angor Wat. It's a little far from restaurants and Pub Street but the hotel provides free tuk tuks from 6-9 pm so getting into town was not a problem. The location also means it is very quiet at night, which is a plus. Meals in the restaurant were good, especially the breakfasts.

In addition to running a clean and comfortable hotel, Journeys Within's commitment to responsible travel makes this a company that I would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had rooms #1, 6 and 8. All were comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here with our kids (11 and 13) for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. I can only agree with all the raving reviews about this hotel previously written. I would definitely go back. It's small scale (only 10 rooms), located in a more quite part of town (10 minute tuk tuk ride to the city which is provided for free by the hotel from 6.00 PM - 9.00 PM), has a beautiful garden, a play ground for small kids, and a fabulous pool. The rooms are beautiful and simple, with all modern facilities (TV, DvD player, laptop, ...). Wifi access is a bit problematic at times, so don't count on super fast internet. The staff at the hotel is also extremely helpful, nice, and with a great sense of humor! They've been extremely helpful to us in arranging guides and drivers and booking restaurants and providing useful tips of things to see and do in Siem Reap. The food is also very good, a great variety for breakfast (order breakfast the night before, set a time and everything will be ready by the time you sit at your table) and nice menu for lunch/dinner. But the star of the hotel, the major attraction for our kids at least, is the hotel-dog, Tuna!

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms #6 and #8 on the groundfloor opposite the restaurant. Ideal for families wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights in January, 2014 in an upstairs deluxe double room. This was the BEST hotel experience of our SE Asia trip. The hospitality was topnotch and we felt so at home and welcome here.

This small 10 room hotel has modern, spacious, and beautifully decorated rooms in a quiet, lush setting. The staff were all genuinely personable and helpful. The restaurant serves excellent food. We enjoyed the food and talking with the friendly waitresses (Rath and Bowrai) so much that we ate almost all our meals here as for us it was like eating home-cooked food. The helpful and enthusiastic front desk staff, Makara, arranged an excellent guide (Mr. Soeun Sen) and driver for us for three days. Mr. Sen scheduled our visits to the temples so that we were able to avoid the worst of the big bus Asian tourists crowds. Best of all, this hotel works to improve lives of the local population by running a school for children next door.

Tips: 1) Hire a guide and driver through the hotel for a tour of the temples, 2) Get a massage by Nan, and 3) Order the sweet popcorn for an after dinner snack.

Pros:
- Super friendly and personable staff; some speak more English than others
- Oasis in Siem Reap with lush landscaping
- Restaurant on site with excellent food
- Delicious breakfast with many choices
- Modern well-decorated room
- Arranges excellent guide for tour of temples
- Relaxing massages by skillful massage therapist, Nan
- Free laundry service
- Free evening tuk tuk service
- Socially conscious hotel works with the local community
- Extremely generous supply of complimentary water and soft drinks in room fridge

Cons:
- Can be noisy in afternoon with kids playing at the pool
- At dawn and dusk, lots of mosquitoes so come armed with your repellant

Room Tip: For a couple, choose the upstairs deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingFinches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We took our two children (aged 10 & 12) to Cambodia for a week and our experience with Journeys within was brilliant. A really good balance of flexibility and diverse experiences. The staff were lovely and our guides spoke great English and were very informative. We loved our trip and were very sad to leave, The hotel was small and very comfortable and the food great. Thanks for a memorable time, we wont forget our time with the school, seeing the village and the work in providing fresh water and passion which education is delivered. We were very pleased to know our tourist dollars were directed to help on the ground. We would recommend this to any family and will hopefully be back one day.
Only one small negative, TUNA the dog needs to not bark and howl at night.. yep that's all the negatives I could find.

Room Tip: We had a family room which we well equipped and very clean. All really close to pool and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeyreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 4 kids) stayed in the family suite January 2014 and it was perfect. Great location, brilliantly beautiful hotel with fantastic service. It was perfectly centrally located next to major tourist sites (walking distance to Angkor Wat- my husband went every morning to watch the sunrise!) and the food and amenities and service were so good (with a gorgeous pool) my kids never wanted to leave (truthfully neither did I). It was very clean (even according to western standards) with little extra touches all over that were appreciated (flowers on my bed!). I loved the adjoining rooms because the kids were very close but could be locked out also. Spa services were great and you could book at last minute- every need was met by staff and they even booked extra attractions for us, always had the tuk tuks ready to go. Volunteering at JWOC next door on Sunday was also a highlight, I will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the family suite downstairs and the only noise we heard was from our kids! It was fun getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family and I stayed at JW Hotel for 4 nights from Dec 20-24. We were a large group of 7 (4 in my immediate family including 2 kids, and 3 in my extended family.) JW staff saw to our every need and provided 5 star service and accommodations. We booked the family villa, with our two kids sharing the adjoining room. Our rooms and that of my extended family members’ were tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. (I am very picky about clean hotel rooms.) We were happily surprised to find that daily laundry service was included. The onsite massage services were good and reasonably-priced. The restaurant had a wide variety of food which included kid fare such as burgers, pasta, etc., all cooked to order and delicious. I can’t say enough about Michelle and the staff who were attentive without being intrusive. They helped get tuk tuks, made good restaurant recommendations, arranged dance show reservations, pedicures, etc. Narla did a great job with arranging our guided tours, which included Angkor Wat at sunrise, an elephant ride at Angkor Thom, a tour of Ta Prohm Wat, an ATV ride at sunset, and tours of the Angkor Silk Farm and our guide’s village. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable, dependable, patient and personable. We also appreciate how the JW owners, Brandon and Andrea Ross, have invested in the local community through their non-profit organization, Journey's Within Our Community, which is right next door to the hotel - although you wouldn't know it as the facilities blend in and are very private. They have created a true oasis for visitors to Cambodia while supporting the local community with language education, computer literacy, and after-school programs, just to name a few.

Thank goodness we had the foresight to have JW also arranged our transport from Siem Reap to Sihanoukville, then to Koh Chang, Thailand, and then from Koh Chang to Bangkok for our return flight home. JW also booked our hotels in Sihanoukville and our last night in Bangkok before departing for home. All these arrangements were smooth and efficient, and our drivers were timely and very dependable.

Andrea, Courtney and the other staff at JW helped make this a trip of a lifetime. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I spent five days/four nights traveling with Journeys Within in Cambodia. We spent three nights at the hotel in Siem Reap, and one night in Phnom Penh. The hotel in Siem Reap is lovely: small and intimate, with beautiful grounds including a pool. Very convenient to both the temple sites and to downtown Siem Reap with its fun restaurants and shopping. The breakfasts were very good; we had one lunch at the hotel which was also very good. We recommend the hotel, and also Journeys Within more generally. The arrangements they made for us in both SR and PP were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#114 of 365 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#39 of 365 in Siem Reap
706 reviews
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#35 of 365 in Siem Reap
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 365 in Siem Reap
511 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#136 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
15.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#144 of 365 in Siem Reap
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing